We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved loved loved it!!!”
Review of Ca's Curial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ca's Curial
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a fabulous stay. The house is gorgeous, the property spectacular, the owners so welcoming and a wealth of information . We could not have had a better stay. We stayed in a suite(I think room 6) and had lovely views, lots of room etc. Breakfast was so beautiful in the garden and very tasty. Sitting by the pool with the views of the mountains and of course the orange grove.. just couldn't have been better.. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 460 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for a week at Cas Curial in early June. The setting is really beautiful with gorgeous orange trees, beautifully tended grounds full of flowers, a splendid pool and all with the backdrop of the spectacular Tramuntana mountain range. It's lovely if you want peace and quiet but just a short stroll to the town square. The family who run the house are fantastic and helped us with detailed information and maps on a whole range of walks; they also booked restaurants and helped order taxis as well as regularly offering us some fresh orange juice! Breakfasts were GREAT with loads and loads of choice and available between 8.30 and 11am.

To give a bit more of a "feel" for the place....when we stayed, the majority of guests were English couples between the ages of about 38 and 70 who were on holiday. It's very popular with hikers. It's tranquil and might be a little too relaxed for kids - although no doubt the family owners would go out of their way to accommodate them. It has a feeling of relaxation rather than out and out luxury - there aren't hoardes of staff to look after you. That was super for us but if you're looking for whistles and bells attention then maybe look elsewhere.

Were there any downsides? Well, a few nights the air conditioning was not switched on (it's centrally controlled). This was fine initially but as the temperatures reached 32 degrees, we really needed the air con!

We would absolutely go back - this lovely finca and North Western Mallorca have SOOOO much to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CasCurial, Propietario at Ca's Curial, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013
Google Translation

Apreciada Sra.
Estamos muy contentos de que le haya gustado su estancia con nosotros, no obstante, queremos reseñarle, que el aire acondicionado no funciona si las ventanas estan abiertas. Es un sistema para potenciar el ahorro de energia y proteccion del medio ambiente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We returned after a week in this hotel and would say that if like us you want comfort in a quiet and beautiful setting this is the place. Set in its own orange grove it is bliss. The pool with a backdrop of mountains is superb. A 10 minute walk into Soller and you will find a wide selection of restaurants. Take the old tram to Port Soller ar th old train to palma these are a must.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a balcony, do check that you will get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceril h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Ca's Curial
It was our second visit at the finca and were met by Andres Snr with the warmest of welcomes.
We were shown to our room, which was room 7. Room 7 is the one at the top of the house with the large open air terrace with views across the valley down to the port.
Since last year there have been some improvements, noticeably the conservatory on the dining room with stylish gas heaters. This was a very welcome addition as the mornings and evenings were chilly.
Other additions are the wider path to the rear exit with extra lighting, a thoughtful touch !
Once again the meals we had at the restaurant were first class and the homemade orange juice is 'to die for'.
Ca's Curial is not a big 5star hotel and does not offer 5star amenities but is a family run finca that offers fantastic personal service, where nothing is too much trouble. It is this service from Andres Snr and Andres Jnr that enables me to say we will return again.

PS. Before our first visit Ca's Curial was rated no 1 hotel in Soller but has since dropped to no 2.
There is no reason that this hotel shouldn't return to no 1 and with a 99% rating compared to the 96% of the current no1, trip advisor must be making a mistake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Set in the buildings of the owner's orange orchard/farm this is a very beautiful spot with mountains all around. The location is ideal being rural and quiet but within easy walking distance of the town. A number of great walks can be started straight from the hotel. Along with good public transport in the town, we did not bother with a hire car. The family and staff are extremely helpful and friendly and one certainly gets much more personal attention than larger and more corporate hotels. The food is good and the setting for the restaurant and swimming pool are idyllic. Our room with balcony was excellent. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Max195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a fabulous time here in Sept 2012 (see previous review) and decided we would definitely return. This time we planned it for mid May as my husband was keen to experience the fiesta.

This time we were in room 6 which we thought was fabulous with a big living area with a glass wall/sliding doors leading to a small balcony overlooking the orange trees. Once again the bed was super comfy - I love their beds! The only difference I noticed since our previous visit is that they have enclosed some of the external patio eating area with a conservatory type extension to the dining room.

Instead of hiring a car we caught the train from Palma - not something I would bother doing again - it wasn't as good as I had expected.

Andres senior was more in charge during this visit - he's a lovely man but his English isn't as good as Andres his son. Andres junior was much more involved in the fiesta and wasn't around as much as last time - although that wasn't a problem.

If you want to have a quiet time in Soller then don't visit during the middle of May. The fiesta (el firo) which celebrates the battle between the invading Moors and the Christians is incredibly noisy and there are thousands of people enjoying the festivities over the 3 days.

It started reasonably quietly on Saturday 11th May with a parade through Soller - everyone gets dressed up in the costumes of the time (1561) and they take flowers to the church. It then starts to get a lot louder and this continues to the climax of the 3 days with the re-enactment of the Moors invasion down at Port Soller on Monday. Many of the young men dress up as Moors - they use grease paint (or something similar) to blacken themselves and they try to ensure that all those watching are involved - you have to try hard to avoid being "blackened" with a stripe or a handprint across your cheek by the lively participants.

The noise is caused by some sort of exploding devices that the participants drop in the streets as well as lighting fire crackers and also by firing blank shotgun cartridges. It can be deafening. Each evening the party and the noise goes on until the early hours. Despite that, we were delighted to be serenaded by a nightingale singing just outside out bedroom window all night long for 2 consecutive nights - it was wonderful.

We found it fun to dip into the fiesta for a short time and then to escape to the relative peace of Ca's Curial. The only difference this made to the hospitality at Ca's Curial s that they didn't offer dinner on the Monday evening as the majority of the staff were enjoying themselves at the fiesta.

Will we return for a third visit? - most definitely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of April to beginning of May. We were walking in the Serra de Tramuntana and could walk from the hotel each day or catch a local bus easily. Andrés at the hotel was excellent with advice. The hotel is set a little way from the center of Sóller, easily walkable but far enough to make it very quiet. You can eat in (Friday's is paella night) or at one of Sóller's many restaurants. Our room was very comfortable, the hotel is a beautifully converted farm house set in an orange grove and is a completely family run business. We had a wonderful time and will be back soon.

Room Tip: We booked the standard double and it was quite good enough - excellent in fact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeandPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soller
2.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
870 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Can Mostatxins
Hotel Can Mostatxins
#1 of 58 in Alcudia
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
826 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,415 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca's Curial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca's Curial

Address: Camino de la Villalonga 21, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soller
#6 Family Hotel in Soller
Price Range: $234 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ca's Curial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finca consists of three typical old Majorcan houses from Muslim times, totally restored to offer comfort while maintaining their features and style. These houses are surrounded by thousands of lemon and orange trees in an area of 50,000 square meters. The setting invites you to relax and break from the day to day city life, enjoying a friendly service and the best Majorcan gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ca's Curial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca`s Curial Hotel Soller
Cas Curial Soller
Cas Curial Hotel Soller
Ca's Curial Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing