We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peacefull” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rural El Patio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rural El Patio
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very peacefull”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

This was our first trip to this hotel,its a family run and in a fantastic setting in Spanish colonial style.Could be described as a retreat: the bar is honesty based ,dinner is twice a week although a good breakfast is available 7 days/week.No TVs or phones in the rooms.The room we stayed in number 17 was spotless and very comfortable, overlooking the plantation .All in all very relaxing but maybe not the place for those that expect to be waited on hand and foot .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    69
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
117
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

Nice quiet hotel with helpful and friendly staff. You can jogg in the banana plant with great views on the cliffs over the ocean

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cspoerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Great place to stay. you need a car to stay here. Travelling around the island is easy and not manic.
The hotel is beautiful, lots of flowers, places to hide away and places to get involved.
The beds are not the best I have ever slept in but I still slept well every night. Rooms are ok and could do with brighter light bulbs but otherwise fine. Nice to have our own balcony.
I would recommend a superior room and not staying in the annex.

Breakfast is fine, more than adequate and through out the day you can help yourself to fruit and drinks. We ate breakfast and then for lunch simply had fruit and tea, then went out for dinner.

Garachico is a great town and depending on what you like, would recommend El Lagar de Julio, La Quinta Roja, for finer dining, and La Perla and Aristides for more cafe style dining. We enjoyed wine form La Oratava vineyard in some restaurants.

We were not intrepid explorers and stayed by the pool most of the time. It was wonderfully relaxing. I would definitely recommend this location for laid back holiday makers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joff_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I have stayed three times in this lovely rural hotel. It is on a banana plantation and we just loved it from the very first time. We always book the superior rooms as they have a proper balcony and are brighter than the rooms which surround the courtyard. The courtyard itself is gorgeous, filled with palm trees and with squishy sofas nestled under the trees. It's lovely to sit out in the courtyard in the evening with candles on the tables listening to the night noises. The bedrooms are simpy furnished and very clean. Beds are old iron beds (pushed together to make up a double) and not hugely comfortable until you get used to them. No tv's or radio. or phones in rooms, so all very quiet and peaceful. Breakfasts are quite good with usual continental choices, plus some hot dish every day and nice fresh bread. Dinner unfortunately is a mixed bag which is a pity as it is too far to walk to Garachico for a meal, one would have to drive. We know which dishes to avoid and found the prawns are always worth having! We generally ate in the town also.Atmosphere is very laid back and I would recommend it if looking for some peace and quiet for a few days. By the way, the pool area is lovely too and beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romantic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed almost a week in this hotel and it was lovely. The rooms are very nice as well as the breakfast. All the people there habe been extremely nice with us, always ready to help us. The location of the hotel is great but you need a car otherwise it is too far away from the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coline_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

If you want to get away from the typical Tenerife holiday maker, this is the place for you. We were there for a week taking an excellent Headwater guided walking holiday and we saw/heard one English person during the entire week! Set in the middle of a large banana plantation it is a pretty hotel with a splendid palm tree shaded courtyard for reading/resting etc. The rooms are fine if a little dark and the breakfast is adequate. If you want an evening meal you look at the menu (no choice) in the morning and book then. We had one meal there which was just appalling, a huge dollop of rice and peas and a chicken leg masquerading as 'meat paella'. For the next three days NO-ONE booked dinner! The alternative is to take a car to the nearest town and sample the fairly average restaurants there. If the owners, who have had the plantation in the same family for 500 years, made an effort to get in a decent chef and upped the restaurant experience by 90% it would be a perfect hotel. Why don't they?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

As other reviews say - this is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. There's a great pool, a tennis court and all the outside spaces in the hotel are very well designed.
It's hard to put my finger on what's missing - for lack of a better word I'd say ambiance. El Patio is not unwelcoming and some of the staff were lovely. However I simply never had any sense that the owners are interested in/aware of the guests beyond ensuring everything in the hotel is clean and perfectly functioning. (You could of course do much worse.)

This was fine for us because we used the hotel primarily as a base to explore the north of Tenerife. It really is a rural hotel and you do need to be up for driving, especially since the weather was consistently better elsewhere in the north throughout our stay. (Note this was February - taken me a while to post this...!)

We stayed in the annexe - a 5 min walk through the plantation up to the main hotel. You could feel cut off if there alone but we loved it. A plus is having a communal mini kitchen/sitting room - with a sink, microwave, kettle, fridge with honesty bar.
Breakfast was as described in other reviews - a selection of fruit, meat, cheese, bread etc. Decent to good, and yes a small hot selection including baked beans if you must. Couldn't agree more about the coffee, absolutely shocking!

Avoided dinner after reading other reviews. There are some good restaurants in Garachico (ask Elena who gave us good tips) or really worth going further afar, in particular to Santa Cruz or La Oratava for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEM_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
1.5 mi away
Hotel San Roque
Hotel San Roque
#1 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Hotel La Quinta Roja
#2 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#42 of 387 in Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
30.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural El Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural El Patio

Property: Hotel Rural El Patio
Address: | Finca Malpais, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural El Patio 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Rural El Patio, located on the northwest coast of the island of Tenerife, a haven of peace and relaxation, where history and nature come together to give you the best possible experience of rest on your holiday.The district of "La Isla Baja" is a synonym for nature and tranquillity. In an essentially rural environment, with six Protected Natural Spaces, you will not be able to resist the temptation to be in permanent contact with the pure air, the silence, the footpaths meandering among native flora and fauna and the sea, whose wild volcanic coasts are scattered with welcoming coves.The rich heritage and culture, its traditions and the variety of the cuisine, will lead you to enjoy true sensations. The great central courtyard, full of palm trees and ancient dragon trees, together with spacious ornamental and vegetable gardens, make the setting a unique spot.The guest can take a walk along the numerous paths on the 600,000 m2 farm, finding special places to rest and enjoy the beauty and luxuriance of nature.Decorated in a delicate rustic style, all our rooms have a terrace, fully-fitted bathroom, hair-drier, safe and heating.We will look after your appetite in our restaurant, with spectacular views over the farm and the sea with an exquisite natural breakfast. On certain days, you will be able to enjoy typical local menus.What is more, in the surrounding area, you will be able to find some of the best restaurants on the island, where you can accompany the delicate cuisine with the famous wines of the Ycoden Daute Isora area.Apart from the history of which El Patio is redolent, you will be able to enjoy the very modern facilities, including a quiet and attractive swimming-pool with solarium, sauna, gymnasium, an artificial-grass tennis court, croquet lawn and a golf driving range.And of course, you will have free wireless Internet access.For your entertainment, we have a very spacious reading and television room with bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rural El Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural El Patio Garachico
Hotel Rural El Patio Tenerife/Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing