We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Having just has a fabulous 3 nights in a different part of the island, we arrived full of anticipation at the Ca's Xorc. The gardens/terraces are really beautiful with staggering views. This is the only plus with this hotel. Our room was badly decorated, with out of keeping ugly bits of furniture (mentioned in another review) and lots of draping, dust gathering unnecessary muslin. Hideous faux Victorian light fittings, a tiny dinosaur of a television, horrible small bathroom which needed to be dark as if you opened the shutters outside the small window you could be seen from a table on the terrace should people be sitting there... Yes we had a terrace with a lovely view but it was NOT worth the top rate price tag! Hard mattress, nice bed linen. All staff very unfriendly (except waiters at dinner). Dinner was ridiculously expensive (19Euro starters/28Euro main course, 12Euro green salad!!!) which is all very well if you are spending one night here but if you don't want to drive down the windy roads to find somewhere else to eat there is no other option. Which is not good business and disappointing. Breakfast was a hideous selection of plastic meats and micro chopped fruit and no menu anywhere mentioning the eggs supposedly on offer.... Basically this hotel has ideas above its station. Grumpy service, terrible room decor, too expensive for what it is etc. We most definitely won't be back or recommending it.

Room Tip: Top rate category not really necessary.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MisterPug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 202 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place has great views, beautiful swimming pool, amazing food and lovely staff! Attended a wedding here in July 2011, the attention to detail was superb!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DanielGriffithsPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Beautiful place for dinner! Good food and a very romantic setting with a stunning view over Porto soller! Sit under the olive trees and enjoy the view, the service is great, food definitely creative, above average! (and then I'm being hard, I enjoy michelin star restaurant) definitely worth a visit! Book ahead, only 12 tables.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaforsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel setting is spectacular and the gardens are magnificent. There is a beautiful pool as well. Our superior room (No2) at EU250 had a lovely view, but the furniture was incongruent, and contained some seriously jarring pieces. We had a small bathroom with shower only. We loved hearing the clonking of the sheep bells at night - that was our personal highlight.
Then along came the imperious owner. She changed everything. You do not want to tangle with her. We were ripped EU40 for four, 30 second local phone calls down the road to restaurants. The owner made some excuse about her service provider, and said she 'would investigate'. Stupid me - I paid it just to get away from her presence. We were due to return a week later, but could not face coming back to such a mean-spirited vibe. The food was decent in terms of quality, but in totally in keeping with the hotel motto - charge the suckers the maximum, and give them the very mininum possible. This was reflected even in the industrial grade toilet paper provided in the rooms.
Caveat! If you decide to go there, make very sure you do not change your travel plans. The cancellation policy is particularly onerous and you will be forced to cough up. The other hotels we stayed at in Deia and Soller were both flexible and generous. (Hotel Es Moli and Can'ai were far more pleasant in terms of guest experience, and good value for money.)

Room Tip: Room 2: lovely view. But shower only, and contains some ugly pieces of incongruous furniture.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank igorbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We arrived full of anticipation,having negociated the steep driveway.However service was very poor, we had to climb two steep lots of steps carrying our own cases to an Attic room ( from which we were moved the next day) . The breakfast was average, with the maid pushing behind our table to a unit to start laying tables for lunch-which was still hours away. A 1950 style small TV which did not have a workable English channel.No plugs in the sink, & when asked were told they did not have any & we were only the second people to have asked for one. The management were none existant & we felt totally ignored. We left with no goodbyes & YES carrying our own cases. The food was over priced & nothing special. However the gardens were lovely.We paid over £1000 for three nights including one dinner-silly us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gladiator01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have read all the reviews of this hotel, good and bad. Agree with the good but as for the bad, I did not encounter any of those problems.

Staff were perfect, did everything for us. Food amazing and reasonably priced for what it was. All the facilities were amazing. I honestly don't think I could ask for more.

We did have a deluxe room but again, for what we had, it was more than reasonable. If you want tranquility, rest and recuperation with the ability to go looking for more life within a short distance, this is the hotel for you. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in late April using the Mr and Mrs Smith/Times 2 nights for the price of 1. We chose one of the cheaper rooms, described as 'interior' and this was pretty dingy and close to staff area so there was unwanted noise in the mornings after I had expressly asked Mr and Mrs Smith to convey to hotel owners that we wanted a quiet room.

We were required to take dinner on 2 nights as part of the offer and this was forcefully reiterated upon arrival by the owner(?). Beware that the menu is pretty expensive with starters 19 euros and main courses around 25 euros with smallish portions. The food was OK - well presented but rich for our tastes. Drinks prices are extortionate with 4 aperitifs between us costing 37.50 euros which was quite shocking when we got the bill.

The attitude of the owners all seemed a bit mean with the inclusion of breakfast on 2 of the nights only which we were not aware of until we checked in. The breakfasts were good though with a varied choice of local produce.

Our beds were turned-down on only 2 of the 4 nights which puzzled us. A totally facile service but I wonder if this was again because of the 2for1 offer.

We just got the distinct feeling that owners hadn't bought into the offer with the right attitude and being cynical, one could feel that their intension was to recoup lost revenue via reducing the service and mandatory dinner etc.

If you are intending to go outside of the summer months then the pool is not really useable as it is not heated. I did go in for a dip but jumped out quickly.

We didn't have a car so caught the old train to Soller and then walked to and from Soller which probably takes an hour or so one-way. The location is stunning but without a car it felt like our options were limited for getting around.

The staff were pleasant and attentive but I would not recommend this hotel/ restaurant. C'as Xorc really doesn't offer value for money and had we have not used the 2-for-1 offer then I would have come away feeling seriously ripped-off.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MrP186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soller
2.2 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
856 reviews
2.5 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
1.8 mi away
Finca Ca's Sant
Finca Ca's Sant
#9 of 37 in Soller
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Soller
Gran Hotel Soller
#17 of 37 in Soller
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
453 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc

Address: Camino Can Deia Km 56. 1, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Soller
#12 Family Hotel in Soller
#14 Luxury Hotel in Soller
#16 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range: $243 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where old world charm meets modern day luxury Lying on a gentle slope between the picturesque towns of Soller and Deia, Ca's Xorc Boutique Hotel & Restaurant brings together two centuries old farmhouses to provide its guests with the perfect combination of old world charm and modern day luxury. Nestled between luscious olive groves and fragrant lemon trees, Ca's Xorc is the ideal locale to relax and enjoy the very best of Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cas Xorc Hotel
Cas Xorc Soller
Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing