We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquility”
Review of Hotel L'Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Avenida
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tranquility”
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Hotel Avenida runs off the edge of ones imagination.The impecable service is only bettered by the tranquil location. Paul and Tania, the British owners can't help you enough and are happy to pass on their local secrets, such as great spanish restaurants and beaches.

A must for a long weekend or more

  • Liked — its querky retro feel
  • Disliked — lack of drawers
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jasperEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    72
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
388
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Having just returned from 5 fabulous days at Hotel L'Avenida, I can honestly say it was perfect. Ours was a mother, daughter break. From the moment we arrived Tania, Paul and Team totally look after our every need from booking restaurants, hairdressers, drinks and lunch round the pool, nothing was too much trouble! The Hotel is beautiful, with fabulous furniture, decor. The bedrooms are beautiful and spacious and our bathrroom was massive! The shower products are locally produced, I loved the shower gel especially! . Great lunches and the BBQ night we would recommend ( not just a normal bbq! ).
We hired a car but its cheap enough to get a taxi from the airport. We would also recommend at least one trip up to Deja ( a village in the mountains), only 15 mins in taxi, lots of restaurants and a beautiful place to watch the sun set!
Would definately return to L'Avenida and we have been recommending it to all our friends and family!
Jo and Joan,Chester

  • Liked — It was all superb
  • Disliked — I couldnt buy the showergel :~) ! ( it was amazing) made especially for the hotel
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlo_shore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Greater Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Holidaying in Majorca has come a long way since I first touched down on the island as a teenager on an early Eighties package holiday. Now married and expecting our first baby, myself and my wife Nicky were looking for some quality R&R ahead of our new arrival and that’s exactly what we found at L’Avenida.

Previous reviewers have already said how beautifully restored and furnished the hotel is so I’m going to avoid repetition as it’s sufficient to say it’s all true. One thing I will repeat is how great the staff are and how well they’ve mastered that fine balance of attentiveness and letting residents enjoy the peace and tranquility of the setting. It’s certainly no wonder this place has already caught the eye of many travel writers and is fully booked until the end of its’ first season.

Initially we were in two minds as to staying in Soller or its’ nearby port but we feel we were right in choosing the setting of the town over the bustle of the ‘beach’ resort. It’s still worth a trip or two to the port to explore or eat out and getting the short tram ride down to the coast is a great experience in itself.

Soller is a web of tall, narrow streets all seeming to lead to the café-lined central square which is dominated by the church of Saint Bartomeu and just a a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. The church façade was designed by one of Gaudi’s disciples, Joan Rubio as were many other art nouveau buildings in the town including L’Avenida.

It was a complete coincidence but we were really lucky to be staying the exact same week as the Sa Mostra folk festival which takes place in the town, port and nearby villages. A stage had been erected in Soller’s main square and each night there were some amazing examples of dance and music from all over the world including Burundi drummers, Argentinian tango dancers and Albanian folk dancing amongst many others. We’d definitely recommend checking out the dates for next year’s event when booking your trip.

Everywhere you look you can’t escape the spectacular backdrop of the Tramuntana mountain range which tower above Soller. We found the best way of truly appreciating the scale of the mountains as well as enjoying some excellent retail therapy was taking the old wooden train which leisurely winds its’ way to and from the town and the island’s capital Palma.

As for eating out, there are some great restaurants in the area and the hotel are well informed on what’s hot and what’s not. We really enjoyed the Don Cipriani with its’ home made pastas and beautiful courtyard dining area. It’s just down the Gran Via which is the leafy street the hotel is on and if you turn right at the bottom you’ll also find our absolute favourite which was the Petit Celler Cas Carreter. The agricultural décor may have changed little since the Seventies as evidenced in some great black and white photos on the walls but the food is fantastic. The lamb and rosemary dishes are particularly good and a meal for two with wine was a very reasonable 60 Euros.

To sum up, we loved our trip to Soller and our stay at L’Avenida and want to wish Paul & Tania continued success with what must be the coolest hotel on the island.

Andy & Nicky

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andy045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

L'Avenida is a beautifully renovated, delightful double fronted house in the heart of Soller. Every item in the hotel has been carefully chosen by the owners and they carry this attention to detail through to the warm, personal service they offer guests.

They are proud of their hotel and really give the impression that they are thrilled you have chosen to stay with them- consequently the hotel has a relaxed, happy atmosphere and you too can instantly relax, knowing you are going to be well looked after. When new guests arrived at the lovely pool area you could almost see them thinking : 'OK, this is going to be just great, we chose well here!'

On a practical note the rooms are spacious, with really comfy beds - and the quietest air conditioning I have ever come across!

  • Liked — beautifully designed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAMP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soller
2.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
806 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
3.3 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
13.9 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Avenida

Property: Hotel L'Avenida
Address: Avenida Gran Via 9, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soller
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soller
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soller
#11 Family Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Avenida 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'By far the most sophisticated place in this great town'. Conde Nast Traveller. Elegant, cool and impeccably chic, Hotel L'Avenida is set in Soller, amongst the dramatic Tramuntana mountains, 25 min from Palma. A beautifully renovated mansion house, with original ceilings, a grand marble staircase, coupled with classic and eclectic interior design. Most rooms & suites have jaw-dropping mountain views, TVs and FREE internet access. Bathrooms showcase luxurious walk-in showers and suites have a roll-top bath. Outside the large pool shares the secluded garden with the sun-bathing deck and a lunch-time dining terrace. 'Soller is one of Mallorca's most charming towns, and L'Avenida it's coolest address'. The Times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Avenida Hotel Soller
Hotel L'Avenida Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing