We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a calm and relaxing refuge-here it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rural El Patio
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a calm and relaxing refuge-here it is”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Calm, rural hotel in the middle of a banana plantation, run by a very nice family. Great patio in the middle of the u-shaped hotel. Nice sports facilities like a tennis court and pool. Self service bar - made for honest guests. The only thing that needs improvement soon...the coffee...

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hein-andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    70
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
126
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First of all we enjoyed our stay and we would come again.

I was a new comer to the island but was well aware of the popularity of certain areas which in all honesty was the very thing that had kept me away. This hotel and its location does not suffer from such over popularity, exactly what we were looking for. It is set in the quiet village of El Guincho, near the larger town of Garachico, a web search on the latter gives good info. Coming off the main road into El Guincho you will see signs for El Patio which take you through a remote controlled gate (open by day), down a fairly long winding access lane to one of 2 gated parking areas. Upon arrival we were met by one of the owners a very pleasant lady who also speaks English and German. She introduced us to the ways of the hotel, free fruit, biscuits and an honour bar for extras. Although we didn't use the swimming pool it appeared clean and tidy and was of a good size. The sauna is electric and to understate is very small, there is a jacuzzi which wasn't advertised or mentioned as I guess it is out of action. We stayed in the main building, there is further accommodation in an annexe which I can't comment on. The room was floor tiled throughout, with 2 chairs and a large double bed formed of 2 smaller ones, but I couldn't feel the join. The bed and room appeared very clean albeit the pillows a tad tired. The bathroom was large and clean with shower over small bath and separate shower cubicle, the water was hot and both showers had lots of lovely pressure. Delightfully there are no TV's or telephones in the room but this is probably just as well as the sound proofing between the rooms is nigh on non existent which is to say one can hear muffled conversations from next door, HOWEVER before that scares anyone off our experience was one of respect from our neighbours never any behaviour that would cause upset.

The room backs on to an internal, peaceful and restful courtyard with cushioned whicker chairs for relaxing on and a tasteful lounge and honesty bar a very handy stones throw away.

There are 3 walks around the grounds the favourite of which was the short walk to the small beach, not well signed but as you walk back to the main road half way you'll see a road descending to your right before the chapel, all becomes apparent after.

I don't imagine I'm the only one who checks out the league table of hotels and is influenced, nor am I likely to be the only first timer, so...The hotel is situated on the North side of the island and as such has a much cooler climate with cloud being a familiar sight as opposed to the South side. The area is generally undisturbed by mass tourism so bring a phrase book, it will serve you well.

From the southern airport we turned left and took the hilly route, 1h30 later and a little motion sick with all the winding roads and switchbacks we arrived. Outside of rush-hour turn right out of the airport and go an extra 40k but the roads are excellent and oddly it'll take 1h30!!
If you find yourself below cloud wanting some heat try going up the mountain via La Oratava almost guaranteed sunshine and no crowds and if you pick the right car park you even get a beach (pumice stone, but a darned good substitute), be warned in the shade will be much cooler. All in all a lovely hotel in a good location and we happily traded off a cooler coast for less crowds and greater island authenticity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnyVenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This lovely hotel, cheap at the price, run by a charming laid-back couple of mature years, is a 500 year old hacienda surrounded by descendants of the original crop, now some 80,000 banana trees. There is a great walk of an hour or so through the groves and down to the sea. There is a private beach for swimming (and a small swimming pool). It is very quiet and beautiful. The bar runs on honesty. Fruit is available free. Breakfast is ample. The tennis court was fun. The gardens and the huge central courtyard, with chairs and sofas!, are lovely. No dinners while a new cooker is being sought and installed.
Lots of trips around: Garachico has good eating places, and pools and a beach; the road to Puente de Teno is diabolically magnificent; it is a great drive to the village of Masca, and also to Los Gigantes

Room Tip: the annexe is cheaper than the rooms in and around the courtyard, but it is a little way away down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xenophonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This Rural Hotel is set right in the middle of a working Banana plantation! It is the ideal place to stay if you want absolute peace and quiet but be near enough to restaurants and the usual tourist facilities. 
Wheels are an absolute must unless you are prepared to use public transport or taxis (There is a bus stop on the road above the plantation, busses  run regularly to Garachico and Puerta Cruz)
Garachico is walkable about 2k, an interesting town to walk around or just sit and watch the world go by. There are also some very nice restaurants as noted by other reviewers.

The hotel itself is set in a colonial plantation house setting around a shaded central courtyard.
The staff are mostly family and I suspect long term employees, they are very helpful and full of useful information and local knowledge. All you have to do is ask!!!
Get it in your head though this is not a 5* hotel with flunkys on hand to cater for your every whim!!
However that said, the setting, facilities and location are top class.

*  Location.     Excellent
*  Facilities.     Excellent, well stocked honesty bar, tea, coffee, fruit, biscuits etc available throughout the day
*  Outdoor heated pool with complimentary sunbeds, towels
*  Tennis court, Jacuzzi 
*  Parking   Secure parking in locations near to rooms, remote electric gates into the site (you get a operator fob with your keys)
*  Breakfast good selection of fruit, cereals, yogurts, bread, preserves and always some hot eggs.

I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to independent travellers looking for somewhere away from the crowd but offing great facilities and easy access to interesting parts of the Island.

Points to note
A superior room is worth the extra for location, size of room and the private balcony/terrace. 
Ask for a fan in the room at the time of booking as there isn't one as standard and it can get VERY humid in the rooms. 
We also found the beds a bit hard for our personal comfort, fixed by using the feather duvet as a mattress 'topper'
If you need anything ask as the staff leave you to enjoy your holiday unless you need something. 
Book a Car, Moto or Scooter to get around unless you want to completely chill by the pool all holiday.
Oh! The Coffee, not to my personal taste either but hey, if that's the only thing to complain about that's not bad.  Drink the good old 'English Breakfast' tea instead and get on with your day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Blobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a beautiful and tranquil hotel way away from your average Tenerife holidaymaker. Near the charming town of Garachicho which has some splendid restaurants including La Taskita and Casa Gaspar, it really was an oasis of calm and tranquility for two people who had just gone through a stressful move and two recent bereavements.


Big pluses are the pool which was very pretty- tho could have been warmer; it is advertised as heated- a tennis court and of course a superb patio with palm trees and hundreds of potted plants.
A few words of warning- the coffee is just terrible and the cooked food at breakfast pretty cold. The honesty bar is a good idea but they let themselves down by rules such as no drinks in the rooms, which since we had a terrace (room 18- it is definitely worth paying a bit more for superior rooms 15-18) we found a little petty. I reported two things wrong with the room- while these were fixed promptly and charmingly I got the feeling people don't often complain and things won't get done until you do. Staff were friendly to an extent but there was a nagging suspicion they don't see your faces anymore, just the money you are bringing in. Most guests were older than us and nightlife is non-existent. You want tranquillity, you have certainly got it!
We did have a lovely and relaxing time and i do recommend it- if they put in a bit more effort and did not appear to rest on laurels this would be amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms15 to 18 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank centralbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is an old plantation house with modernised outbuildings. It looks great and has a fantastic position in the midst of a large banana plantation with attractive views of the mountains inland and the coast to the north and south. It has lots of facilities, tennis court, good swimming pool, lovely ornamental and crop growing gardens which you are free to wander around. We also discovered a secret rock pool hidden away in the volcanic rocks between the hotel and the sea ( about 200-300 metres away). We had one night in a standard room next to the office in the main building and six nights in a superior room across the courtyard. Both were clean, spacious the main difference being that the superior room had its own balcony. Most of our contact with the hotel management was with Elena who is very friendly and helpful and has good English. A few minor criticisms. The range of breakfast food could be improved - I had the feeling these breakfasts have been served in the same way for years particularly the quality and appearance of the cooked food - same goes for the one dinner we had ( dinner served two nights a week). Having said that they were adequate and there was more than enough although the coffee was particulalry dreadful ! However overall it was a great place to stay and I'd happily go back. Garachico, about a mile to the south west, is a really nice little town, no really large hotels, lots of small shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a room in or near the main building - avoid the annex several hundred metres away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is within a fantastic historic group of buildings in a quiet location - it could be a great place! However, our first night was in a standard room (due to a mix up with our booking), which was quite small and the bed was not very comfortable. For the rest of our stay, we were in a superior room, which was spacious, with a balcony, but again a poor bed and also poorly insulated against sound from the adjoining room. Breakfasts were uninspiring - as was the dinner that we had one evening (dessert was like Angel Delight!). We found good restuarants in Garrachico (especially La Tasquita de Eduardo), which is only a short drive away.

Room Tip: If you go, a must is a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Hotel La Quinta Roja
#2 of 5 in Garachico
245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel San Roque
Hotel San Roque
#1 of 5 in Garachico
267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
462 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,596 reviews
13.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural El Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural El Patio

Property: Hotel Rural El Patio
Address: | Finca Malpais, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural El Patio 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Rural El Patio, located on the northwest coast of the island of Tenerife, a haven of peace and relaxation, where history and nature come together to give you the best possible experience of rest on your holiday.The district of "La Isla Baja" is a synonym for nature and tranquillity. In an essentially rural environment, with six Protected Natural Spaces, you will not be able to resist the temptation to be in permanent contact with the pure air, the silence, the footpaths meandering among native flora and fauna and the sea, whose wild volcanic coasts are scattered with welcoming coves.The rich heritage and culture, its traditions and the variety of the cuisine, will lead you to enjoy true sensations. The great central courtyard, full of palm trees and ancient dragon trees, together with spacious ornamental and vegetable gardens, make the setting a unique spot.The guest can take a walk along the numerous paths on the 600,000 m2 farm, finding special places to rest and enjoy the beauty and luxuriance of nature.Decorated in a delicate rustic style, all our rooms have a terrace, fully-fitted bathroom, hair-drier, safe and heating.We will look after your appetite in our restaurant, with spectacular views over the farm and the sea with an exquisite natural breakfast. On certain days, you will be able to enjoy typical local menus.What is more, in the surrounding area, you will be able to find some of the best restaurants on the island, where you can accompany the delicate cuisine with the famous wines of the Ycoden Daute Isora area.Apart from the history of which El Patio is redolent, you will be able to enjoy the very modern facilities, including a quiet and attractive swimming-pool with solarium, sauna, gymnasium, an artificial-grass tennis court, croquet lawn and a golf driving range.And of course, you will have free wireless Internet access.For your entertainment, we have a very spacious reading and television room with bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rural El Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural El Patio Garachico
Hotel Rural El Patio Tenerife/Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing