We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious meal”

Cal Bisbe Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 163 Restaurants in Soller
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sa Tafona restaurant is part of the Hotel Ca´l Bisbe. As the residence of Bishop Nadal at the beginning of the 19th Century, Ca’l Bisbe is now restoring its historical heritage to offer the quality, comfort and personalised style that is so important today. The restaurant has magnificent views of the mountainous countryside of Artà village. In the evening, meals are offered in the charming dining room, or during spring and summer on the beautiful terrace surrounded by the greenery of the Ca’l Bisbe gardens. Although the restaurant specialises in Mallorcan cooking, it also offers grilled meats and vegetables prepared with fresh local produce. There is an extensive wine list of Spanish and particularly Mallorcan wines.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious meal”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

While staying at Ca'l Bisbe, my husband and I ate at their restaurant one evening.

We tried the very reasonably priced 5-course taster menu. It was to die for!! Service was impeccable, each course was described as it was placed down, and the waiter very attentive throughout the meal. The atmosphere was relaxed as we sat by the poolside.

The food itself was delicious, every course was a treat. We still talk about how tasty this meal was in fact.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant to other visitors to Soller. It's a real treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth_Sharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    21
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sublime!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The highlight of our weekend in Soller was the special €35 five course taster menu we had at the Ca’l Bisbe hotel restaurant. Dinner was served in the attractive covered terrace next to the pool and gardens, this and our table - subtly lit, with crisp white linen and sparkling tableware – created a great first impression. The staff were knowledgeable, courteous, and achieved the difficult balance of being attentive without being distracting – very professional and a real pleasure to be served by them.

The food was sublime…. it both looked and tasted amazing. In particular the 3 middle courses (see photo of menu) were exceptional and the accompanying sauces delicious with real depth of flavour. Each course worked well individually, but combined as a whole with faultless service and a relaxed ambience, resulted in a memorable experience.

We visited a couple of other very good restaurants whilst in Soller and have reviewed these separately, but for us the Ca’l Bisbe topped them all, and would be the first place we came to if visiting Soller again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rp0263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Soller!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came here on a Sunday as many other places seemed to be shut or fully booked. The waiter we spoke to was very helpful and explained that on a Sunday they do a less refined menu than during the weekdays but that you get three courses for 25 euros. As the menu looked ok for us, we decided to eat there and I was very glad we did as the food was really very good.
We had a little amuse bouche of a fish croquette with quince paste served in a sardine can which was quite witty and delicious.
The starter was a choice of smoked salmon salad or a courgette bruschetta with feta cheese, mains were sea bream with black noodles and the puddings were strawberries and white chocolate but not as you would expect them (it was all delicious).
The waiter made good recommendations for wine and even gave us some Mallorcan hierbas (an aniseedy liquer) on the house (it was made to a family recipe and was the best hierbas we had on holiday).
The setting was lovely and tranquil as we sat outside near the pool and it was lovely to see the sun going down as we ate.
A very enjoyable meal and next time we go to Soller we will definitely book in for the tasting menu as the quality of the food was very good (even when it was "less sophisticated"!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HorshamBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“went there twice”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

although we would not normally eat in a hotel that we were not staying in we decided to give this a go. On both nights the food and staff were excellent. The tasting menu was very good value

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnleyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great service, lovely food.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is in a gorgeous setting beneath the mountains and is gorgeous as the sun is going down. The service is very good, which we have not experienced everywhere in Sóller/ Port de Sóller.

Food is nice - you do have to choose from a set menu of sorts - but that's fine. The food is nice.

Would definitely recommend heading here if you're staying nearby. We took the tram in from the port.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bepeaceful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cal Bisbe Restaurant also viewed

Soller, Majorca
Soller, Majorca
 

Been to Cal Bisbe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing