We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in room although rest of hotel was lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I always take a lot of time and care to choose a hotel and therefore it is not often I am disappointed but I was this time. I did not like our room at all. I had upgraded to a double plus but putting a pair of dressing gowns in the bathroom hardly makes it a comfort room. It was small, dark and sparsely decorated. The first thing I do on entering a room usually is take some shots for my TA review - honestly - this room? it was a struggle. At £125 for bed and breakfast I thought it was overpriced and they should upgrade the rooms to match the rest of the hotel. The tower room overlooking the church is nice to sit at sundown and the receptionist who welcomed us was lovely but when I checked with her if we had been given a double plus room she assured us we had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 266 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Good points - good location (no parking), very old property and a comprehensive breakfast

Not so good points - we felt overpriced - nearly 200 euros for a junior suite, which was just a room with another corridor like room attached, which was not inductive to sitting in.
Air con only pumped hot air out. Clean-ish room/bathroom but cheap soaps etc used and no tea/coffee facilities, not even a complimentary bottle of water supplied....poor.
On the roof top, sunbeds, sauna, steam room and hot tub (which was covered over) all looking a little tired and grubby...

Oh yes and I forgot to mention the bells... you are in a square with two churches in it so you have to expect some noise and they strike every half hour but at 4 pm (I think) they went mad and stuck about 30 odd times, what was all that about !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mvf906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and felt that we were in the best hotel in this very Canarian town! The building's history was displayed on a sign outside in the town square. Our room was a junior suite on the first floor so we had a sitting room as well which looked out over the town square. The room was very stylish with lots of wood and a very typical high ceiling. The bathroom was large with an equally large shower. The hotel also had a belvedere where you could go and sit and read or drink in the view. The reception staff were friendly and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

La Quinta Roja Hotel is in the village square[remember this hint if your driving here] The hotel in central for the square. This is a lovely Canairnan hotel with a lovely open courtyard which is delightful to sit in the evening.The hotel is spotless with tasteful decorated bedrooms. The dining room served a wonderful breakfast. If your driving to La Quinta Roja parking spaces are in short supply.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is really special. Its location right in the middle of the village ensures that you get a real taste of this Spanish town waking up. Our room over looked the square and the mountains and our dressing room, the turtle pond! The restoration has all been carefully done and the modern day touches ensure that all needs are catered for. The breakfast was beautifully set out, fabulous tasty cheeses and local tomatoes - we would thoroughly recommend the cake that is served towards the end of breakfast - banana cake is absolutely delicious. In the little road just opposite the hotel front entrance is a sign with local walks. As we stood looking a French guy started to chat and told us to do the Chinyero circular route from Arena Negras. The following day we set out and this walk is amazing - very well signposted, not busy and with incredible views through constant changing scenery and vegetation. We would definitely return to this town as there is still much to see which we didn't have time for this time.

Room Tip: All rooms hae their own individual features
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterJB302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

La Quinta Roja hotel is located in the heart of Garachico, situated on Tenerife's nothern side. Basaltic mountains with lush green vegatation can be seen on one side, the mighty Atlantic Ocean on the other. The hotel has been beautifully restored, and plenty of rich wood was used displaying some fine woordcarving. The interior garden with trees, plants and flowers allows you to sit, relax, have a drink or bask in the sun if you feel like it. The staff is genuinely friendly, going the mile extra for you. Beds were ok, the bedlinen was spotlessly clean, and daily roomservice was provided at a suitable time. I missed a "do not disturb sign", but to be frank... we were not disturbed. We loved the breakfast, both for its contents as for the seating arrangements: e.g. inside or ourside as you wished. At walking distance you can find excellent restaurants (one of which in my opinion could be graced with a Michelin Star or a relevant Gault & M score). The owner of the Quinta Roja hotel has a hands-on approach, is humble, sporty and extremely well educated. Plus she happened to be around the full 6 days of our stay. All that said, La Quita Roja merits praise and a full and well deserved recommendation. Congrats !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Friendly staff, good rooms. Excellent breakfast. Perfectly situated in the town hall square. The historic house was a great base for exploring the north of the island. A pre dinner drink in the internal courtyard was just the thing before heading out to one or other of Garachicos many excellent restaurants

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Andylanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Roque
Hotel San Roque
#1 of 5 in Garachico
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#51 of 389 in Tenerife
1,225 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
510 reviews
31.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection

Address: Glorieta San Francisco s/n, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Price Range: $140 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dreamy hotel committed to nature and its surrounding: this is Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection. This space dreamed by lovers of peace and quietness is located in the town and port of Garachico, one of the most important historical and touristic areas of Tenerife. The four-star hotel is a manor house that is part of the historical site of the town and owes its name to the Marquesses of La Quinta Roja, that were its former owners and founders of the town and port more than 500 years ago. Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection combines history, tradition and modernity. Keeping its own character and identity thanks to its baroque coffered wood and walls, the hotel puts everything at your disposal to make your stay of maximum comfort in a calm and friendly atmosphere. Naturally, a delicious cuisine offer completes our range of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Roja
La Quinta Garachico
Garachico La Quinta
Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection Tenerife/Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing