We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
58
40
29
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
40
29
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews school trip lovely park family holiday star hotel recommend this hotel students paco teacher santillana region facilities village
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 141 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2016

This is a very nice hotel with very nice facilities. What made it a brilliant stay however was the friendliness and efficiency of everyone, from the receptionists to the kitchen staff. Paco and his staff treated us exceptionally well throughout our stay and by the end of it, it really felt like home! The children with us had a great time and so did we. I would wholeheartedly recommend that hotel to anyone wanting to visit the beautiful region of Cantabria!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pierre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

I have just returned from Hotel Los Hidalgos after taking a group of 40 pupils to Santillana del Mar. Our group had a very pleasant stay there and couldn't recommend it as a school trip location enough. The location is very central as you are a couple of minutes from the main historical centre and tourist office of Santillana and there is a bus stop right outside so it is easy to drop off and pick up groups. The staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them and they were very keen to give any help they could with anything. Manager Paco and the reception staff Alicia and Rosa were very welcoming and genuinely pleased to help our boys, and indeed, the staff with anything, including with making contact with the local travel rep. Food was very good and there was an abundance of it. Our boys were not fussy eaters, but Paco and the kitchen staff were on hand to ensure everyone was well catered for, including vegetarians, which is often a problem in Spain. Rooms were basic, but had everything the boys needed and were comfortable and clean. Some rooms had lovely views over the park outside. The park opposite is a good, safe space where pupils can play and burn off energy in nice weather. All in all, Hotel Los Hidalgos was a great place for a school group and is recommended.

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank johnmacantsaoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016

I had a very pleasant 5 day stay here. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and could not have been more courteous. The dinners were huge with a good variety of food. My room was comfortable and thankfully very warm for the time of year! I would definitely stay there again if I am in the area.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 823Well_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights at the Los Hidalgos hotel in Santillana del Mar on a school trip. The location of the hotel is ideal. Quiet and safe and is very close to the cobbled streets of the quaint little town. The hotel is rated as 2 star and what the hotel lacks in luxury it makes up for in warmth, service and a real family feel. Paco, the hotel owner, was wonderful, accommodating and always ready to help. The hotel overlooks a lovely little park where the children enjoyed burning off their energy in the evening. Rooms were basic but comfy and the food simple and tasty. I'm sure we will return.

Mr Whittle, Teacher of MFL

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
3  Thank AndyWhittle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

We were on a trip and here are the things that happened in our room.
1. The cleaner's moved our stuff around making us panic about what they took
2. The shower floor is so small two of us nearly slipped out
3. On the top floors the ceiling is slanted and low so you will hit your head multiple times
4.rooms super small four teenage girls could hardly move around.
5. Poor lighting
6.beds don't get cleaned
7. gave you lots of food 8.water goes everywhere on the floor and is not mopped up
9. Really thin blankets
10.there is a four star hotel opposite to the hotel
11.Bad colour scheme
12.lots of steps and stairs so no good for disabled people.

But the staff were really nice and smiled at us.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank the f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews