We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
60
50
24
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
50
24
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit marta pool property guests balcony bedroom euros santillana breakfast spain town
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 140 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

An elegant house outside Santillana del Mar, Siglo XVIII is quiet and comfortable. Rooms are clean - but small - the one we stayed in even featured a terrace with a panorama over the surrounding hills. Nice little pool in the garden, satisfying breakfast and very kind staff. This place is a must if visiting charming Santillana. Just one drawback: why on earth rooms are still to be cleaned at 1PM?

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Enrico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

The hotel is in a beautiful historic building, ideally situated just a couple of minutes' walk from the lively historic centre of Santillana del Mar. We had an elegant and spacious room - but unfortunately there was no air conditioning and we were there when temperatures were extremely high. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a pre-paid booking via Casas Cantabrias, and this included an excellent and extensive breakfast, far more than other guests. I'm sure guests travelling independently could request this at a supplement,

Room Tip: Try to get one of the upstairs corner rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Headaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

The staff at this hotel were all charming and helpful, and we were lucky enough to be given a room with a large terrace, which we used on the few occasions it was warm enough too!
The hotel is a short walk from the centre of Santillana, so it's easy to walk there for dinner or drinks and then return to peace and quiet. We were the only users of the bar in the 3 days we stayed there, so it lacked atmosphere.
Other reviews have highlighted the poor breakfasts and decor, which I would agree with. It felt quite old fashioned (the decor, not the breakfast!).
Room was spotlessly clean every day.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RaveCity67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015

Service with a smile at every turn. Forget the pool and just enjoy the comfortable rooms, lovely views, quiet garden and country feel. A few minutes walk down the road is the busy, buzzing medieval town of Santillana del Mar, where you can find more restaurants than you could eat in for a month! Have you read the previous reviews? Mosquitos? Just ask for spray and plug-ins at reception. Not happy with your breakfast choice? Just ask your waitress and everything can be supplied. Enjoy this place. A little tranquility just a short walk from tourist-ville. Lovely.

Room Tip: First floor with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The building is very sympathetic to the local area, with a beautiful timber staircase in the entrance hall. Plenty of parking.
Our room had a large covered balcony which was lovely.
There is no air conditioning and lots of Mosquitos so the first night was very hot but the next day when we spoke to the owner she found us a large fan - perfect.
The breakfast was terrible - very minimal selection (including an old apple!) , we were the only guests in the dining room with pan pipe music playing - it felt like a funeral service was about to begin - we didn't go back the next 2 mornings.
The pool was being cleaned for the 3 days we were there! Disappointing.
Would have been nice to have fresh towels each day.
Over all it was pleasant & clean but lacks 'life & love' - with the poor breakfast and no pool I think we could have made a better choice!

Room Tip: Ask for the veranda but take mosi spay or ask for the fan
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mysax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews