We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting menu choices - good value”
Review of El Lagar de Julio - CLOSED

El Lagar de Julio
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting menu choices - good value”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Intimate setting with only 6 tables inside. Nice atmosphere and definitely recommend booking as people were waiting outside when we left...on a Saturday night.
I enjoyed the banana croquettes in tomato jam and the main of turkey breast with spinach and apricot. My husband ordered the scrambled eggs with prawn and advocado as a starter and the portion was very large...larger than his main of scallops. Dessert of white chocolate mousse with strawberries was soon finished off! Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diggler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Booking recommended”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a very small restaurant. Service was not as efficient as we would have expected with so few tables. Food was good and freshly cooked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidaysforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Outlandishly incompatible ingredients that result in culinary catastrope”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Like the crushingly cringeworthy contestant on Masterchef that combines ingredients that have no place sharing the same plate, this restaurant may consider itself experimental but for me, there is a reason I was not born a guinea pig and it is to avoid experiences such as this. After arriving at 7.30pm we were informed that they had run out of banana croquettes (on an island whose major exports includes bananas) and there were no scallops - an immediate disappointment given these we're my 2 dishes of choice. I opted for the mushroom risotto with cheese followed by foie gras on a bed of vegetables and caramelised onions. What a hideous mistake that turned out to be - the risotto was doused in salt to an in edible degree, devoid of any mushrooms, then fried into a stodgy kind of tortilla before being smothered in lumpy cheese sauce with a bit more salt for good measure and speared with a cheese wafer. Having been unable to even manage a polite amount of this, my husband and I hoped for an improvement with the main course. Our waitress cleared our plates and offered us deserts or coffee and I almost wish that we hadn't reminded her that we had only got as far as starters. My husband had ordered another risotto for main course which, in stark contrast to my starter, had never seen any seasoning at all. My foie gras sat upon a bed of raw crudités and was smothered in what seemed to me to be the best part of a jar of red onion marmalade so sugary it could have been labelled type 2 diabetes in a pot. The foie gras itself was cooked in some areas and so raw in others, it was still as chilled as the fridge from where it came. Needless to say, we dared not risk desert or otherwise and would strongly recommend you give this place a wide berth and stick to the many other restaurants in town that serve fresh fish served simply that let the ingredients do the talking rather than the chef's ego.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally_A67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Experience the experimental!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a very small restaurant which prides itself on unusual but very tasty combinations; the banana croquettas being an excellent example. Although some may find the portions smaller than the usual Tenerifean fare involving lots of Canarian potatoes, a three course meal finished us off good style!! The sweets were as divine as the rest of the meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nontouristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A cosy & intimate restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The menu certainly was different from any others in Garachico. The combinations of food are exciting to the palate. The service was excellent. The restaurant is small and intimate with a lovely atmosphere. I would recommend eating here to anybody.

Helpful?
Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lagar de Julio also viewed

 
Garachico, Tenerife
Garachico, Tenerife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing