We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Altamira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altamira
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Somerset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This lovely old hotel is in a perfect location at the heart of this beautiful medieval village. We had a warm welcome from the owner, who allowed us to park our motorcycles in the garden. The bedroom was spacious with a large modern bathroom. The €16 set menu in the restaurant was a bargain with a good selection of reasonably priced wines and friendly waiting staff. Staying here makes you realise why you go travelling. A truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmtwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    95
    43
    6
    8
See reviews for
71
94
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel--to actually stay in a place that's over 500 years old, but has updated, modern rooms--what's not to love? Our room was large and spotless, beds were comfortable, and the view of the countryside out our window was SO much better than city streets! Did not hear a peep from any other guests or from outside.

The staff was exceptionally friendly--one even drove us (in her own car) to the Altamira Cave Museum when the taxi did not come. Everyone was genuinely friendly and helpful, and our lack of fluent Spanish didn't stand in the way.

Breakfast buffet was ample, with an extremely large selection of meats and pastries, and the coffee was excellent. The meal we ate in the restaurant was also excellent.

The patio gave a good spot to sit outdoors (when it wasn't raining) and enjoy a drink or food or just the view of Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you are burdened with heavy luggage, try to get a room on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatinerianMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Can't think of a single reason NOT to stay at the Altamira.....it's got location, comfort, ambience, all at a very fair price.

Other reviews mentioned rude staff, poor internet, plastic sheets. Our experience was that the staff was very warm and friendly, the internet very good in the lounge area, and the sheets....well....if the Altamira bought some new matress pads (without the waterproof feature) then the package would be complete!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H_RobertsVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed everything. The interior of the hotel is quiet special. The building is 17th century with beamed ceilings, large timber flooring, art work to match and well decorated. Rooms are large , clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant with the menu of the day and enjoyed the choices of food and the quality. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This really was a lovely and beautifully furnished hotel...lots of charm in a great location. We had dinner in the dining room with friends and we all enjoyed our dinners. Breakfast was buffet with plenty of food and choices.
My only critique is that while I'd booked our room nearly four months ahead, we were put in a top floor room that was okay, but disappointing and with a roof of such significant slope one had to be careful not to walk into it. Friends who booked not quite two weeks ahead of the trip had a second floor large high ceiling room with balcony windows onto the street.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Loved walking back in time in this hotel and the town was great. My favorite hotel on our two week nothern Spain tour. The water didn't always run but this just added to the charm. The people in the restaurant were snotty and the food wasn't anything to write home about but the town and the decoration of the hotel was. Stay there but don't eat there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dokepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were just roaming around the area and wandered in without reservations and were thrilled to
score a room in this lovely hotel in the center of a medieval city. Beautiful hotel in what had once
been a huge family home, filled with antiques and nice carpets. Large room, very clean and
quiet and it made for a peaceful night. Breakfast was included in the price of the room
(already very reasonable) and was in another little attached building. Good buffet breakfast
with the usual selection. Santillana del Mar is a interesting and quaint little town and it was
fun to be there. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#5 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cuevas I-II
Hotel Cuevas I-II
#8 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
#7 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felisa
Hotel Felisa
#1 of 1 in Queveda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamira

Property: Hotel Altamira
Address: Calle Canton 1, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santillana del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altamira 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Altamira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamira Hotel Santillana Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing