We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly well designed hotel with exceptional staff”
Review of Esplendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Esplendido Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I love this place.

We visited in April and there is so much going on. People off cycling, hiking, to play tennis at hotel court, stand up paddle boarding in the harbour, and all the great cafes and restaurants of Port Soller.

The rooms are great, with the views from the sea facing rooms amazing. Breakfast is great. Wifi is throughout the hotel for those checking on work. I didn't sit still long enough to make the most of the pool (or Spa) but it seems like a great spot to relax.

The location is great too. Close to the mountains, but by the sea with lots going on in Port Soller.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupertbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 734 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Booked last minute family holiday and ended up here, fantastic position in stunning fishing port. We stayed in family room for 1st half of week and then upgraded to presidential suite. We have 3 girls under 10, family suite is perfect, interconnecting rooms, decent size and plenty of room even with extra single bed in one of the rooms (other 2 shared a king sized bed). The only downside to room is there is no sea view and to us that is what the hotel is all about, the sea views. This is why we upgraded to presidential suite which had 2 balconies with gorgeous views, 1 with a hot tub on it ! This suite had a bedroom to front with fab views, another double up a spiral staircase and a sofa bed in a lounge area.The bistros restaurant has some pretty decent evening food and the breakfast which is inclusive is very good, lovely fresh juices, fab fruit and chef on stand by to cook fresh eggs. Staff are friendly and decor all round is very contemporary. Only criticisms are they advertise the pool as being heated but it was freezing and the doors to the rooms do not have child locks in the inside I.e no bolt. You can turn the lock on the inside to stop it being opened on the outside but a child can easily open from inside. In the family room the children's bedroom is the first bedroom so nearest the front door so it is a bit of in issue, we got round it by moving a sofa in front if the door when we went to bed. They have a very nice touch in this place of free mini bar, water topped up every day and beers / wine replenished I think every couple of days. We went 1st week of school holidays and was very quiet so no problems with staff coping but it did strike me it could be an issue in the summer when flat out, same with local restaurants. All in all, fantastic place to stay and we will definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Family room is good choice for up to 3 children (2 sharing a king) but the lack of sea view is a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This Hotel has thought of everything to make a visitors' stay wonderful. It is in prime location
overlooking the beautiful bay of the Port Soller. Having the bottles of water in the fridge replenished each day is a major bonus as the weather was excellent and we walked miles to explore this lovely island. The staff at the Esplendido are friendly and helpful - it is very difficult to think of any negatives regarding this establishment.
A bonus might be valet parking as the local roads work on a one way system known only to
the Spanish!.
We would definitely recommend this Hotel to our friends

Room Tip: Fourth floor sea view for lovely views over bay and no need for balcony as lots of public seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Lovely hotel. Shame about the hordes of unruly children at breakfast. It was half term. My review would be 100% glowing if not for Welcome drink being disturbed by a tantrum and evening drinks by another. Room was perfect, spa perfect, food excellent. Could have done with more staff on duty at breakfast!
Parking is easy if on arrival you have the guts to drive down the street with the tram saying no unauthorised access. You are allowed to drive down this road to unload car.
The weather changed so we made more use of the indoor spa than the outdoor pool areas, which were nonetheless lovely.
The spa was a haven. Beautifully kept and clean.
Whole hotel was immaculate and had a very relaxed feel to it. Loved the Swedish arty decor.
We were on the second floor and views were stunning.
I had a fabulous facial, great treatment rooms.
Drinks in the bar were to die for.

Room Tip: Pay for room with a balcony or terrace overlooking the sea. The best part of my day was a coffee on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Is it not refreshing when - for once - two hotel truisms are found not to be true?

1) The best views are never from your room

Well, at Esplendido, not only do you get the fabulous views from any room so labelled, but there are generous communal sea-facing terraces for those who pick garden-facing rooms. We absolutely loved not only the views, but also the sensation of falling asleep and waking up to sound of the waves lapping the shore outside.

2) The better the view, the less you can trust the rest on offer

This hotel delivers on all other aspects, at least those that matter to me: food and drink, service and key facilities: pools, gym etc - none of us tried the spa, so cannot comment.
We lunched, dined and had drinks several times during our time at the hotel and were never disappointed.

The crowd when we were there: mix of well-behaved Brits, Scandis and Germans in their 30s, 40s and 50s, some with their children, some without.
The few critical reviews I have seen have focused on the disturbing presence of children...and those reviewers are right: if the mere presence of children unnerves you on your hotel stay, go somewhere else, preferably where they are banned!
For the rest of us, if you can take the odd bread-crumb on the carpet below your table as you have a breakfast at 10am and drinks/dinner after 8pm, chances are you will have a perfectly tranquil and pleasurable experience, enjoying the fabulous setting....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ex-expat-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

we r here now room 426 excellent rooms. friendly staff especially barden???(not sure of his name on recepcion....he was excellent. parking a nightmare on arrival....was our 10th anniversary asked for high floor good views and we got it..would recommend. hope to return maybe march as they close nov 23rd till march...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We've stayed in the Esplendido again and since our last visit they have upgraded the facilities and now have a lovely indoor pool and improved spa area. There is also now a bigger adult only pool although it was freezing cold when we were there in September. Worth it of course for more of that amazing view. And really that is what this hotel is all about - the view. If you can afford to treat yourself then one of the attico rooms is out of this world with balconies on both sides to get the sun and a terrace that is big enough to live on overlooking the sea. The rest of the hotel is good but it lacks a bit of atmosphere. The staff are efficient and courteous but you don't feel like they want to get to know you. Breakfast has a great selection of healthy stuff and again the amazing view, but the hot selection leaves a bit to be desired.

Room Tip: Attico rooms are very very expensive but amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penmaenmawr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#21 of 37 in Soller
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#10 of 37 in Soller
664 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
565 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Soller
Gran Hotel Soller
#18 of 37 in Soller
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendido Hotel

Address: urbanizacion Es Traves 5, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soller
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range: $168 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplendido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Esplendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendido Hotel Soller, Majorca
Hotel Esplendido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing