We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, amazing location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Santillana Gil Blas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is an historic mansion in the middle of a medieval town, and so the 5 star rating is based on that - it is not the most luxurious hotel we've stayed in, the limits of the setting preclude a huge room and all the bells and whistles. But if you want a really authentic, quaint experience, this is the place. Good service, friendly staff, comfortable accommodations. The food is also very good.
We were lucky enough to be there on January 6th, and so we got to experience the parade of the three kings. Since the hotel is located on the town's main square, many of the events and festivities took place right outside our door.

Room Tip: Unless you are travelling solo, avoid rooms on 3rd floor as they are rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    140
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
67
236
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Frankly, when we arrived at Santillana we just were just about lost for words. It looks like a movie set but oh my, it's so real. It's wonderful. We drove through the narrow, winding streets to the Parador Gil Blas. Situated in the Plaza Major it had a magical quality. As someone else remarked, the Gil Blas is small but perfectly formed. It's quite beautiful inside . Mellow stone walls blend with the tapestries and suits of armour. The staircase is grand indeed. On the first floor there is a huge open area with grand furniture and paintings. It's a very pleasant place to sit with your iPad or laptop.
Our room was on the first floor looking over the square. I gasped when I opened the French windows and stepped out onto the balcony. The room was lovely with a superb bathroom. The staff were very welcoming and breakfast 5 Star.
Exploring the village was great fun. We also visited the Altimira Caves which has to be a must. They are close by. Also the pretty coastal town of Comillas is only twenty minutes drive away and well worth a visit. If I have any complaint about our visit it is that it was too short and we cannot wait to return to the Parador Gil Blas in its fairy tale setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved the historic feel of the Parador and the beautiful large landings. Our rooms were comfortable and full of character with lovely bathrooms. We enjoyed our evening meal, it was good but not outstanding. Such a pity we didn't have time to stay longer and explore a little further around the area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunflowerLavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked a "loft" bedroom which was really delightful, not huge but just fine with a very nice bathroom and on a quiet floor,,, but just an attic window which in fact did not really matter to us as we had plenty of time to explore the area and liked the coziness of it all. The building is gorgeous on the inside too and has a delightful courtyard where we enjoyed drinks and nibbles each day. The village of Santillana is amazingly pretty and the Santa Juliana Collegial church with its beautiful cloister is spectacular. This Parador is much smaller than some and there is another Santillana Parador, a much more recent confection, over the square where the parking garage is. It looks comfortable too but not as atmospheric. We usually only have breakfasts in Paradores and it was just fine. Ffriendly front desk clerk who helped with bags, a totally pleasant experience..

Room Tip: If you need lots of room, choose your rate accordingly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heywood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

the hotel gil blas is one of the paradores of spain,mainly situated in historic buildings,this paradore actually takes your breath away when you walk up the stairs to the huge first landing wher you pass various suits of genuine armour,tapestries and portraits of spanish nobility.not much english spoken ,my poco espanol always got by.

Room Tip: iwas told the third floor rooms are small.the first floor room we had was overlooking the main squar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oilgasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This Parador is without doubt one of the most beautiful lodges in Spain, right in the center of the quaint and lovely little town of Santillana del Mar. Like most roses, it has a few thorns, more specifically the hefty price for the room, the restaurant, and the parking. For dinner, there is definitely many alternatives around the village, and I would certainly shop around. Santillana is worth the detour, and hopefully within a year you will be able to access the Altamira Cave, one of the most important archeological sites in the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocolo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Parador of Santillana del Mar-Gil Blas

In late June we drove from Lerma to Santillana del Mar and stayed at the Parador Gil Blas. We missed the turn off CA-131 two times since there is only one very small sign indicating the direction of the Parador. If you don’t see the sign for the parador, follow the one to the tourist office (on Calle Jesus) as it is just several streets away from the Parador. The office is also a great source of brochures and suggestions for what to see and do in the area.

Gil Blas is the beautiful 17th-18th century ancestral home of the Barreda-Bracho family. The interior has interesting architecture, wooden floors, an armor on the stairway and many paintings placed throughout. Our room was on the second floor front and had two small balconies overlooking the plaza. The room was nice but cramped for three people and three suitcases.

Parking is either in a garage across the street for 15Eu a day or free if you can find a spot across the street outside the new Parador building. (TIP: If you join Amigos through the National Paradores office before you arrive and receive a membership number, the daily garage parking fee is waived subject to availability).

The town is very pretty with its old stone houses and narrow streets some of which are cobblestoned. You can easily see the landmarks and visit some of the many touristy/souvenir shops in several hours or less. (TIP: Madrid was 90-100 degrees and our first day in Santillana was in the 60s-it can be cool.)

The Parador breakfasts were very good but expensive. We originally planned to eat dinner our first night at the Parador but found a much more reasonably priced restaurant around the corner called La Villa. For 15Eu per person we had a three course prix-fixe dinner which even included bottled water and a large bottle of wine. The meal was of high quality and so good that we returned for dinner the next night.

The Altamira Museum is 3 km. away and made for an interesting afternoon. A scenic town called San Vincente de la Barquera is an hour drive away from Santillana. The pretty port city has some points of interest to visit and nice restaurants. Within reasonable driving distances of Santillana are many more places to visit which unfortunately we did not have the time to see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Parador de Santillana
Parador de Santillana
#10 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#11 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
#7 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Santillana Gil Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Santillana Gil Blas

Property: Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Address: Plaza de Ramon Pelayo 11, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santillana del Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Santillana del Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santillana del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Santillana Gil Blas 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Parador de Santillana Gil Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santillana Gil Blas Hotel Santillana Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing