We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a lovely hotel in a nice village”
Review of Hotel San Roque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Roque
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still a lovely hotel in a nice village”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed in San Roque a few years ago and came back last december. It's still a great hotel.. great looks, nice staff, fine food. But i did notice it's starting to get a bit old(er).. it's nothing too important but just little things about the rooms (I actually got the exact same room.. so it was easy to compare), just not as fresh and new as it used to be. Everything is very clean though (the rooms get cleaned every day). As for the restaurant food, also not as good as I remember from a few years ago, but maybe I just changed in the meantime. :)
Anyways.. still a very good hotel and if you want to avoid mass tourism Garachico is one of the nicest places to stay in Tenerife.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wherethewindgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    54
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
196
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a very relaxing week at this excellent hotel.

Situated in Garachico which is unlike any other resort we have stay in on Tenerife.
Small narrow cobbled streets very clean and no time share touts or English style bars thank goodness.

The hotel was very clean and the rooms comfortable. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel restaurant was very good and breakfast you had plenty of choice and was relaxed.
There was a good choice of breakfast items and hot food cooked to order.

The evening menu is limited but excellent.

The pool was the only let down as the water was very cold and this seems to be a comment from very one.

Room Tip: You might want to take a room on the first floor as the wooden floors do carry some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We cannot speak highly enough of this place. From the warm welcome on arrival, help with parking and bags, a room upgrade when they heard we were on honeymoon (plus flowers and wine in the room!), everything was outstanding. The breakfasts are good, dinners are top quality (the duck, local fish and suckling pig all highly recommended) and service at all times was excellent and friendly, but not stuffy or over-formal. Where other hotels can be functional, this one really cares that you have a great time during your stay. Special thank you to Manolo on reception, who was brilliant!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hawks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
223 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The location (though parking can be a pain), ambiance, service and kitchen are very good indeed. The wifi works and Garachico is a pretty town. What lets the hotel down slightly is the lighting in the rooms (to the extent that I found it hard to read in bed) and a slight feeling of tiredness to the room. And whether the heated pool is actually heated.
But all aspects of the the service are very good, nice people and helpful with it. We only tried the restaurant for dinner once but it was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My partner and I spent 10 days at this lovely boutique hotel in February. I cannot praise the charming members of staff highly enough for their efficiency and friendliness. The rooms are cleaned/tidied twice a day almost without you realising it (they nip in when you are at breakfast or dinner) and they are always spotless. Choosing a Duplex room will give you that bit of extra space to read or watch TV away from the bedroom (useful when one of you isn't well - which is what happened to us one day). We booked half board for 4 nights as we had read good things about the Danish chef. As it turned out that was a good decision as the food here is excellent and the atmosphere in the dining area around the floodlit swimming pool really special. There are a couple of other notable restaurants nearby (including a great pizza place only open at the weekends) so it was good to be able to explore them too. Garachico is a small place but really charming, with some good walking behind the town and an excellent bus service if you want to explore further afield. But if you are just after a quiet time then this hotel is perfect: the rooftop terrace is good for reading and sunbathing and there are plenty of other places to chill out. When we were there the swimming pool was too cold to swim in but I'm sure would be lovely later in the year. Finally thank you for the complimentary bottle of Cava delivered to the room on my birthday - a kind thought and typical of the hotel's attention to detail.

Room Tip: The Duplex rooms will give you that bit more space in case the weather isn't great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I spent a very pleasant week in this hotel recently. The room was of a very high standard, the staff were extremely polite and helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good. There are also several excellent restaurants nearby and the staff were quite willing to give recommendations and also to make bookings. Garachico is a pleasant, if quiet, location and is a good base for exploring the northern part of the island (providing you have a car!).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyDarkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at El patio. A super place on an active banana plantation. However without meals on offer we had to venture into town each night. Having already had two super meals in small restaurants we thought we'd try the hotel. Arrived at 6.40 so enjoyed a drink in the very pleasant courtyard before sitting to dine around 7.30. The tables are set by the pool and all we're filled by 8 pm. It was a little chilly but patio heaters were on at full blast. Staff were very attentive and food and wine both very good. A very pleasant dining experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarum2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Hotel La Quinta Roja
#2 of 5 in Garachico
243 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#49 of 384 in Tenerife
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Property: Hotel San Roque
Address: Calle Esteban de Ponte 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Roque 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a region called Isla Baja, in the North-west of Tenerife, Hotel San Roque is to be found among the pebbled streets of Garachico, only a few meters from the blue waters of the Atlantic and in the shade of the emblematic Teide. A lordly 18th century manor house with just the right atmosphere to enjoy your holidays. It is a charming hotel where time can be forgotten and where to feel as comfortable as at home. The hotel has 20 double rooms, 8 duplexes with living rooms, 2 junior suites and 2 suites. La Torre (the tower) enjoys an amazing view of the town and the coastline. Each room enjoys a unique layout, colour and personality, but is identical in terms of comfort and service with air conditioning a Jacuzzi, audio visual equipment, designer furniture and contemporary art on their walls. That is twenty rooms in all offering ours guests a completely different experience of relaxation and comfort. All rooms are equipped with: Jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom ( in Junior Suites is integrated in the room area ), Satellite TV, Flat Screen, DvD, Hi-fi, minibar, A/C, WiFi, safe box, Bath amenities.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Roque Hotel
San Roque Garachico
Hotel San Roque Tenerife/Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing