We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING hotel and staff, shame about the night time.”
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STUNNING hotel and staff, shame about the night time.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed for two weeks at the Hotel Marina starting on the 20th August 2013. I went with my younger cousin, and auntie and uncle. Although they weather was not on our side for a whole week of the holiday we had a lovely time. The only thing I would say is a negative factor would be the fact that there are hundreds of people around on the beaches and going for walks in the day time yet at night time everybody seems to disappear. I feel as though this lets down the resort as a whole because the atmosphere in the day is second to none but at night you could hear a pin drop whilst walking past the bars and down the front.

Room Tip: Book through Thomsons!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeOsmotherley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    254
    95
    23
    10
See reviews for
114
333
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

When we checked in at the hotel we were pleased to be given a room with a sea view. However, just below our window and every night until 11:30 or midnight they have evening entertainment. This runs in about 4 x half hour sessions but each new session starts with an increase in volume. Hence by 11;00 it is too loud for sleep. The hotel kindly moved us to a "mountain view" room with a balcony. Much quieter - once the screaming children have left the pool.
We found the staff at the hotel to be very friendly and helpful. We took the buffet evening meal which was sufficient and varied but a bit short on waiters. Had trouble one night in finding a waiter to take the money for a bottle of wine. The head waiter seemed more concerned with chatting to a friend on the patio. Well he was wearing white - so I assume he was the captain of one of the millionaire's boats anchored in the bay..
The rooms are small but adequate - after all one does not go the Mallorca in the summer to sit in the bedroom. The air conditioning however, found it difficult to cope. The outside temp in the low 30s and even with the air running constantly (with the windows closed) the inside temp never dropped below 27...

Room Tip: Go for a mountain view room if you want to sleep before midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyHollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

There are many qualities to commend at the Hotel Marina. The location is very good, it lies to left of the bay facing the sea in the quieter part of the resort. the hotel is generally very clean and most of the staff were very attentive and efficient. We went as a package with Tomson which included breakfast which was also good for the price we paid. The only reason I haven't given a higher rating is that the quality of your stay is very much dictated by your room allocation. If at all possible, ensure that you get a sea view. we didn't and were allocated a second floor "mountain" facing room at the back of the premises. Unfortunately this was also exactly on the same level as the sun terrace and swimming pool which meant that we had no privacy at all unless we kept the curtains closed. This wasn't a major problem but it's worth noting if you're planning a visit. The rooms are also quite small. With a couple of suitcases lying around there's very little floor space left. Cupboards were reasonably sized but only about 6 coat hangers which seemed a bit mean. the Hotel restaurant is also quite good for evening meals and is competitively priced with the rest of the resort.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room. If you can't get one, try to make sure you get a room above the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel Marina enjoys a wonderful setting - looking onto the beautiful bay of Puerto de Soller, there are lovely seating areas at the front of the hotel to enjoy the views as well as tables for al fresco dining. Whilst the views etc are very beautiful, the hotel itself is nothing special - hence the average rating for this review. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and found the breakfast ok, there is a good choice of fresh fruits, bread, cereal, yogurt, plenty oranges to squeeze your own breakfast juice which is a nice touch, it would be nice if the cooked element varied - it was scrambled egg and sausages each morning for the fortnight we stayed. Our room was ok, decent size with nice french doors opening onto a mountain view balcony. The air conditioning in the room was very good, the weather was very hot during our stay so the air conditioning was very much appreciated - one night we returned to room at 6pm to discover the a/c had stopped working, I reported it straight away but didn't expect it to be fixed until the following day however receptionist was very helpful and when we returned later that evening it had been fixed - excellent service. The ensuite bathroom felt like it was needing renovated / upgraded e.g. parts of the tile grout was black, seal around bath was gruby etc.

The pool area is located at the back of the hotel which gets full sun (gets very hot), the pool is small and there are not enough sun loungers - I would guess approx 25 in total. People reserve loungers very early, we only managed to get loungers twice during a two week stay. There are loungers on the beach in front of the hotel but these have to be paid for - 11 euros per day (for two plus a parasol).

Live music each night outside the hotel front from 9pm - 11.30ish was very good.

Overall we got very good value for out money at Hotel Marina and would recommend this hotel as a good base in Puerto de Soller, but if you are looking for a good pool scene with plenty loungers and a hotel with a bit of luxury then this probably isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are just back from a wonderful holiday at the Hotel Marina. The location of the hotel is amazing, right on the beach with a wonderful terrace cafes and restaurants on the doorstep. The staff were really helpful and the hotel was very clean. We just ate breakfast, and this was fine, plenty of choice. We stayed in the mountain view apartment (4 of us, 2 children aged 8 and 5) and it worked perfectly for us. The views from the balcony across to the mountains were lovely - initially I thought a sea view would have been better, but the bonus of being at the back is that it is lovely and quiet and night. We spent a lot of time in the pool, which is great - again, kept really clean.
Puerto de Soller itself is a beautiful place - we wouldn't hesitate in returning and staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the mountain view apartment at the back of the hotel, which was lovely and quiet. I ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine_C190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect!!! Family owned and run, perfect location just by the sea, and spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and helpful dealing easily with all the different nationalities. Car park is a great bonus too! Breakfast is cold buffet but very good and more than adequate. We understand that the a la carte lunches are excellent and will definitely be giving them a try when we visit in October. A special mention to the lovely bar staff! However for purely selfish reasons don't believe a word I have said - I don't want the world invading!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradders57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday at the Marina. We ranged in age from 2 to 70 and there were 10 of us.
We found the staff to be unfailingly cheerful, polite and helpful.
The experience of dining-out on the terrace by candlelight with fantastic views was unforgettable and the food had sufficient variety to suit us all - vegetarions, children and hearty eaters alike. The wine list included some excellent local wines which we enjoyed sampling.
The apartment and studio which some of our party occupied were well equipped and very suitable for family use.
WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AND ARE ABOUT TO BOOK AGAIN FOR NEXT YEAR.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.4 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#26 of 37 in Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Soller Beach
Aparthotel Soller Beach
#7 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Porto Soller
SENTIDO Porto Soller
#4 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Geranios
Hotel Los Geranios
#6 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Property: Hotel Marina
Address: Paseo La Playa s/n | Puerto de Soller, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Soller
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soller
#20 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Hotel has more than 75 years of experience as a family business. We pride ourselves on our friendly and personal service. Throughout several generations, our willingness to please has been rewarded by the loyalty of our guests.Our Hotel enjoys a unique and privileged position just in front of the sea and the beach separated only by a pedestrianised Promenade. Our splendid and quiet terrace makes an ideal setting for a lovely relaxed breakfast with magnificient views of the Bay. At night also, surrounded by candlelight this terrace provides the perfect location for a night at soft music and a chat. The completely renovated hotel has tree lifts, internet corner and hiking corner, reception, bar, one lounge with satellite television and video. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, HRS, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Soller
Hotel Marina Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing