We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Esplendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplendido Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited this hotel for a week in May and very much enjoyed the experience and level of service. It centred nicely on the Port, an easy walk to all the restaurants. On the first day the hotel were able to get me a ticket, (free of charge), for an RCD Mallorca game, you have to arrange your own transport but that's was fine. They have a large collection of DVDs which is useful since apart from dining there's not so much to do in the Port. The 2 outside pools are ok, one will be swamped with kids but there is another less used, strangely although called the Thermal pool is was at 17 degrees. Not really warm enough to swim. Our room was 326 and had brilliant views, the room was a little small but still very smart, business like, with a large balcony. Breakfast is all that you would want to have although the bacon and sausages were not kept warm enough for my liking – sort that out  Once point to note is that the car-park is 5 mins walk and public and is 4 Euro per day and it’s a pain that you have to remember to pay and display every day. We got a fine on the last day and didn't have time to pay but the hotel paid it for us on our return. Thanks Monica and Toni for that! Super friendly and courteous staff who obviously enjoy their job. Top Marks (and we are not so easy to please!), recommend you go ahead and book

Room Tip: Room 326 is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    112
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
193
348
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

It's difficult to know where to start complimenting this place, but the simplest way to sum up what makes your stay so enjoyable at the Esplendido is that everything is so EASY! Nothing is too much trouble for the amazing staff, who seem to be there just when you need them, but never around when you want to be alone. Having been to the Portixol a few times as new parents we decided to try the child friendly Esplendido this time. It's even better! The toddler pool is PERFECT. Just the right size and you can watch the kids while you have a relaxing drink on the sunbeds. We also ate here for lunch at the tables right by the pool while our little one splashed about. Tons of sunbeds on different levels around the pool areas. There is also a heavenly adult only infinity pool on the upper level of the pool area if you want to relax away from kids. Steps lead directly from the pool to the Spa on the 2nd floor - a DREAM of a place. Finnish dry sauna, Turkish wet room, and warm Jacuzzi pool. And once you feel done with hot and cold have a glass of fruit water or a tea while you float away on the water beds. Endless towels and a pile of fresh sheets for your water beds. So relaxing. The breakfast is so good. Everything you could want. Hot food is just a buffet, and some people don't like this, but we loved the Tortilla, small spicy sausages and thin crispy bacon. We didn't eat much of it though as the fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, fresh breads, cereals, cheese and cold meats was more than enough for us. The bar is really nice, well mixed cocktails, lovely wine, great draught beer. The food is good, but it is not outstanding - very fresh though and good ingredients. The tram going past outside all day and evening is so enjoyable to watch and our room was great - good size and a bed to die for. I love the fact that they give you individual quilts instead of a double, so comfortable! But I think it is the spaces themselves that make the hotel so wonderful though. The 2 terraces outside the bistro and bar, and the covered terrace all overlooking the port. The outside terrace for breakfast on the first floor is such a special place to eat. The showers on the 5th floor with the view of the bay. The communal balconies on 2nd and 3rd floor for people without room terraces. But what makes this place so special is that view. Wherever you are in the hotel there ALWAYS seems to be a window framing that beautiful view of the bay. The Port is always in sight and it is spectacular! We will always find a way to come back to The Esplendido every year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bodey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Esplendido is a large hotel, placed almost in the centre of Soller Bay looking west through the entrance to Puerto Soller harbour to the open Mediterranean. Its position is undeniably good, on an almost traffic free road with the regular tram service passing the front door. The best rooms are of course on the front with individual terraces but offer little privacy between each one. There are other sea view rooms with just small balconies or nothing more than a window facing the sea.

But all this comes at a price. In May, a sea view standard terrace room will set you back almost €300 per day including breakfast. Breakfast is good, a wide selection to choose from but you wont get a hot one! There is bacon, sausage etc but none of it kept at a sensible temperature.


However, considering the cost, the rooms are quite small as are the bathrooms. Why someone decided to put the plughole in the bath right where you stand for a shower I couldn't figure out and the shower head so heavy that if you dropped it on your foot, a trip to the local Red Cross would be required! Most of the expense seems to be lavished on a whole host of bathroom delicacies for improving your complexion, skin texture or the shine of your hair!! Your neighbour's plumbing can also be heard clearly! One commendable feature was the provision of coat hooks by the entrance door, unheard of in most hotels! Use of the safe, wi-fi and a coffee machine were included in the extravagance.



Overall, it was a bit clinical. Nearly everything painted white, even the staff all wore white uniforms so you could be forgiven for thinking you might be in an asylum! The female staff were all very helpful and friendly but their male counterparts generally very aloof and appeared to be totally uninterested in your requirements other than what they were programmed to do.



Basically, this hotel lacks character so we moved to Es Port around the corner where that's a different story!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LincolnshireNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a great short stay in this hotel last year and booked a few months ago to come back for the weekend. Last year I had a sea view room with a terrace and I had asked for the same. What a disappointment to find out that they had booked me in what they call a "balcony" view which is really a French Balcony (a glorified window!). As there was a large party staying on the floor with the terraced rooms, I suspect my early booking was moved to a different room... On the flip side, they were helpful in assisting me when looking at another hotel. In short be sure to absolutely confirm what it is you are being booked into - "same as last year" unfortunately will not do. Extremely disappointing overall. Maybe next year!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Linne32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Esplendido is the kind of place you know you will come back to. it was my 3rd visit there but our 1st time with a baby and it confirmed again what is so special about this hotel - it caters for everyone, no matter what their needs. What makes it so great? Is it the setting, overlooking the sea? The amazing food? The beautiful rooms? The lovely pool? The fact that everyone else there is from all over the place (not just Brits which is often depressing on holiday). I think it's the staff, how everyone there is helpful and friendly and the ethos of calm and wanting to help means you are not just in a beautiful place but you have a wonderful time too. We can't wait to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drummerhoff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been here three time now. Twice without children and once with them. We had such a great time. It is stylish, laid back and high quality. The pools in the terraces above the hotel have gorgeous views of the bay over the tiled roof of the hotel. Even the hallways of the hotel smell good. There are a variety of restaurants within paces of the hotel and the hotel restaurant and room service are delicious. Room service on the terrace of our room at sunset is always a treat but when we were with the kids it was more fun to eat at the restaurant on the sidewalk so our son could have running races with the other children on the boardwalk. The antique electric tram that runs past the hotel every 12 mins or so put my 2 yr old "train mad"son in 7th heaven.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are pretty but the view over the bay with a terrace is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhistlerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A superb hotel in a great location. We had a beautiful room overlooking the bay and couldn't fault the food and service. Very convenient for a short stroll to to the main area or a longer walk in the hills. The tram going by was charming - more so after we'd been on it to go to Soller itself and then on to Palma by train. The kids enjoyed the pool and the adults' infinity pool was also good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank member_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#26 of 37 in Soller
393 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Minister
Hotel Minister
#4 of 8 in Port de Soller
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendido Hotel

Property: Esplendido Hotel
Address: urbanizacion Es Traves 5, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soller
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplendido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esplendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendido Hotel Soller, Majorca
Hotel Esplendido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing