We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 for views - even better in reality”
Review of Esplendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplendido Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Is it not refreshing when - for once - two hotel truisms are found not to be true?

1) The best views are never from your room

Well, at Esplendido, not only do you get the fabulous views from any room so labelled, but there are generous communal sea-facing terraces for those who pick garden-facing rooms. We absolutely loved not only the views, but also the sensation of falling asleep and waking up to sound of the waves lapping the shore outside.

2) The better the view, the less you can trust the rest on offer

This hotel delivers on all other aspects, at least those that matter to me: food and drink, service and key facilities: pools, gym etc - none of us tried the spa, so cannot comment.
We lunched, dined and had drinks several times during our time at the hotel and were never disappointed.

The crowd when we were there: mix of well-behaved Brits, Scandis and Germans in their 30s, 40s and 50s, some with their children, some without.
The few critical reviews I have seen have focused on the disturbing presence of children...and those reviewers are right: if the mere presence of children unnerves you on your hotel stay, go somewhere else, preferably where they are banned!
For the rest of us, if you can take the odd bread-crumb on the carpet below your table as you have a breakfast at 10am and drinks/dinner after 8pm, chances are you will have a perfectly tranquil and pleasurable experience, enjoying the fabulous setting....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ex-expat-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Esplendido Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 705 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

we r here now room 426 excellent rooms. friendly staff especially barden???(not sure of his name on recepcion....he was excellent. parking a nightmare on arrival....was our 10th anniversary asked for high floor good views and we got it..would recommend. hope to return maybe march as they close nov 23rd till march...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We've stayed in the Esplendido again and since our last visit they have upgraded the facilities and now have a lovely indoor pool and improved spa area. There is also now a bigger adult only pool although it was freezing cold when we were there in September. Worth it of course for more of that amazing view. And really that is what this hotel is all about - the view. If you can afford to treat yourself then one of the attico rooms is out of this world with balconies on both sides to get the sun and a terrace that is big enough to live on overlooking the sea. The rest of the hotel is good but it lacks a bit of atmosphere. The staff are efficient and courteous but you don't feel like they want to get to know you. Breakfast has a great selection of healthy stuff and again the amazing view, but the hot selection leaves a bit to be desired.

Room Tip: Attico rooms are very very expensive but amazing
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penmaenmawr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This renovated hotel is situated on the pedestrian walkway on the water. The tram, which is very charming, passes by during the day.Tables lining the front of hotel were great for people watching and the food was good. View from the large balcony framed the horseshoe shaped port perfectly. Two lounge chairs with ottomans made this a great place to drink coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon. The staff was professional and friendly. Breakfast was included and delicious; making me a tray with coffee to take back to the room was not a problem.
Room and bathroom were nicely decorated, but a bit small.
Port de Soller is a quiet town, with little night life. This was fine for us as we had just left Madrid and Barcelona and needed a rest! We travelled in October and had perfect weather for site seeing and outdoor dining. Rented a car and drove to Valldemossa. Lovely old town. Was glad my fiancé did the driving as the heights were dizzying and not much in guard rails.
I can imagine this place could easily be overrun with little kids in summer. Was grateful it was off season, but was still awakened by children's voices and running in halls. And, had I been unlucky enough to have the next room full of the little darlings, my balcony might not have been so pleasant.

Room Tip: Upgrade to balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieLombardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

What an excellent location, on the seafront in a lovely old port with plenty of bars & restaurants within easy walking distance. The tram to Soller passes the front door. The hotel is spotlessly clean, staff are friendly, free wifi, very good restaurant, free spa. Two pools, one of which is reserved for adults has a fantastic view over the harbour. Port de Soller is great for families or couples. There is a good beach and plenty to do.

Room Tip: You don't need a room with a balcony or terrace as there are communal terraces on each floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Seaviews rooms have spectauclar views of Soller Bay, although a little small. The hotel is Scandinavian chic rather that traditional Spanish, but none the worse for that. Excellent service throughout.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WilliamR682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Title sums it up. Beautiful views across the bay in a stunning waterside location. This Hotel looks recently refurbished to an excellent standard and just oozes no screams someones passion for people. Privately run and brilliantly staffed by young good looking guys and girls who all know their jobs. Nothing was too much trouble while we stayed with the exception of no one knowing what Porridge was which was funny. The spa was small but friendly. The food was very well presented and plenty of choice from either breakfast lunch or dinner. I would highly recommend the hotel for any one who wants to escape. And for the Cyclists Dan a family member will act as the perfect Guide/trainer.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the bay but the ones with their own terrace are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99PMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#24 of 37 in Soller
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Es Port Hotel
Es Port Hotel
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Minister
Hotel Minister
#5 of 8 in Port de Soller
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendido Hotel

Address: urbanizacion Es Traves 5, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soller
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range: $218 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplendido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esplendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendido Hotel Soller, Majorca
Hotel Esplendido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing