We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming old style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Guia

El Guia
Ranked #68 of 153 Restaurants in Soller
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming old style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

A charming old style Mallorcan hotel and dining experience. The specials really are what they focus on and do well. The service was delightful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CotswoldBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We were attracted to thosvrestuarant due to the Michelin rating. However, we should have first consulted trip advisor. We'd agree with others assessments that this was a strange restaurant. We were one of two tables dining. Opting for 4 adult €20 a head set menu and the waiter's recommendation for 2 children plus 2 bottles of wine came to €180.

The food was ok but the value and atmosphere was terrible. I wouldn't return.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Independence101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One for Victoria Wood?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Agree totally with previous reviewer, "joanpatkelly" - I couldn't put it better! Our evening experience was equally grisly/hilarious. The food was unremarkable which is more than you could say about the service which was just embarrassing. The two waiters were constantly vying to fill our glass, move a dish, push a knife around the table - anything to keep themselves from total boredom. One of them yelled out of the window at regular intervals - presumably to his mate in the alley below. We ate on a Friday evening in October and there was one other couple eating at the far end of this huge and soulless dining room. We got through the ordeal in 50 minutes and were SO glad to get out of there and have a coffee in the main square. John Cleese would have had a field day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One for Gordon Ramsey to dust off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

In all my time using Tripadvisor this is the first occassion that I needed to say something negative. Having spent a holiday in Soller 2 years ago I was amazed how many people in our hotel recommended this restaurant. Everyone told us it was a little strange but the food made up for it. We looked in a few nights but as it was always empty, decided to bye pass.

Last week on our return to Soller I met a coulple who again referred to the restaurant and said it was worth a visit. Again they mentioned that it was a little strange. So off we went and sure enough at 20.00hrs there was only one lone sole eating in a restaurant with a capacity for at least 60 people. Food acceptable - even though there were various option unavailable. No atmosphere even when we finished there were only 6 people dining. That was at 21:00hrs as the unemployed waiters were overly efficient and were ready to serve main course just as you were about to finish your starter. What a rush - I felt it was like a business lunch and they were trying to get me back to work on time. Each time we drank the wine or water the waiter attended our table and topped our glasses up. Very frustrating and like as if they wanted you out for another sitting.

In summary food acceptable but over priced compared to others in Soller. Very uncomfortable with waiters hovering all the time and so silent that you needed to whisper to avoid been heard.

I got the feeling that people may have been recommending this restaurant similar to passing on a chain letter. In other word given that they had to go through this torture felt someone else should as well.

I would love Gordon Ramsey to take it on as a project and to see if he could knock some life into it.

Avoid if you have any sense.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanpatkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classic Mallorcan cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

traditional dining with an attentive and informed waiting staff, friendly hotel manager

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Guia also viewed

 

Been to El Guia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing