We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle in Spain”
Review of Parador de Tortosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Tortosa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tortosa
Norfolk
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Castle in Spain”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here recently for 3 very comfortable nights. All the staff we came across were friendly and very helpful. I did not find the decor shabby, or notice any odd smells as has been previously reported ( the smell is possibly from an Olive Oil processing plant on the outskirts of the town ). Our superior room overlooked the pool and had a nice sitting area, balcony and smart bathroom.
We ate in each night- twice we had sandwiches in the bar, once the Seasonal menu in the restaurant. Good food and prompt, friendly service. This Parador is very convenient for the Ebro Delta. Would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    287
    154
    36
    20
See reviews for
141
422
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a long drive and getting lost finally found Parador on hill overlooking City. Raining so stayed in Parador and had some good bocadillos in bar for lunch, a siesta and then good dinner in attractive looking restaurant with friendly staff. Rooms were comfortable but other parts of Parador could do with a face-lift. Walked round the town next day, cathedral was interesting but town itself was a disappointment until we found small unassuming tapas bar near the Ayuntamiento. Only place in Spain where we were given 4 free tapas with our drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavares, florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We travel across Spain twice a year. This parador has it all. The location is walking distance from the historic and commercial parts of the city. The building is a real castle. The rooms are spoacious with big bathrooms. I love the food here. We get the half board special so we can have dinner. The salads are amazing. The steak is wonderful as long as you like it rare. The staff are friendly and helpful at the reception as well as the din ing room. It is a splurge but very good value

Room Tip: Ask to be away from smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafouilleuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very very tired hotel, and so were we in the morning, the heating does not turn of and rooms are like saunas. When you put cool on hot air comes out, so you can sleep with doors open all night as we had to

The noise carries and even though the hotel was mostly empty we could not get any peace and quiet.

The hotel has a problem with the roofing, and it appears to be leaking and has for some time, there is a terrible smell of mildew and moisture in all the threadbare rugs form the moment you enter reception to the entrance to your room. The are buckets collecting the water next to the reception desk. The rooms don't actually smell but the corridors do.

It's in a great position, but that is where it stops, however the position is overlooking a rundown shanty town that even for Spain is scruffy and very untidy looking, and you don't feel inclined to venture down to have a look. Hotel grounds are quite interesting but you can only wander around these for so long.

The service is like going behind the iron curtain in the late 70s to some communist experiment that did not work and it's inhabitants hate but know they were responsible for, they do not smile, are all old and shabby looking and should be pulling potatoes in an icy field rather than serving in the hotel in any capacity. A consequence of the recession is probably that all the longest serving staff have kept there jobs while all the young dynamic people who aren't as expensive to make redundant have gone. Nobody left seems to care anymore. Apart form one lady at reception who helped my wife upon checking in

Have never been in a hotel bar in Spain and actually had to go to the bar for service, they are normally so attentive that you have placed your order before you have sat down, however in this parador, the bar lady stands with elbows on the bar nursing her varicose veins and picking mud from her finger nails, ( from all the potatoe pulling with her comrades) and watches you until eventually she wins the war of attrition and you go to the bar to order.

Our kids are normally unperturbed by anything but our daughter instant instinct was to not feel comfortable with some of the old staff, they did not seem friendly she said and she did not feel comfortable with them. This was the only time in more than8 weeks in Spain over the last 2 years that our kids ever mentioned such a thing.

We thought we would have a nice meal and therefore decided to feed the kids in the bar, get them of to bed and go to the restaurant for a nice meal mmmmmmmm, well the minute the 3 hamburgers with soggy cold chips turned up for the kids we knew that things were only likely to get worse, the food was atrocious , and if I was the head chef I would not let bar food be served like this.

We still needed to eat however and was not going to venture down to the Bronx like old town so we decided a quick main course would do, biggest mistake, the food was terrible, such a shame in a really nice and grand dinning room. You tend to know its not going to be top class food when thewaitress is wearing her smart uniform, but within a scruffy fleece type thing over it to keep her warm without any regard for her own presentation,if I was the chef i woudl instrct her accordingly, but he obviously did not care either.

The food was not fresh or wholesome and had been reheated, but they did not even have the decency to reheat it fully, so that it tasted like the damp small combined with a oily kitchen smell. The bread was yesterday's, although it did not smell of the damp, the cold soup was neither cold nor warm and when we asked how it was meant to bethe waitress explained " tepid" which sort of summed it all up

Having spent a lot of time in Spain in 2012 and 2013 we have had some excellent food and met great people, however the whole karma about this place is wrong and it needs a manager to come in and get it back on its feet, until that happens I would recommend we all vote with our feet and go somewhere else, even a new place near an airport with no character would be better.

Btw, it needs a refurb as well but it's mainly the eastern block style service that gets you

Do not eat here at any cost, I don't usually recommend the McDonald's over this but would on this occasion

Room Tip: Rooms are ok, good size and quite nice, need remodeling, problem is you have to go past the damps sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OrientSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our first Parador, and something of a disappointment. The setting is astounding, with fantastic views. Our room was a 'superior' in the tower at the far end of the corridor and up a stair. It was excellent, good bathroom, sitting area, 4 poster bed. Mini-bar but no coffee/tea making facilities. The public areas were tired with threadbare carpets. The bar furnature was shabby and dated, and my G&T cost the same as 2 cavas, 2 beers, nuts and olives in a bar opposite the Cathedral. Before we set off our friends said 'Don't eat in the restaurant!' but we were tired after a long drive and thought 'It can't be that bad.' It was. The waitress has been mentioned in previous reviews, and she is as described. In this hotel with it's international dimension, the waitress in the restaurant should probably be expected to speak some english, and be rather more presentable. But she is not responsible for the food, which was awful. We both started with the fisherman's soup- we were presented with a bowl containing bits of stale white bread and fragments of rather dry shrimp, into which the waitress poured an oily consome. My wife had a lamb stew which she reported as 'OK' accompanied by a piped orange sticky tasteless thing which was claimed by the waiter- a John Cleese clone drafted in from the bar- to be carrot, and fresh but she was sure was instant powdered stuff. I had an almost inedible steak.
The much praised breakfast was a disappointment to us on friday, but improved at the weekend.
Fortunately Tortosa and the Ebre delta were fantastic, and the weather was superb so we enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtisticAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
593 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've always loved Parador holidays. These have, in the past, been easier to plan because Paradors were so far above the 'standard' that we both agreed they were 'worth the money'. Tortosa was our first stay of this most recent trip and we arrived just before the rain came thundering in to this mountain setting. As we settled in the lights went out (twice); taking a nap in preparation for a late evening meal there at the Parador, this wasn't a concern. The drips/leaks everywhere (through to the next morning) WERE. This Parador is beautiful and its location typical of the best. The inside was (typically) 'dated', but still the room was pleasant and comfortable and quiet with a view i felt could have been better had they noted or cared that my husband and I have been Amigo Club members since 2000. They rather laughed this off and said those records would be 'long gone', we would have to 'reapply' (instead of, at future Paradors, giving us 2 welcome drinks and, at the final Parador, looking our old Amigo Club number up for us!). Jim says what he liked best about this Parador was the location, I thought their breakfast (buffet) the best of any we partook of (a good thing if, as with our 'Golden Age' booking, breakfast is automatically included, making this the best 'rate' available on any given day). I DO hope they start putting some $ back in to the infrastructure of these awesome sights. I know a new roof must be ungodly expensive, but to do anything short of preserving these is to kill off a prize 'goose' not present in any other countries to the extent that the Paradors are in Spain. Dinner was typical of Paradors, expensive (though the wine-per-glass was generous and not too highly priced), but worth it for the location, portions, presentation. The service got a bit more frantic as more persons were being served, the service personnel being longstanding employees with not much of a 'smile' factor left in them.

Room Tip: Room 226 was sufficiently quiet with an okay view. Might proposition them for a nicer view but on l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited this one on the way home from a trip to Spain. Beautifully sited over looking the city, this castle has been converted to a luxury hotel completed with an outdoor swimming pool although not it is not heated. On the day we stopped it was very hot so a cool dip was welcome. The rooms are traditional rustic and very comfortable with good bathroom facilities. We had three meals whilst there, lunch, evening meal and excellent breakfast. All were first class and the service was very good. Wish we could have stopped longer , we would certainly recommend this Parador for a stay. Beware it is a steep and narrow road up to the Parador but well worth it especially the views.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortosa
6.9 mi away
Villa Retiro
Villa Retiro
#1 of 1 in Xerta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Corona Tortosa
0.4 mi away
Berenguer IV
Berenguer IV
#2 of 6 in Tortosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hotel Miami Mar
Hotel Miami Mar
#1 of 10 in Sant Carles de la Rapita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#1 of 3 in L'Ampolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Rull
Hotel Rull
#1 of 3 in Deltebre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Tortosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Tortosa

Property: Parador de Tortosa
Address: Castillo de la Zuda S/N, 43500 Tortosa, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Terres de l'Ebre > Tortosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tortosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Tortosa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador de Tortosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Tortosa Hotel Tortosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing