We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cal Lloro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cal Lloro Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Pollenca
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fantastic little hotel ! Stayed with my wife from 12th to 16th July in room 3 . Great room overlokking the square with lovely balcony. Nicolas and Andrea looked after us during our stay and were both brilliant. Lovely breakfast , anything you wanted really. Meals at lunchtime and evening were very well cooked and presented. This hotel is as near perfect as you will find. We will return very soon . Steve & Kim

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooks square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tombanellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have visited Pollenca Old Town on many occasions staying in both private villas and the small hotels.

This year we spent a week in a villa and a week at Cal Lloro Hotel and were absolutely delighted that we chose this hotel.

The hotel is ideally located right in the square. Although there is no pool they have a sun trap terrace at the top of the hotel which is really comfortable.

The rooms were exceptionally clean (and we are very fussy) and the maid does not start work until 10.30 so there was no disturbance which enabled us to have a good sleep. Breakfast was by far the best we have had at the hotels in Pollenca Old Town. They are really flexible with you and on many occasions when we slept in they still served us to our table with a selection of croissants, meats, cheeses, yogurt, Jam, wonderful coffee (one of the best in the square) and fresh orange juice. Every day they ask if you would like eggs cooking. Other hotels we have stayed in Pollenca have been self service.

The team two Nicholas, Andrea were brilliant throughout and made us feel really welcome. They surprised me with cava and chocolates in the room on my birthday. They went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for our stay.

We will be back for the weekend again in September.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this charming hotel in May. We were touring around Majorca and stopped for some lunch at the hotel.The service we received from waitress/manager Vanessa impressed us so much that we decided to stay in the hotel and explore Pollenca for a couple of days.
We were very happy with our decision. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a view over the front square. This proved to be very fortunate as we looked over a wonderful array of flowers on Saturday when the weekly market takes place. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the owner gave us a brief history of the hotel which has been in the family for generations and showed off, with obvious pride, some photos and furniture which were family heirlooms.
I see that the vast majority of reviews posted here are positive and am totally puzzled by the negative review posted last August. It is very strange that anyone would stay in a hotel which had so many 'problems',especially as they did not seem to raise them with management - particularly as they say they are experienced world travellers - but even stranger that they would checkout of a hotel without paying, which I thought was illegal, and then complain that the hotel took the money which was due to them.
This is in total contrast with our experience.Vanessa whom I mentioned earlier is one of the best representatives of the tourism business we have ever met. She is fluent in half a dozen languages, is unfailingly smiling and helpful and made our stay a real pleasure. The owner is also gracious and fluency in a language is not always necessary to communicate a welcome to guests.
Overall we can recommend this small personal hotel - it certainly gave us some good memories of Pollenca to take home.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel face on to the square and have little balconies from which to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goggsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just got back from three night break. I think the previous reviewer must have been staying in a different hotel because I cannot fault this hotel. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting - the rooms are spotlessly clean, breakfast was gorgeous and the staff were lovely. Cannot say enough nice things and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bevid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July 2012. Good rooms, great service really friendly.

There was fruit and chilled water waiting in our room when we arrived.

We would recommend this hotel. It is right in the centre of Pollenca old town which is beautiful. No pool or beach if that's what you are looking for.

If you have a hire and want to explore this gorgeous island it is a perfect option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallDadTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked our stay after checking for a quiet northern location in Mallorca on the internet. We were not looking for luxury, just a pleasant small hotel with a family-run restaurant where we could eat in the neighbourhood of the hotel. We were not disappointed.

From the moment of our arrival, following a harrowing drive from Palma airport in a hire car with no water in the screen washers, and finding ourselves utterly lost in the winding streets of Pollenca, we were made most welcome. We were shown to our room (room 5) on floor two, overlooking the square by a helpful young man whose English was rather less helpful than his ability to make us feel completely at home. No pressure, just polite conversation. And an invitation to come down for dinner at a table in front of the hotel entrance. The evening meal had already been ordered in advance by courtesy of the charming hotel manageress, who was fully versed in the niceties and consideration of her guests which is so often missing in the hotel trade.

Our room exactly met the description on the website. Traditional wooden furniture, a giant double bed with comfortable thick mattress, plenty of wardrobe space for two, a set of windows opening onto the square below, and a modern, clean bathroom with a tub and shower facility. There was air-conditioning, adjustable within the room, but if you are not used to this convenience, you may feel it wiser to switch it off if you have problems sleeping. We also switched off the minibar during the night, as it did tend to hum loudly.

The staff could not have been more helpful. The young lady who took care of the restaurant was courteous, polite and a real professional. She spoke English, French and a few words of German, but above all she was always smiling and enthusiastic. Listen to her advice if you want to try a local dish: the "catch of the day" - fresh fish prepared by the Argentinian chef - was a delight. And a different menu every evening. If your appetite does not run to a full three-course dinner, you can always select one or two tapas dishes which are mouth-wateringly fresh. Try a plate of gambas, giant prawns grilled with a light garlic flavouring. Wine is served by the glass of by the bottle and local red and white wines are both cheap and delicate.

A word on local markets and customs is always to be had from the anxious-to-please manageress, who has work experience in Holland and in Germany. She has an additional role with the Mallorcan tourist board and is always delighted to help with almost any question.

Remember that there is very little water in Mallorca. So do not try to drink the tap water, but keep a bottle of mineral water to hand. Do not expect to be able to take a shower or run a large bath: the pressure of water is just not adequate. So take this into account.

Be sure to reserve your evening so that you can pass the time at your table on the square, watching the passing visitors and locals as you eat. Take your time. Make this a real holiday. Talk to the staff and enjoy their attempts to make you feel entirely at ease and comfortably welcome. Just relax and listen to the strolling musicians who play each evening in the square.

Prices? the room rate has remained fairly steady and is very good value compared with other pricier offerings in Mallorca. Restaurant prices are reasonable, but do remember to take up the offer of a 10% discount for meals taken by hotel residents. And check your bills before you leave, just to be sure. Or pay each evening to avoid a possible oversight by the waitress.

We loved it. And we have booked for another week in May of next year. Very few hotels in my experience can live up to this promise. Well done!

Room Tip: None of the rooms are noisy. We had room 5, overlooking the town square. A gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed there with my couple for 3 days and at first we were already impressed as the hotel looked all beautifully renewed from the outside and the inside.
The owner personally welcomed us to his hotel and although his English isn't the finest he managed to compensate it with his charm.
Then the friendly owner took us to our rooms which had a beautiful view of the main square. He recommended some nice places to visit and some hidden spots that no guide will tell you about. The breakfast was nice but maybe I would have added some typical Ensaimadas.
We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was great.
We will definitely go back there soon!!
Thanks For a Magical Weekend!

Room Tip: The rooms with a Balcony are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NelsonD_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Sant Jordi
Hotel Son Sant Jordi
#5 of 20 in Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Son Brull Hotel & Spa
Son Brull Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Hostal Hotel de Interior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Desbrull
Hotel Desbrull
#4 of 20 in Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Juma
Juma
#2 of 20 in Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#11 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Lloro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Lloro Hotel

Property: Cal Lloro Hotel
Address: Calle Antonio Maura 38, 07460 Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cal Lloro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a privileged location, in the market square and in a pedestrian area, Ca’l Lloro is one of the town’s historical buildings which has been completely renovated. The hotel is a perfect blend between old tradition and modern style in a unique way, where every detail has been taken into account with the utmost standards of comfort. Ca’l Lloro is a familiar and cozy hotel which offers a personal, exclusive treatment to all its clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cal Lloro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Lloro Hotel Pollenca, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing