We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”
Review of Los Hidalgos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Hidalgos Hotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I lead a school trip to Cantabria in northern Spain every year - in the summer. Each year we stay at the Hotel Los Hidalgos in Santillana del Mar where we are welcomed with open arms and wonderful Spanish hospitality by the owner Paco and his staff. Despite the fact the we normally bring 60+ students to the hotel, nothing is ever too much for the them. Both locationally and from a facility point of view, our every need is catered for and the pupils never fail to have a great time. As teachers it helps us immensely to know that we will spend a week with such attentive staff. From top-to-bottom, the hotel oozes rural Spanish charm. The attitude of Paco and all those who work at the hotel really is 'mi casa, su casa'. As always, we look forward to our return there next July!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DannyBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just returned from beautiful Santillana del Mar and there is no doubt that our school party, 28 Spanish learners and 3 teachers, had a fantastic stay at this hotel. What impressed us most was how friendly and attentive all staff was. The hotel was very clean, all rooms had flat screen TVs and it was set in a beautiful park one minute away from the cobbled streets of Santillana. The owner, Paco, was very thoughtful and he really cared about our pupils. The food was very good and, yet again, Paco would ask us what to prepare for the pupils so that they eat well. We would like to return to Los Hidalgos next year as we think it is an ideal place for a school trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raluca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took a group of teenagers and w stayed at HOtel Los HIdalgos.
The hotel is clean and well located.
The food was brilliant, the staff attentive and the care for detail was excellent.
They made anything possible to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
I will definitely take my students there as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susigonzalez17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

An absolutely fantastic stay in this hotel. I am a Spanish teacher who took 29 students and 2 other teachers. Could not fault it in the slilghtesst. The hospitality of staff and indeed the food, was wonderful. Accommodation was also very good. Students had televisions in their rooms and many were watching programmes in Spanish. Spotlessly clean and rooms tidied every day. The shower was really lovely too! All students were very pleased with the place and we all felt very comfortable here. Nothing was too much trouble and I felt as if I had known those in the hotel all my life. They not only cater for schools but for private holidays which is something I will be doing with my own family as this accommodation was far better than any 4* accommodation I have ever been in. The owner, Paco and indeed all of the other staff were incredibly kind to us and the students also. Food was in abundance and I definitely recommend the 'codido montanes'. Can't remember the last time I truly enjoyed myself in a hotel and looked forward to seeing the people and chatting with them. Thank you very much to all of you for making our trip so incredibly special. Sois todos maravillosos :) Rosa Lopez

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo F, Propietario at Los Hidalgos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Sra Rosa López:
Muchisimas gracias por sus amabilisimas palabras.
Ha sido un absoluto placer tener a su colegio alojado con nosotros
Clientes como ustedes hacen facil esta profesión
Esperamos verles pronto de nuevo
Reciban un cordial saludo
Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was so friendly and comfortable. The staff could not do enough for us and were welcoming. The owner Paco turned up at the dining room every meal time to ensure things were ok and he encouraged the pupils to speak Spanish. The rooms were more than adequate for the pupils who enjoyed the facilities, and a living room was made available to us every evening for quizzes/games etc (we were only a small group of 20 ). The hotel was a 2 minute walk away from the centre of the historic village and was very convenient. The food was generally good so that even the fussiest of our pupils was able to eat something. If we ever had a problem the staff were quick to deal with it. The only slight complaint was that vegetarian options and packed lunches were not very varied or imaginative. I would certainly recommend it to any school trip and indeed i would like to visit again myself (without 20 kids in tow!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm another teacher who has used this hotel with groups and welcome was non less than brilliant. Staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Traditional and fairly basic, but comfortable and clean rooms with an unbeatable location. I am also a very seasoned traveller as an individual and I would consider staying here again students or no students! Who needs grand luxury when you can stay here instead?!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you want and they will pull the strings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2Cornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Being a hotel that takes school parties I had my preconceptions. I was wrong and will be heading back for my own holiday later this year, so yes I am a teacher and more than anyone doesn't want children running around on my holiday.
We were made to feel more than welcome and valued. The rooms were traditional and Spanish which let's face it who wants to go to an old Spanish town and stay in an English styled hotel. The park area out front of the hotel gives it a vibrant and authentic character.
. The food I thought was fantastic, when I'd almost finished one course I was offered more every single time and liking Spanish food this happened a lot.
A great hotel in a lovely town well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikebrownontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#4 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#14 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial de Santillana
Hotel Colonial de Santillana
#7 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
#8 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casona Solar de Hidalgos
Casona Solar de Hidalgos
#26 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casona Los Caballeros
Casona Los Caballeros
#16 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Hidalgos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Hidalgos Hotel

Address: del Revolgo, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Price Range: $75 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Hidalgos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Hidalgos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing