We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is excellent”
Review of Hotel Altamira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altamira
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is clean, the rooms are confortable lovely scenery and the location was excellent for seeing the city on the centre of a beautiful medieval village.
Staff wasn´t very friendly except a young waiter Jaimes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Excellent location for those who love to stay in the middle of an classic old Spanish village (mainly 17-19th century buildings). Popular town for Spanish tourists, you won't meet a lot of other nationalities which according to my preference, helps keeping the classic Spanish atmosphere.
It is 5-6 minutes walking to the public parking (€2 per day) but you can (un)load your Luggage by driving to the front door of the hotel. Watch the tourist crowds however!
Hotel does not have an elevator which is a small inconvenience when you are at the 3rd floor.
Staff is friendly, certainly the receptionists. We stayed at a 4-pers. family room top floor with OK beds and certainly clean. Rather small roof window. A/C was working excellent.
Not great for food, there are better alternatives around, but they offer you a 10% discount on the bill total. Do not expect cosy restaurants with excellent service in the village. Most are more or less spoiled by the steady stream of (mass) tourism.
Town is rather small so a 2 day stay would be the maximum unless you are going to visit Santander a couple of times (25 minutes by car).

Room Tip: We stayed at a 4-pers. family room top floor with OK beds and certainly clean. Rather small roof win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Price_Quality_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was a little bit disappointed while driving toward this small town, once got out from the highway (an enormous industrial chemical plant) but, once arrived, everything changed.
Delicious, old, well preserved historical buildings town, clean, full of any kind of shops and life, without cars (not allowed)! The hotel: old spanish style, like all the sorroundigs. A big and clean room, an average level big bed, a wonderful bathroom, with a matrimonial shower! Our room was facing the internal courtyard, where there was the restaurant garden, so was very quiet. The restaurant: a very good vegetable soup, very good "cordero chuletas" and "merluza a la gallega", good goat cheese and white wine. The Hotel & restaurant price: a little bit expensive, but affordable in comparison with was offered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isobicel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The location of this hotel is right in the heart of town, and the policeman at the town's gate will let you drive up to drop off (and, later, pick up) your luggage. It is I suppose a Spanish equivalent of the Olde English country pub:all oakey beams and oil paintings and Jacobean type furnishings, and character-full lounges, and in this case the lovely entrance hall floor is of cobblestones. We had an OK dinner in the hotel's restaurant - the countless other nearby places to eat being packed out. Our bedroom, however, reminded me of a one or two star Spanish hostal's, of the type we used to stay in years ago. In a word, basic. The bathroom, too, had cheapo fittings and the towels were thin. Breakfast was, compared to the other eight hotels we stayed at on this trip, pretty limited, although the waitress in charge was a real honey. There was evidence of cutting corners and costs here and our €100 bill for overnight & breakfast was way over the top.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Altamira hotel is planned as a small palace from middle ages. Amazing and stylish details add a lot of. Please, forget some natural troubles as floors creak or small windows. It is only a taste of ages.
Staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast unfortunately is very european but it is the life.
Keep away from the restaurant. Their food is below par despite 10% discount for hotel guests. It is a shame since the restaurant itself is gorgeous and with charm. Waitress are also nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krzysztof N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Walking into this hotel was like stepping back in time. It has beautiful old wooden furniture, antiques and paintings. The staff were friendly, breakfast basic but good and the location great. We had a family room which was a good size with four single beds and a bathroom. Unfortunately, it was on the 3rd floor, with no view or window to speak of. The beds were not connected to the headboards which banged against the wall every time you moved and there was no soundproofing at all, you could literally hear 'everything' from the adjacent rooms. The plumbing in the bathroom was noisy, every time you flushed the toilet there was a loud banging and there was a bad odour from the drain!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great hotel in a perfect location, but walls are very thin - you can hear every snore etc from adjoining rooms and as we were next to the main road it felt at times that people passing by we're actually in the room with us.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rainrobbie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#5 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
#8 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
247 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Parador de Santillana del Mar
Parador de Santillana del Mar
#9 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casona Los Caballeros
Casona Los Caballeros
#16 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamira

Address: Calle Canton 1, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santillana del Mar
Price Range: $59 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altamira 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Altamira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamira Hotel Santillana Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing