We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position, lovely building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely position, lovely building”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in the main old hotel in May 2012. Excellent lunch on arrival, very good breakfasts. Beautiful room, well restored and very good clean bathroom. Well worth staying here so you get the village to yourself after the day-trippers leave. Restaurant seemed to be the best in town, and also garden is an oasis for a break during sightseeing. Hard to find by car on arrival - suggest park in the big Tourist Office car park just outside the village and walk in (5mins) to get directions to hotel car parking.

Room Tip: Hotel seems to be spread across two buildings. Didnt explore the more modern annexe (2 mins walk ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbournetraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    158
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
77
271
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had one room overlooking the back courtyard and another overlooking the main square - both more than acceptable. There is a parking by the other newer parador in Santillana. The town of Santillana gets a load of tourist but quietens down out of hours. The only disappointment was the restaurant - it didn't live up to the standard of the rest of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our journey south. The Parador is difficult to find as there is only one sign at the entrance to the village. The locals must get fed up of people asking the way! However it was a charming hotel, full of history and character. Our room was spacious and comfortable with the original wooden floor and beams. Modern comforts had been added in the form of a flat screen TV and heating (which was on). Our bathroom was clean and modern. Being "amigos" we had our complementary drink in the bar before having a good meal in the restaurant. I can certainly recommend the fish stew. It was delicious. Parking is provided in a carpark across the road, not so convenient if it is raining! The price of the room was good value for money. Santillana itself is full of history if rather a tourist trap. Unfortunately the bad weather meant we couldn't wander around but maybe one day we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosita061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff but heating in our room was inadequate in the cold weather we experienced. Heating was on for only a limited period and when on it was insufficient. On the first of five evenings, about 6pm, my wife did ask when the heat would start. So I know that it was not before 6.30pm. We had to resort to hot baths to get warm after returning to our room in late afternoon and before going out for dinner. Not a good venue in cold weather.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Donard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel - we were on the second floor, a short walk down the hall from a large reception area. The hotel was like taking a step back in time - suits of armor and other period pieces. Our room faced the Plaza Mayor and the windows kept all of the sound out. We ended up eating in the restaurant - the food was okay - the decor a little dated (maybe going back in time to the 1970s!). We were here mid-week during off season and not many places were open for dinner.

Parking is easy - near the parador. What we did was to enter Santillana del Mar and go into the first lot on the right. We walked (without suitcases) to the parador. We checked in and then they explained how to get to the hotel - drop off our luggage - and then park in front of the other parador nearby. They have a garage for 18 euros a night but since it was off season, it was not in use.

Breakfast was a good spread although a little pricey.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed @ the Parador Gil Blas for three nights @ the end of October. Everything was perfect, the staff polite, helpful and very friendly. Our room overlooked the terrace and was clean, comfortable and spacious, the bathroom large and quite luxurious. Breakfast was generous with plenty of variety.The Parador has an excellent location and Santillana is just the right size for a gentle stroll of an evening. We ate @ the restaurant next door which was very good value for money. This is our second stay @ a Parador and will not be our last.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CymroSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This Parador was our first overnight stop having arrived in Santander earlier in the day. We selected it because of favourable reviews and also because it’s relative proximity to Santander. We weren’t disappointed as it’s a beautiful building with lovely communal areas. Our bedroom was huge, beautifully furnished with a large bathroom.

Finding the hotel isn’t that straightforward – you need to drive into the old part of the town ignoring signs that appear to prohibit cars. We enjoyed walking around the attractive old town and visiting the Colegiata (church).

We ate in the hotel restaurant but were not very impressed. Even though we elected to have fish for our main course, we thought the meal too heavy and lacking in fresh vegetables etc. Excluding wine the meal cost €70.

Breakfast was far better with an excellent selection of fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses, juices and sweet pastries. The breakfast coffee however wasn’t particularly nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recentvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Parador de Santillana del Mar
Parador de Santillana del Mar
#11 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#5 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
#8 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#10 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Santillana Gil Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Santillana Gil Blas

Property: Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Address: Plaza de Ramon Pelayo 11, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santillana del Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Santillana del Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santillana del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Santillana Gil Blas 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Santillana Gil Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santillana Gil Blas Hotel Santillana Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing