We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER FANTASTIC STAY”
Review of Hotel La Vila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Vila
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ANOTHER FANTASTIC STAY”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have just returned from yet another fantastic stay at the charming and extremely comfortable Hotel La Vila in Soller; where the staff are very welcoming and helpful, the bedrooms are really comfortable and the food is of the highest quality; all located in a smashing little town with more atmosphere than words can describe. We really love this superbly decorated hotel and look forward to many more stays.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the town square, No. 1,2,5 and 6 give fantastic views over the square where there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much!! It is always our pleasure to have you here in our Hotel! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    73
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
211
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Toni's hotel in August 2013. I emailed ahead and asked if we could have a garden facing room and a parking space. Toni was more than happy to accommodate our requests, and answered emails quickly.

We found his hotel absolutely lovely; the staff were very friendly and the hotel is period and stunning. We were made to feel like welcome visitors and not just a number. I hope Hotel La Vila becomes our 'pied-a-terre' in Mallorca as we intend to try to stay there every time we visit the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, which is a really nice one!! Of course you are always more than welcome, and we are looking forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in Hotel La Vila for 2 nights whilst touring the area. The hotel is very central in Soller being in Plaça Constituçion. Parking is available approx 50 yards away from the hotel. Using satnav on my iPhone was somewhat difficult due to the american pronunciation and the fact that it didn't recognise the one way streets.
The hotel is in a 100 year hold former house. The public areas are in keeping with the age of the property with what appears to be original decorating style, tiling and flooring.
Our bedroom was adequate, if a little spartan but the bathroom was in need of refurbishing (paint peeling off the wall). The lighting was also poor although in an attempt to fix this the owner had new light bulbs fitted. The towels were poor but we were told that they were to be replaced within a couple of days.
For a short stay I would still recommend the hotel particularly if they dealt with the deficiencies.
The service was excellent.
I had noted some criticism in other reviews about the breakfast. We had no problem with this despite a selection of 2 items from the menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location location location are the words that spring to mind when I write about Hotel de Vila. Right on the square and a beautiful quaint hotel.Rooms lovely and clean though I wish that they would change those horrible worn grey but technically white towels.
There is a garden restaurant and also tables on the square. The stairs may be problematic for elderly or for people with mobility problems as there is no lift.
Food beautiful but the evening meal was rather pricey.
The staff and management were for the most part unfriendly and unhelpful.They never enquired if we enjoying our stay and did very little to make you feel at home.
I would go back again for the hotel itself but not the staff or management.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballymac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.
The towels have been changed already.
I am sure that you did not meet me or talk to me, because i am constantly asking all the clients if everything is ok, if they need something, who is their stay going, etc.. So is my staff, as it is obvious in other reviews, like the previous one for example. I am sorry that if this was not your case.
Thank you anyway for your nice words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am not the type to leave reviews -- but this hotel deserves one. I had a fantastic stay. The hotel has a very elegant and authentic feel to it. This, combined with the stellar service and location make it a no-brainier-choice and I definitely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice comments. We try our best, always, thank you for appreciating it!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading so many excellent reviews on Trip Advisor regarding this hotel we booked three nights accomodation. The location of the hotel lived up to our expectations however, the rest of the hotel did not. It appears to be more like a restaurant/bar with rooms. There is no reception as such and no guest seating areas other than dining tables in the garden, terrace and outside in the main square. Our room was rather basic although spotlessly clean. The staff varied day to day, some very friendly some not. We never met the Manager. Breakfast was to be avoided at all costs unless you are an egg lover. We were given a breakfast menu card from which we could choose two items only. Even though the hotel did not meet our expectations the town of Soller certainly did and it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrymintoe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
This review is written by the partner of the person who wrote the previous review, as it is very obvious.. No comments...
About me, in every room there is an information folder, with different informations and there is a sheet explaining that i am in the hotel every day approximately from 12 to 4 or 5pm, and again from 8-9pm to 11pm or midnight. My day off is wednesday, but even on that day i come to the hotel for a while. And aswell, there is my mobile number and my house number if you would have any emergency during the day or night. In most of hotels you normally don't see the manager unless you request it, but that is not our case. So that, if you say that i am not available or you didn't see me, it sounds a bit strange to me.. Maybe you didn't recognise me? :-)
Anyway, thank you for your nice words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked this hotel based purely on the excellent reviews and my husband and I were disappointed as our experience did not match the findings of others. There are certainly some really positive things to say. The location is excellent, right on the square, with lots going on and the building itself is lovely and spotlessly clean. However, we did not find the staff overly friendly and Tony himself barely acknowledged our presence. We had dinner on one evening and, whilst the garden is a real asset to this small hotel and the quiet atmosphere and candlelit setting is very special, unfortunately the meal itself did not live up to our expectations although nothing to complain about. However, the girl who waited on our table was wonderful, very friendly and seemed able to converse with other diners in their own language.

Breakfast was a little hit and miss. The scrambled eggs is to be avoided at all costs! We were never offered any further tea or coffee at breakfast and, although I am sure that had we requested it, would have been provided but it seems such a basic thing to be offered. The bedroom on the top floor was quite spacious as was the bathroom. However, the towels in the room, although certainly clean, appeared old and discoloured and not very enticing to use.

On one late afternoon and early evening there was very heavy rain. We stayed in our bedroom as we were not aware of any sitting area to use in the hotel, apart from the dining tables and chairs which would not have been relaxing to sit and read or have a drink at. Perhaps there was somewhere but no-one ever pointed it out. We also did not see anywhere in the garden to relax apart from tables and chairs which is a real shame as this would be a very peaceful area.

I realise these are only minor things but, having really looked forward to staying in this hotel, it did not live up to our expectations and a few minor changes would make a world of difference.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I always ask personally every time i see a hotel client how everything is going and if everything is ok and if they are enjoying their stay.
About breakfast and scrambled eggs, this is a matter of opinion as you can see with other reviews. Anyway I am sorry that it was not of your taste.
About sitting area: this is a townhouse from the art nouveau period, converted into a hotel. This is not the same as building a hotel from zero, when you can plan all the kind of the spaces you need. We had to adapt to the existing structure, which is what you probably did not understand. About the garden, when we were refurbishing the building, i had to decide wether to make a lounge or pool there, or a restaurant. Obviously the choice was a restaurant. And in our garden we serve many hundreds of people every year, which socially is much better.
About the staff, i have to say that they are always friendly, kind and attentive to everyone, always, and they will be as long as they work for me. But if clients are friendly too, then they are even friendlier and it makes it all easier. I believe that sometimes in life you need to look at what you give first, if you don't like what you receive.
Thank you for all you nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Soller
Gran Hotel Soller
#15 of 37 in Soller
360 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#25 of 37 in Soller
407 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
812 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vila

Property: Hotel La Vila
Address: Plaza Constitucio 14, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Soller
#15 Romantic Hotel in Soller
#16 Luxury Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vila 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vila is a boutique hotel housed in a spectacular 19th-century art nouveau townhouse, completely refurbished in 2005. It offers all the elegance and decor of its original art nouveau glory. It has 8 double rooms, each with private bath and offering the latest modern conveniences. All rooms have quiet and efficient heating / air conditioning. A small sample of services are: welcome cocktail, daily room cleaning, morning newspaper, 24 h front desk, hiking excursions.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Vila Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing