We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Majorcan food”
Review of Restaurant El Guia

Restaurant El Guia
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #61 of 195 Restaurants in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The restaurant, one of the oldest in Soller (since 1860), is recommended and recognized by several generations (grandparents, children and grandchildren). Classic cut, simple, elaborated with correct and native materials. Fresh fish, paellas and typical Mallorcan dishes cooked in the classic way. It is mentioned in many publications, including the Michelin Guide.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

The restaurant offered excellent local fish exquisitely prepared, also many typical dishes. Service is outstanding. Prices are reasonable and a great value for the type of food you’ll get there. Definitely it must go on a trip to Soller

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TataJ628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventurer71277, Director General at Restaurant El Guia, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Dear TataJ,

we are very happy that you enjoyed eating in our traditional Restaurant. We also feel very strongly about fresh fish from our lovely Mediterranean coast!

Thank you very much for your recommendation and please visit us again (your seat awaits!).

Lluis O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

For a true Mallorca experience. The deco might be outdated but still very clean and enjoyable. The service is perfect and the food based on traditional Mallorca dishes. Will return!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank speedybkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventurer71277, Director General at Restaurant El Guia, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear speedybkk, thank you so much for the highest rating and for taking the time to share your thoughts on our Restaurant. We are very pleased you ejoyed both the service and the food! We would love to welcome you back! Best wishes, Hotel-Restaurant El Guía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

This is a very "down to basics" restaurant. Based on traditional cooking it boils down (pun intended) to very basic cooking, presentation and serving. Solid platform of good ingredients make sure your'e not disappointed - even if this resto lacks refinement.
And, it's not a point they make - refinement. It's just solid good old fashioned cooking with good ingredients. They do fish and shellfish especially well here.

I had a lotte (monkfish): ample serving with two big cuts of lotte, practically swimming in a well down-boiled shellfish sauce/juice. Very tight shellfish taste. Simple, but very, very tasty. The guys (and gals I hope) in the kitchen know their skills.
My wife opted for the Sole. And indeed - it was a genuine sole (at a bargain price) meunière - although accompanied by a sauce (shouldn't be), but still very genuine and perfectly cooked.
Highly recommended for a down-to-basics experience!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventurer71277, Director General at Restaurant El Guia, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear Vierdank,

thank you very much for choosing to have your dinner with us and for sharing your experience.

We are very please to see that you had a traditional courses evening with us. Our staff, chefs and waiters genuinely care and strive to provide the best customer experience to all our guests, and we are very please to see that they deliver a very good standard.

Once again thank you very much for the kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Warm regards,

Lluis O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

前台小姐姐很亲切的。 但是因为是家庭旅馆,有的时候需要等等。服务是真的好。可惜房间实在是太小了,我们块头不大,不知道大块头的北方人怎么办。。。真的很小,我们住303。 特别奇怪的是浴室和走道很大,感觉有点压抑呢。也许做成单人间会好一点。晚餐很棒,我吃了和尚鱼。考虑到语言,我们学会了一些简单的西班牙词语。啊,还玩了蒸煮自己,这个不是很习惯。很推荐。The family are very kind. However since it is a hotel run by a local family, sometimes people need to wait a period of time. Service is really top level. The room is a little bit tiny. We are not super big, size M in European standard. (joking... We wondering how can XL size people fit into the room. we live on the third floor. The most strange thing is the bathroom is super big... never mind. maybe it should be designed in this way. We had a great dinner. I ate monk fish and we learned some simple Spanish words. Sauna is great. Feel like being cooked. definitely worth a recommendation.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danqingy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventurer71277, Director General at Restaurant El Guia, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear danqingy2015,

Many thanks for your review, and we are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

About your comment on the rooms size, our hotel is opened since 1880 (the oldest one from Sóller and one of the oldest in Mallorca), and even we have refurbished all our rooms recently, trying to keep the ancient atmosphere, sometimes is not easy to make some refurbishments in an old building. We have to adapt to the hotel structure and we did our best to do so ;-).

We are looking forward your next visit !

Kind regards,

Lluís Rullan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Traditional hotel restaurant with staff who have been well trained in waiter service.
We ate here tonight. Food is home cooked and full of flavour. First visited as a hotel guest in 2000. It was wonderful to be here again. Thanks

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventurer71277, Director General at Restaurant El Guia, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Good morning Mme. Barbara,

thank you for choosing to dine with us again!

It is an absolute pleasure to read your review. We are so pleased that you found our restaurant welcoming and that you enjoyed both the food and service. Our service genuinely cares very deeply about each and every guest and strive to provide the best customer experience to all.

Thank you once again for the great comments and we really hope you will decide to visit us again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Lluis O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant El Guia also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant El Guia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing