We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food for the soul”
Review of Hotel San Roque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Roque
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel San Roque is clearly a labour of love by a family knowledgable about design. We kept discovering new objects to admire throughout our time there. Beautiful design is sometimes not the most comfortable but Hoffman's bar was incredibly comfortable, full of books and games that added value to our experience. The stairs in our duplex room were wide and had a sturdy railing. The air-conditioning was adequate downstairs but the mezzanine area for sleeping got uncomfortably hot at times and there was reduced ceiling height around the bed area. The location is perfect, one street away from the front and one from the town square.

We were given a free upgrade to half board but usually vow not to eat in hotels because of the quality. The hotel has a new head chef, Danny Nielsen, originally from Denmark but married to a Tenerife girl. His cooking made the holiday for us. The nearest I could describe his cooking would be roux meets ottolenghi. The food is precisely cooked but with great attention to layering of flavours and textures. There is nothing there that shouldn't be. A goats cheese was toasted and accompanied by delicate straight ribbons of red pepper, aubergine and sweet onion with two delicate little garlic cloves. It looked stunning but deceptively simple. How exactly can you cook an aubergine so perfectly that it can slice into fine ribbons? A passion fruit cream was accompanied by a yoghurt foam and mandarin granita. This didn't sound inspiring but was a taste sensation when eaten together. We were only 3 weeks into Danny's helm of the kitchen but it is obvious that the food will be a major factor in choosing hotel san roque in the future. My slight gripe was that the furniture was picnic style tables and chairs. By the end of the meal, I didn't want to linger over coffee but rather escape into the comfort of the bar.

Wifi was a problem during our stay. It was only available in reception and was patchy there. The hotel was endeavouring to fix it. Staff were very helpful throughout even changing the chair in my room to a more comfortable one.

In summary, a beautiful and inspiring hotel with food to die for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamarvalleylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

A real treasure in Tenerife, which standards are usually closer to gigantic all inclusive resorts than historically charming boutique hotels. Absolutely well restored mansion, a lot of style for a quiet retreat away from the tourist industry in other seashore cities of the island. Ideally located to visit the various highlights of the island, although a bit too far from Tenerife South airport if you have an early morning flight or late night arrival.

Extremely welcoming staff, always eager to help and share the local tips on nearby attractions, to visit the island in an original and authentic way.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jeremy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Unlike many hotels on Tenerife, this hotel is not purpose built, but converted from a genuine old mansion that must have been a focal point in the town with its tower, the tower has now become a luxury duplex bedroom. We spent a very enjoyable week on half-board in a duplex room, which was worth the supplement for the extra space and private balcony. The evening meal was always good, with imaginative starter, and tasty local wines on the wine list, and buffet breakfast with cooked-to-order eggs is a good compromise. Service is unobtrusive but friendly and efficient. Much appreciated was the generous welcome drink after a long journey, also the availability of english newspapers in the lounge area.

Room Tip: In high summer the ground floor rooms may be cooler, but first floor rooms are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pangalactic_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was a very satisfactory stay. We enjoyed much the ambiance of the hotel, and the workers were most helpful. A small complaint may be there is noise in the open areas with many people.

The place is located ver conveniently in the center of the town and it is not necessary to have a car if you do not wish to leave the town. We came with car for we travelled to other places to see, which I suggest is a good thing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We highly recommend the San Roque after a week there in early February. We stayed in a Junior Suite looking on to the (cobbled) road. The bed was super-large and super-comfortable and our teenage daughters were happy in the mezzanine bedroom next door. We found the staff extremely helpful with all our many questions about routes, the island, good walks,the weather in other parts of the island, etc. We enjoyed the spacious verandas in the courtyards and the roof terrace. The hotel is very beautiful and has such a calm welcoming atmosphere that you feel relaxed as soon as you come in off the street.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms facing into the courtyards seemed dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just to start by saying we spent a really relaxing 9 days at the end of February here. Garachico is a lovely little place and probably the Hotel San Roque is the best place to stay. Visually it is a real treat, a wonderful building and a great art collection, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfasts, lots of attention to detail. However, it is all a bit overpriced, the food in the restaurant is not very good, the bathroom fittings are very tired, the shower requires a climb into the bath and is not well lit, nor are the rooms generally, the seating in the public areas is not comfortable. So a lot of gripes. BUT what a relaxing experience! I would go again despite the issues so I recommend it very highly, just go with your eyes open so you are not disappointed,

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid a duplex unless you like clambering down stairs for a pee in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny_jay_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We chose the hotel as a short 3 day break from the normal Canaries self catering/resort hotels.

We had difficulty finding it but when we did the welcome was excellent and staff throughout were excellent always friendly and very helpful . Room although stylish was very dark and not very suitable for sitting in although courtyards were lovely as was the heated pool ! Great care needs to be taken when accessing toilets at night down the steep wooden stairs. We found room a bit stuffy.

Eating by the pool in the evening was very good and the food although menu was fairly limited was very good and breakfast (particularly if you like eggs !) very good.

The hotel is exclusive and very expensive but in my opinion did not really represent value for money at these levels.

The

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGoodlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Hotel La Quinta Roja
#2 of 5 in Garachico
256 reviews
5.8 mi away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#52 of 387 in Tenerife
1,198 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Address: Calle Esteban de Ponte 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Price Range: $206 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Roque 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a region called Isla Baja, in the North-west of Tenerife, Hotel San Roque is to be found among the pebbled streets of Garachico, only a few meters from the blue waters of the Atlantic and in the shade of the emblematic Teide. A lordly 18th century manor house with just the right atmosphere to enjoy your holidays. It is a charming hotel where time can be forgotten and where to feel as comfortable as at home. The hotel has 20 double rooms, 8 duplexes with living rooms, 2 junior suites and 2 suites. La Torre (the tower) enjoys an amazing view of the town and the coastline. Each room enjoys a unique layout, colour and personality, but is identical in terms of comfort and service with air conditioning a Jacuzzi, audio visual equipment, designer furniture and contemporary art on their walls. That is twenty rooms in all offering ours guests a completely different experience of relaxation and comfort. All rooms are equipped with: Jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom ( in Junior Suites is integrated in the room area ), Satellite TV, Flat Screen, DvD, Hi-fi, minibar, A/C, WiFi, safe box, Bath amenities.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Roque Hotel
San Roque Garachico
Hotel San Roque Tenerife/Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing