We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break!”
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great break!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just back from 4 days at the Hotel Marina. Wasn't sure what we would get because of the bargain price we paid during peak time but Travel Republic gave us a good deal.[£215]
We had a twin room on the first floor, maybe a little tired in the bathroom although the shower was really powerful despite appearances; small fridge great for water; Cable TV with a selection of channels [4 in English] ;no balcony but fabulous beach view. We had only booked B and B and the buffet was as you would expect with a selection of cereals, meats, bread, fruit etc. There is a cafe which is open when the restaurant isn't and they offer tapas, salads, coffee and drinks for average prices. The beauty is that you can sit outside the hotel on the prom and watch the world go by and there is plenty of shade too provided. The cafe is also open in the evening and whilst we were there there was entertainment provided [jazz quartet, male singer and a female artiste] all quite low key, talented and relaxing and went on until midnight.
We ate out in the evening. There are plenty of restaurants around the bay but have very similar menus unless you want a curry or chinese. At lunch time if you don't want to use the cafe there are a couple of snack bars which are reasonable.
The rooms were clean and tidy; the staff very helpful. There is a small pool and area out the back but we did not use it. I think that it was used mainly by families with children. We used the beach opposite the hotel. You can use your own mats, towels and brollies on the beach but there are beds and permanent brollies there but you have to rent them; 11 Euros for 2 beds and brolley per day.You can also hire beach towels too from the hotel [as well as a safe deposit key for the box in your room]. We chose that option as it was only for 4 days. We saw that families who left the resort passed on the brollies and lilos and such like, a lovely gesture! The resort was very multi national and quite select which was also nice and relaxing.. no hordes of loud families, greedy drinkers from all inclusive options and no youngsters out for a loud time. There was only 1 disco we saw further away towards the main port.
There is an old tram which goes from the main port area into the town about every 30 mins at 5 Euros each.We went to a Sunday market..usual market goods but great olives!
The one thing that you need to take into consideration is the transfer from the airport to the hotel. There is no bus. You can catch a train to Palma and then out to the airport. We pre booked a private transfer at about £100 for the 2 of us return. Still it was worth it for the quick and direct route to the hotel together with the price we paid and the lovely location. If we had been inclined to we could also have taken the opportunity to use the spa facilities on the 6th floor but alas we didn't as I think we slept for about 15 per day....sooooooo relaxing!
We met a few English people who said that they were returnees to the hotel which was encouraging...I think I could do that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginaandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    265
    98
    23
    12
See reviews for
119
346
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, Wales
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in a suite at the Marina with a sea view from 27th July to 11th August 2013. We also had a studio with sea view on the night of 26th July as the suite wasn't available when I asked for an extra night on the original booking. We had stayed in the 5th floor suite (523) last year and we were offered the choice of that suite or the recently renovated 423 which we took. The room was well cleaned every day and the air con worked.

Last year I suggested that the pool area was tired and in need of updating - this has been done for 2013, and the alterations to the pool (easier to get into and out of, re-tiled, some new decking) and the excellent new sun beds have made a real difference to this area.

The Marina benefits from a perfect location on the pedestrianised Platja de'n Repic and is just a few metres away from the En Repic beach itself. The wonderful views from the rooms at the front of the hotel are at least as good as any other hotel in Puerto de Soller, and many of the best restaurants are only a short stroll away For dinner we like "Es Passeig";"El Sabor" Las Geranios" "Sa Taronja" "Campo Sol" and "Es Canyis" and "Mirrador de Ses Barques" up above Soller and there are also some very good cafe / snack bars near by particularly the two on the beach at the far end from the hotel.

We happily ate the breakfast for 16 mornings and as we had booked directly with the hotel, we also were offered good quality coffee and fresh orange juice. Booking directly also means that wi-fi is free as well and since last year the wi-fi coverage has been extended to the bedrooms. The food at the Marina from the A la Carte Menu is pretty good and we also enjoyed a Mallorcan themed buffet one evening.

All of the staff at the Marina are friendly and generally pretty efficient. Many of the bar and restaurant staff and the room cleaners) are familiar faces from previous years (we used the bar and restaurant for three or four years before deciding to stay at the hotel). Drinks are good value compared to other nearby establishments and I was particularly impressed by the volume of gin in my G and Ts. There is musical entertainment outside the front of the hotel every night, and some are even quite good to listen to.

A small gym has been set up since 2012 which I didn't use and didn't see anyone else use (too hot) and there is still a secure room for mountain and road bike storage which was also used by guests to store inflatable beach toys.

We used taxis to and from the airport, but the Marina does have a large car park at the rear of the hotel for guest use.

This is a well run hotel that keeps on trying to add improvements. I am sure that we will be back again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have the best view of the bay in town, but the rooms at the back have a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanJMold_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

great location by a sandy beach the marina hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly the food was great and we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet there was great greek yoghurt and fresh fruit it was worth getting up early just to sit on front outside the hotel and watch the sun come up and go for a swim and watch all the joggers go past on they morning run rooms are very clean and cool which was a god send in the heat

Room Tip: the rooms on the front get very hot during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very good location, spot on Platja Repic. Go for a swim before breakfast! Good breakfast buffet. Simple room standard, but ok. Very helpful staff. We ha a so called Studio, with a sea view . Except for the kitchenette, just like any standard double rooms. Nice balcony. But I will ask for a room on the 5th floor the next time. Most of the guests are Scandinavians, Germans and British traveling with the big tour operators. All categories, old, young, solo, families etc. If you like a sun bed, you better get up early to "reserve" one by putting your beach towel on one before 8 am! Some are occupied before 7 am! There are some very good restaurants in the neighborhood, "Se Passeig" and "Nunu". A bit expensive, but creative cousins with the very best from the sea, market etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pal1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just spent 4 nights in Marina hotel, and can't fault it. The hotel is in a fantastic location, the staff are lovely, friendly and helpful, and the hotel is spotless.
The breakfast was varied, with hot and cold food, plenty of choice - I enjoyed muesli with dates ,walnuts, sultanas and greek yoghurt, my husband had the hot choice, eggs, spicy sauages, toast or crusty rolls.
I have been to this hotel a few times now, and would not hesitate to reccomend it to friends.
( mini milk jugs would be useful for the tea !)
Maria at reception is exceptionally helpful,and gave us towels to use in a spare bathroom, after
we had been on beach following check out, and was always ready to give advice and info about the resort.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are lovely, and view fantastic, although the cheaper, mountain view rooms are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 week from the 16th July on a bed and breakfast basis and overall ha a very pleasant stay . We were a late booking and we were staying in the annexe and any worrieswerre quickly overcome . The room was basic with no balny but very quiet , clean and with a very efficient air con . After all the room is only used for sleeping and showering . We slept well an there was no shortage of warm watwe . The real plus for this hotel is its perfect locatin on a pedestrianised sea fron overlooking an idyllic beach . A perfect place for a quiet holiday in a charming resort . The other real plus was the curtosy and politenesss of all the staff . To keep a smile on your face when you are really busy in the very hot weather is a pleasure for guests . The breakfast as OK but a bit monotonous but again for what we pid not bad value for money . There are excellent restaurants in the resort and the whole ambience was ery relaxing . I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet peaceful week away .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 1 week.
The hotel has a very good location a few metres from the beach, it was clean and the sea view was wonderful. Breakfast OK . Port de Soller and sorroundings were just great.
BUT:
This does not compensate for our very bad experience with cleaning staff steeling our camera during cleaning time. We went down to the beach the second day of our stay , and after a while we just discovered that we had forgotten to bring the camera with us. We always put the camera in the same spot on a small console desk at our room -before we went to sleep at night. We did not use the safe in the room - since we always brought all valuable stuff with us when we left the room. This particular day, we actually by mistake left the camera behind. When I went back, the cleaning staff was done with our room - and the camera gone.! We noticed the receiption at once, but all they did was protecting their staff and telling us that the persons working that day had worked there for 22 years , and nothing like this had ever happened before. The management of this hotel deserves the poorest ranking when it comes to believing their guests instead of relying 100% on their staff. We know 110% for sure the camera was there when we left the room that day.No possibility that the door was not closed, because it closed automatically. We contacted the police,and went all the way to Palma to report this - did we do that for fun? It feels really bad, and this experience overshadowed the whole stay , and therefore we will not recommend this hotel to anyone.Unreliable staff take advantage of knowing that guests have it all covered by their travel insurance. I'm really so disappointed after this stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#26 of 37 in Soller
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#8 of 8 in Port de Soller
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplendido Hotel
Esplendido Hotel
#4 of 37 in Soller
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Minister
Hotel Minister
#5 of 8 in Port de Soller
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Property: Hotel Marina
Address: Paseo La Playa s/n | Puerto de Soller, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Soller
#4 Spa Hotel in Soller
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Soller
#20 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Hotel has more than 75 years of experience as a family business. We pride ourselves on our friendly and personal service. Throughout several generations, our willingness to please has been rewarded by the loyalty of our guests.Our Hotel enjoys a unique and privileged position just in front of the sea and the beach separated only by a pedestrianised Promenade. Our splendid and quiet terrace makes an ideal setting for a lovely relaxed breakfast with magnificient views of the Bay. At night also, surrounded by candlelight this terrace provides the perfect location for a night at soft music and a chat. The completely renovated hotel has tree lifts, internet corner and hiking corner, reception, bar, one lounge with satellite television and video. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Soller
Hotel Marina Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing