We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa del Organista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A second visit .... and now I'm completely sure - this is the best B&B establishment that we have encountered on our recent trips to Northern Spain AND Southern France. This stunning, family run Posada is getting everything right and is outstanding value for money.
The house is traditional and really charming with a great ambience. It feels inviting, homely and comfortable.
Breakfast is especially generous with so much to choose from, including good local cheese and ham, fruit, pastries, yogurts and the best toast you'll ever taste! It is also served until a very civilised hour! Eating out on the sunny terrace, overlooking green fields and the beautiful cathedral is a complete treat. It's easy to stay there until lunch!!
Our room was lovely and spacious with a view of the fields at the back of the house. The bed was comfortable with good linen. The bathroom ultra clean. Everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
The downstairs bar is a relaxing space - with reading materials and a computer for guest use and there's an equally comfy sitting area up stairs.
Your parking problems are solved as there are private spaces at the back of the property and a great deal of help and instruction on how to navigate the town, good places to eat and things to see and do further afield.

Holidays are precious times - there is nothing nicer than arriving in a great location, staying in a beautiful traditional building and being greeted warmly and genuinely by the proprietor, for whom nothing is too much trouble. When this happens again 12 months later - the pleasure is even greater. True quality and fantastic customer service are all too rare . If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Santillana, look no further.

Room Tip: Old properties have their quirks - plus the cathedral clock chimes every hour. Ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 414 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had a two night stay here at the very end of August. Owners couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating - they got us tickets to the Museum of the Altamira Caves (online, wouldn't accept credit cards that weren't from Banco Santander!), directed us to superb beaches 20 minutes away, made dinner reservations, recommendations, etc. This is a lovingly restored hotel in a gem of an ancient village; I feel we were fortunate to be there at the end of high season - uncrowded, charming. The staff was lovely. I never thought I would be one to complain about this sort of thing, but others have, and I must concur: there is a rooster that crows incessantly - if you are a light sleeper, you, too, will wish to find him made into stew by evening!

Room Tip: the back of the hotel has the view of the surrounding countryside and the cloisters - it also, regre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moschofilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was one of the very best of the hotels we stayed in during our 3 week tour of Northern Spain. Beautiful house, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, well located just off the main, small square in the centre of the old quarter, and a glorious terrace with a view over fields to the Romanesque church, on which you can take breakfast or a pre-dinner drink. The hotel breakfasts are excellent and reasonably priced. Free private parking is provided at the bottom of the hotel's garden. Absolutely superb, and full of character, this hotel is a million miles away from the corporate, faceless style of chain hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weltravelledofSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

After three weeks of camping and budget hotels, the four of us decided to indulge in a little comfort and luxury for the final night. We had discovered this gem of a town on a previous trip and booked the hotel for its location (walking distance of the shops, galleries and restaurants) and interest. We were not disappointed! The interior was cool, elegant and peaceful. Check in was welcoming and easy. We were shown to our room, which was quaint, well furnished and the bathroom had all one could ask for; shampoo, bath gel, comb, tissues, vaity kit and even a sewing kit! We awoke early to the cockerel crowing beneath the window (a little shock to the system!) and enjoyed a delicious breakfast served at neatly laid tables adorned with crisp white linen. We wished we could have stayed longer...............and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are not disturbed by the cockerel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a nice typical old house at the historical centre of Santillana del Mar. It has it’s negative points, as the noise associated to an old house and the access issue usual in hotels in historical centers. Nevertheless, the greatest thing about the hotel is the staff. They are extremely gentle, service conscious and they can give you excellent tips for your journey. The free car park was great and the wonderful breakfast at the balcony overlooking the monastery was the highest point. Good amenities and a lovely decoration too. The Internet is quite poor, though. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had only booked one night at the Casa del Organista but would have happily stayed longer. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and well equipped and breakfast was excellent, Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This Parador is smaller than most and that's part of its charm. The family who run it do an excellent job on all levels. The location is perfect, just off the plz Mayor area. Little extras abound: the view out the back onto a still-rural horse area; the incredible breakfasts; the relaxing living room; the atmospheric audio provided by those notorious roosters, church bells and peacock. If you watch TV in the bar, say 'ICarly' with Rafa's twin girls, be sure to stay for the entire episode or else they may be disappointed. *Visa card company just now informs me that Rafa has refunded some $70 back onto my account. I have absolutely no idea why, but mention it here to illustrate the honesty. Wish we had stayed an additional few nights.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santillana del Mar
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#4 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
361 reviews
17.1 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada Herran
Posada Herran
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
0.0 mi away
Parador de Santillana del Mar
Parador de Santillana del Mar
#9 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Organista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Organista

Address: Calle Hornos 4, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santillana del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Santillana del Mar
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santillana del Mar
Price Range: $75 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa del Organista 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Santillana del Mar, The Inn "La Casa del Organista" is a large mountain house dating from the XVIII century. It has been carefully restored by artisan stonemasons and carpenters who have transformed what was for 60 years the house belonging to the Organist of the Colegiata of Santillana for its current use as an outstanding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa del Organista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Organista Santillana Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing