We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Its Great Reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Son Brull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Deserves Its Great Reputation”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is an excellent hotel which deserves its ratings and its reputation. The building is beautiful outside and extremely stylish inside and it is in a wonderful location. The staff, whilst discrete are friendly and helpful. It is often the attention to deatil that makes a good hotel and here the details transformed a comfortable stay into a luxurious one.
The restaurant is expensive and even half board will set you back quite a bit but it is excellent with, once again, little surprises throughout the meal to keep your interest, if not your waistline.
The management seem genuinely interested in their guests and determined that they have the best possible stay. Because they have set their own bar so high, however, little niggles, which in any other hotel you would be inclined to tolerate or ignore become issues at the Son Brull. At times bar staff were hard to find and the breakfast buffet was not always topped up as raidly as it could be. We had a room on the side of the hotel. It was above the kitchens so the comings and goings of the staff could be quite disturbing as could noise from a neighbouring room connected to ours by a intercommunicating door and finally the management should ask guests not to use the noisey spa baths in each room late at night!
I feel slightly mean expessing these criticisms because, despite them, I would go back tomorrow but hopelly the hotel will take these on board and make my next stay even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    37
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
201
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived, the service & attention to detail was exceptional, unstuffy and extremely friendly. We were given a short tour of the hotel (including snippets about the building's history) and shown to our well appointed rooms. We had negotiated a deal for our overnight stay (two couples) to include superior doubles (which included a bottle of chilled cava & fruit basket), three-course a la carte dinner, breakfast and a luxury spa treatment for each lady. Although the hotel is an old building (a former monastery), the rooms are contemporarily styled with Kingsize bed, feature Jacuzzi bath in the corner of the bedroom, Bang & Olufsen TV (inc mainstream UK channels such as BBC1, ITV and Sky News), an excellent array of complimentary bathroom products and even a nice touch of providing two straw sun hats for use by the pool. The spa and treatments (each approx 90 mins) were excellent. Use of Apple iMac computer in the reception area. Two beautiful pools with ample sun loungers and various seating areas dotted around the manicured grounds. Dinner & breakfast were excellent, a good selection of choices and again, attentive and friendly staff. We left the hotel saying we would definitely be back - and we were - perhaps sooner than we thought, as 5 mins into our onward journey, the receptionist kindly rang to say I'd left my iPad in reception. All in all, an extremely enjoyable stay that left us all saying we'd go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Most things have already been said but I would like to say what a relaxing and peaceful week we had. When we arrived there were a couple of children staying and although they were very well behaved, were told to keep quiet by their parents so as not to disturb anyone. This isn't a good place to bring children, I actually felt sorry for them.
Everything you could want is here. Jugs of cold water while sunbathing and a fruit drink in the afternoon. Lunches and dinners were superb and as someone else mentioned, the gin and tonics fab.
Rooms have the 'wow' factor, in fact the whole place does.
This is one of my favourite hotels and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralou911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I don't know that we've stayed in a more perfect hotel. The building is a converted monastery and no detail has been missed: the rooms are beautiful and spacious, the restaurant is lovely, and the grounds are divine. It's a perfect mix of old and new but without the stuffiness of similarly priced hotels.

The pool is beautiful and looks out over the property and beyond. There is plenty of shade if that's what you're after, and the minute you sit down, you're brought a pitcher of cold water. Very nice touch. In terms of the spa, my husband and I both got massages that were EXCELLENT. I can't recall names, but the petite woman with dark hair and light-colored glasses has magic hands!

The staff are WONDERFUL! I've forgotten most names, but Monica in the restaurant was an absolute pleasure, and all the front desk staff was impeccable–extremely helpful, responsive, and HAPPY. I don't know if this is due to the owner being on-site, or how his staff is treated, but everyone seemed sincerely happy to be at work. Very refreshing.

We were on a bike trip, but stayed on a few days and rented a car, which the hotel arranged. It showed up in the morning with all the paperwork sorted, as promised. The beaches are less than an hour away, and it's a fun drive getting there.

THE GIN! Do not miss having a Son Brull Gin & tonic. It is the most aromatic, delicious gin I've ever had. And the lemon dessert is not to be missed.

Run, don't walk to this hotel. And, as some reviewers noted, this is not a good hotel for children, so suggest leaving the little ones at home.

Room Tip: All rooms (except suites) are similar in size. I don't think there's a bad one in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend booked us into Son Brull for a surprise long weekend getaway & it couldn't have been more perfect. The location is great, just outside Pollenca old town in the north of the island. The building has been stunningly converted from an old monastery and perfectly balances the old traditional features with high end modern style. The pool area is like something out of a movie and it's impossible not to feel very special and pampered here. Although our trip coincided with the only four days of average weather in Mallorca this year it almost didn't matter as the hotel itself offers everything you need for true R&R; an indoor/outdoor pool with sauna & steam room, a small but perfectly formed spa (try the Liquid Gold treatment, my skin was re-hydrated beyond belief), a top class restaurant using local produce and a very cool bar incorporating a huge original olive press. As for the bedrooms, we stayed in Room 23 which was front-facing & beautiful with a roll top bath in the living area and possibly the biggest bed I've ever slept in. All the staff were amazing too, doing everything possible to make sure our stay was perfect. On our first night the owner even took time to come & have a chat with us which reinforced the feeling that whilst this is part of the Relais & Chateaux chain, this is also very much a family project too, with much personal thought and care put into it. I cannot recommend Son Brull enough, for me it encapsulates everything beautiful about Mallorca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahG23010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Setting. Rooms. Pool. Food. Staff. Just beautiful. Why waffle on when it's simply beautiful? The actual building has been restored (and maintained) to a fantastic standard. One little thing- it is quite a suntrap and probably not ideal for children. I'll be back though....!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brummy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely Great - former monastery turned into a very fine design hotel with excellent restaurant and friendly staff.... Not perfect fr kids however, they seem to get bored with the pool, an not for groups as there is a very familiar atmosphere where groups can be annoying.
Perfect for a get away

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollenca
4.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Son Sant Jordi
Hotel Son Sant Jordi
#4 of 20 in Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
21.5 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
7.7 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
31.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Brull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Brull Hotel & Spa

Property: Son Brull Hotel & Spa
Address: Crta Palma Pollenca Km 220, Km 49.8 | Baleares, 07460 Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pollenca
#1 Green Hotel in Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Son Brull Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Son Brull in 5 words ... Authenticity, Respect, Culture, Tradition and Heritage Son Brull Hotel & Spa, where you can enjoy the best of Mallorca at its most authentic and sophisticated. An eighteenth century Jesuit monastery converted into 5-star hotel and luxury contemporary design. Luxury Boutique Hotel in Mallorca's countryside The concept boutique hotel in a rural setting, at the foot of the Tramuntana mountains, close to the best beaches, the Formentor Peninsula and the picturesque village of Pollensa. Fine dining in the restaurant that stands 3 65 where organic produce grown on the property are the stars Luxury Spa to be pampered with natural products from Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Son Brull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Brull Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Son Brull
Son Brull Hotel & Spa Pollenca, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing