We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending to our trip- authentic paella and great atmosphere and service”
Review of Casa Alvaro

Casa Alvaro
Ranked #19 of 167 Restaurants in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Alvaro House Is A Place Where You Can Enjoy A Relaxing Atmosphere And A Variety Of Tapas And Rice Wine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to our trip- authentic paella and great atmosphere and service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to casa Alvaro on our last night in Soller, wanting paella. The restaurant has a great atmosphere- cool artwork, rustic feel and a good vibe. The chef not only spoke to us, but accommodated my need for vegetarian paella and my husbands desire for traditional paella. He recommended wine for both and spoke to us for a while about his background, living in other parts of Spain. The food was delicious! We sat outside in a charming little area- the restaurant is set back from the street, in an alley, but charming with traditional street lighting. It was a great setting. The experience felt more authentic and less touristy than other spots in Soller. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amykbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    122
    43
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Soller by far”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved Casa Alvaro so much, we went two of three nights we stayed in Soller. What a wonderful and delicious experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessbess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is by far the most authentic restaurant in the area!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have been searching all day for a restaurant for my family, who will be joining me in Soller in a week. I was so pleased to find Casa Alvaro. I sampled food at other places in the area. I was disappointed with the quality and overpriced menu. I was surprised to find Casa Alvaro down a little side street. Alvaro, the chef, was kind enough to come to the table and help me make a choice between the variety of tapas. Each tapa was EXCELLENT and the paella was also delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaLifeinIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The place to go for tapas!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great tapas in a great environment. We sat at a table right on the narrow little street in front of the restaurante. The service was very personal and the chef came out to our table and recommended us to taste different things and everything tasted fantastic. We will certainly come back next time we visit Soller.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinN852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tapas at its best”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a hidden gem! We wandered off the square one night to see what options we might find for dinner. We liked the look of Casa Alvaro and booked an al fresco table, but when we returned there had been a double booking. No trouble as the wonderful chef, manager & owner (Alvaro?) set about resolving the issue and brought out another table especially for us. (Tip: very limited out door seating, so do book ahead if that's your preference)

The tapas menu is extensive and every dish we sampled was absolutely delicious (a number of vegetarian options too, which are not abundant in the area). The waitress suggested a very reasonably priced wine to us and was quick to say if we didn’t like it she would change it, no problem. There was no need; it was every bit as delicious as the food.

The waiter and waitress both offered exemplary service which added to our dining experience. Alvaro himself is clearly passionate in both his work and his establishment; he took time to engage with us and personally delivered some of the dishes to our table. My absolute favourite restaurant in the area and reasonably priced (50euro for two inc wine). I implore you to visit – it is truly fantastic. The only downside was that we didn’t discover it until the last night of our holiday… but now we have another great reason to return to Soller one day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonBrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Alvaro also viewed

 
Port de Soller, Soller
 

Been to Casa Alvaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing