We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parador in the valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Parador in the valley”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed two days at this gorgeous Parador (historic building). The Parador is located in the Valley of “La Vera”. This valley is famous for its paprika (Pimenton de la Vera) and its delicious cherries.

Our room was on the first floor and had a balcony and a view of a park and mountains. The room size was average, with basic inexpensive furniture. We did have to strain ourselves with the luggage to the first floor as there was no elevator or help from the reception desk.
For the price paid for the room I would have expected some sort of help even more when there is no elevator provided and the bags where overseas size.

The town has little to see and with few choices of restaurants. There are many other towns around that offer a lot more than Jarandilla de la Vera but unfortunately don’t have a Parador.

We had breakfast included with the room. If you’ve been to Spain before, you’ll know that it is difficult to find any businesses open before 10 or 11 AM, making it difficult to have breakfast anywhere else.

There are 2 valleys separated by the mountains. Valle del Jerte and Valle de la Vera. It is worth a drive to both valleys as you’ll find quite a few medieval villages with structures dating as far as the 12 century, not mentioning other Roman structures.

My recommendation would be to stay at the Parador and play in the towns around. A better choice for us would have been to stay at the Plasencia Parador and see both mentioned valleys with less driving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    234
    82
    22
    10
See reviews for
139
368
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera 3 nights enjoying it a lot. The parador is around 230km from Madrid. It is a very old and beautiful castle with an amazing patio, where you can sit and have something to drink or eat.
There is an outdoor swimming pool; unfortunately, open only till 8pm; would be really nice to have a swim a bit later in the evening.
There are also few shared lounge rooms, including a huge balcony, where you can read or just relax. The restaurant is good; service too.
Worth seeing is Monasterio de San Jeronimo de Yuste, which is around 10km from the Parador. I would recommend to drive around Jarandilla (in the la Vera area) as the land and landscapes are really nice.
Fully recommended especially for a weekend trip!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikesk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Jarandilla de la Vera is a bit out of the way but the hotel, and the region, are well worth a visit. It is one of the few Paradors in which all the rooms seem to be located in the original palace and the building really is wonderful. The entry, the courtyard with its huge stone balcony, the grounds and the way the pool has been situated in them. It really is very good! On the downside, out room was a bit small for three and we were told there were no larger ones available. We were on an inexpensive, fixed price, rate so if you need a larger room it might be better not to use this rate. As it was, we spent less time in the room and more in the spectacular public areas of the hotel, which were never crowded. Jarandilla is quite a small town but there are a couple of good places to eat and it is a lovely area for nature lovers. We stayed three days and found plenty to do. There are some good walks and clean, clear gorges or swimming in very nearby. The hotel pool is also large and beautifully situated. Service was above average for a Parador. A great destination for both domestic and overseas travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay in this castle. Lovely spacious room; delightful pool area with bar; magical courtyard and excellent lounges. Variable food in the restaurant - my main course choice was excellent but my husband's was not good. My only quibble would be that the access from bedrooms to the pool area is not good - you may have a fairly long corridor leading from your bedroom to the lift and then you need to walk out through the main entrance, where cars drop off, back into a castle turret staircase and down to the garden.
A very nice touch was to serve fruit kebabs to people who were around the pool at 6pm. Also the oranges in reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeminab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The parador is excellent with friendly staff, excellent food, nice and beautifully located swimming pool. Our room (standard) was very nice and spacious. The (small) town is not especially interesting but there are several very interesting villages nearby on the slopes of the mountains - as is Jarandilla itself. Hiking possibilities for those who like it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcos de la Frontera
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

arrived at the Parador on a Friday night and when booking in the receptionist told me we were getting an upgrade to a superior room. the room had a king size bed, jacuzzi and both rooms were large and comfortable. the lounges are of pure luxury with a log fire and first quality sofas to relax in. on the coffee table are buttons to press and the barmaid arrives to take your order, the first time I have seen this! there is a lovely balcony off this lounge looking down onto the plaza of the Parador. outside there is a large swimming pool in the garden. breakfast was standard for the Paradors and the evening meals the same, nothing out of the ordinary but served by friendly staff. the bar area is basic but the remainder of the Parador is so well fitted out that it is a real pleasure to stay there

Room Tip: ask for a room with view onto the valley and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iberia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at this converted Spanish castle for a few days, during a road trip from Seville to Oviedo. The parador's exteriors and public rooms are fantastic, and quite historical (this was after all the Emperor Charles V's last stop on his way to retirement at a nearby monastery). Our room was in the extension that was added on when the castke was converted into a parador, and it was very spacious, clean and had fantastic views of the castle's entraceway. It is some distance from the main thoroughfare, but the drive to get there is amazing as well since you pass through some of the nicest countryside and small villages in Spain. We used this as a base to explore some of the nearby towns of Caceres and Plasencia, it was convenient, yet out of the way. The breakfast buffet was some of the best food we had on our trip, and it was a truly delightful experience to be able to stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the castle have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarandilla de la Vera
23.9 mi away
Parador de Plasencia
Parador de Plasencia
#1 of 9 in Plasencia
993 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos
Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos
#1 of 6 in El Barco de Avila
333 reviews
13.0 mi away
El Balcon de la Vera Hotel Restaurante
El Balcon de la Vera Hotel Resta...
#2 of 2 in Villanueva de la Vera
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hotel Balneario Valle del Jerte
23.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio Carvajal Giron
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Juan de Austria
Hotel Don Juan de Austria
#5 of 8 in Jarandilla de la Vera
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera

Property: Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
Address: Avenida Antonio Garcia Prieto 1, 10450 Jarandilla de la Vera, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Jarandilla de la Vera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jarandilla de la Vera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing