We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isla Baja, beautifull spacious suites!”
Review of Isla Baja Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Baja Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Garachico B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Isla Baja, beautifull spacious suites!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The small town of Garachico is not touristic, only for day tourists traveling around the North side of Tenerife. However it is friendly, has nice restaurants and quite a few artisanal shops. There is not really a beach, yet there are natural lava pools. Our hotelroom/appartmentsuite (nr6!) had a beautifull view on the (rough) sea 15m away and offered a lot of space (2 rooms, hallway, bathroom). We stayed there for 2 weeks during Christmas with our 5 year old daughter.

The Good:
- spacious rooms, we had a double room (best rooms are on 2nd floor, nr6 and 7/lava mare room)
- really nicely and warm decorated with eye for detail. For all ages.
- great breakfast and for a little extra fresh patiserie de luxe!
- nice hotelowners, do not speak English well, as many in Garachico speak Spanish.
- real feeling of living in a small-town, nice people around
- spectactular sea view / lava pools view
- nice restaurant @ lava pools.. 25m away with sea view (for drinks, simple food and some patience with the waiters)
- best Icecream ever, only 25m as well (across the restaurant)
- only 25 minutes from Puero de la Cruz, for some shopping and tourism and Loro Parque and HIDDEN mega large public swimming pool(s) (check Google)
- beautifull car-trip to Vulcano/Teide via the Northern mountain-route via Buenavista

The bad:
- Hotel can be noisy (traffic, old building sometime we could hear our neighbours below speak)
- Not really a balcony (our room nr 6 had a window with seats, yet some rooms have a balcony)
- Garachico is nice, yet quite. Which is a good or maybe for some a bad.
- no swimming pool, no beach (50m, nobody there), lava pools can be dangerous / yet als adventurous. With our daughter (5) we used to car to drive to beaches nearby and on the south side (visiting Siam Park!).

We had a great holliday and recommend a visit to Garachico and Isla Baja Suites and bakery!

Room Tip: nr 6 is a nice double room on 2nd floor. The 'lava Mer' room is beautifull as wel with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andriesvanvugt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The building is beautiful and spacious, the room huge and with an excellent bed. Authentic, wooden carved ceiling in traditional style, nice furniture. New bathroom, good shower, kitchenette. Good location.

But, the WIFI connection is so slow that you can not call it wifi. And when you have to go on a daily basis to the San Roque or the other boutiue hotel in town to read your email on your iphone, rather annoying to say the least.

And, it is a pity that the breakfast consists of the usual "Aldi quality" fare any tourist hotel offers and has none of the local products Tenerife can be proud at. No bananas, no jamon, no fresh orange juice bread from the factory. Why do Hoteliers not understand we visit a country to experience new things and tastes and not want the stuff we know?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltdorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here early in December for our anniversary. The suites are exceptional.
We paid the extra for a sea view and ended up with the room five which has the full length balcony [ see photos]
There are only seven suites but I understand they are all to a similar standard.
We had a large living / dining area which led out on to the balcony. The furnishings were of a very good standard. There was a small flat screen TV but that only has Spanish channels.
The fruit bowl was regularly topped up with what I presume were locally grown bananas.
There was a small kitchen with a dual hob, microwave and Fridge. It had a good range of crockery and cutlery. The only thing lacking was a Kettle. I'm sure one would have been available if we asked but there was a small pan that was OK the few times we made coffee. We didn't use the kitchen much as there was such a good range of restaurants we ended up eating out every night.
The large bedroom and adjoining bath room were of a similar standard.
The rooms go around an internal covered court yard and this is where the separate La Patisserie is located, this is where you get breakfast and there was a good selection available.
We had lunch there a few days and it offered excellent value with great staff.
Garachico itself is a fantastic little village which has a high throughput of day visitors but remains for the most part unaffected by tourism. There is a small amount of overnight accommodation so the streets are not swarming with visitors in the evening. If you are looking for a typical tourist strip with British and Irish themed bars then Garachico is not for you. On the other hand if you are looking for a real taste of Tenerife with hardly a fellow Brit in sight, try Garachico you wont regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisgHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is Garachico's top class hotel, with rooms that are more like apartments or suites. It's not cheap (but not the town's most expensive either) and generally worth it if you fancy a classy experience. The top 2 rooms are very secluded if you want total isolation from any noise or people, and the one with the terraces is amazing in the sun. The furniture is antique and top notch, with massive and really comfortable beds. Good kitchen facilities too, if you can be bothered cooking.
All the rooms on the lower floors are great too (they showed us all of them when it was empty).
Breakfast is good too, with the best coffee in Garachico (too much coffee there is horrible!) and a French pattisserie with cakes and croissants, as well as the usual breakfast stuff.

Room Tip: Top 2 rooms are a bit more expensive (140 Euros) but very secluded, and one has 2 fantastic sun terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ged S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wels, Austria
Level Contributor
282 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we spent some wonderful days in this cosy and nice apartments/suites - all our rooms where very spacious and almost too big for 2 persons - every suite has a small kitchen with all utensils needed, very comfortable beds and nice living rooms with tasteful old furniture.
this is one of the really nicely renovated old 18th century stone houses with original old wooden floors (seemed to be built to last forever).
while prices are very affordable - depending on the suite one choses (115 - 150 € / day) - every service is included, breakfast in an in-house french bakery with excellent coffee (not the usual hotel half water coffee!) good pastry, some home made cakes, fresh juice, eggs ham cheese, fruits, yoghurt a.s.o.
service in the hotel and the suite is very friendly and every day there is a room service with complete clean up.
all rooms have free internet - wifi service.
our suite had a large terrace with fantastic view overlooking the sea.

parking is available behind the hotel in a side road, but sometimes it can happen that one has to park the car in 2-5 min walking distance.

walk out of the hotel and cross the street - there you are on the beach, which is lava rock formations who form several sort of swimming pools, nearby is also a gravel beach (black lava)
the water is very clean and don´t forget to take your diving gear - there is lot´s of things to see even with snorkel.

the hotel is situated perfectly close to the old city center and park - you will find several nice and very cheap typical local restaurants - haven´t seen such low prices and good food & service for a long time.

this is a very recommendable hotel to stay with family or couples.

check photos on the web site:
http://islabajasuites.com/

Room Tip: if you can take the roof top loft suite which has a large terrace and view to the sea from the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sauraumpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you have some money to spend (It's pricey) and you want to escape from crowds of 65 years old tourists, head to Isla Baja and to Garachico. The town is really nice and the hotel great. The rooms are furnished with taste, the bed is great and the room is huge. It's an old (and beautiful) building but it has been modernly restored, so we get all the confort you can expect for a high end hotel. And the breakfast is good.
Only "problem" is the manager is present there only from 9am to 2pm so you should plan ahead (and also maybe pay on arrival if you plan to leave early)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you want to go to tenerife, and experience the island outside of the ugly touristic complex in the south, this is the place to go,

Still a small town with many good restaurants with out menues with pictures on them.

This lovely little hotel is will give you the perfect stay in GARACHICO, beautiful large suites, WIFI, breakfast, and a perfect loaction to explore the coast of TENERIFE which hasnt been destroyed buy hordes of turistica.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back street, away from the sea road to have a more quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicklas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Roque
Hotel San Roque
#1 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Hotel La Quinta Roja
#2 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#48 of 386 in Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Baja Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Baja Suites

Property: Isla Baja Suites
Address: Calle Esteban de Ponte 3, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Baja Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isla Baja Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Baja Suites Tenerife/Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing