We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent experience”
Review of Placa Restaurante

Placa Restaurante
Ranked #20 of 91 Restaurants in Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened in 2011 by Bernat and Pilar, a couple who have had a tapas bar well known for the past 25 years. The new location is spacious and comfortable, with a wonderful terrace on the square, while the tapas are as always, well known in the village. Ask anyone on where to have the best tapas in Pollenca, and let yourself be guided.
Brighton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another excellent experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went back to Cafe Placa this month following our excellent experience earlier in the year and nice note from Antoni following my last review. It was as good as last time, so much in fact that I went for lunch two days in a row. :) we had torilla and salads one day and then the traditional Pa Amb Oli the next and it was all lovely. Excellent coffee. We will be back to try the cakes next time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welovepollenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    43
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cafe Placa, the best place to enjoy a coffee in Plaça Major in Pollença.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in Pollença and finished every evening in Caffè Placa for a night cap. Friendly and attentive service and best of all great coffee and tea (proper tea brewed in a teapot with tea leaves!) All the waiters were excellent, but a gold star has to go to Antoni, he was on duty every night and gave excellent service and exceeded all our expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonofWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Always a fantastic location to watch the world go by at any time of the day or night.
Price, service and quality excellent, and we will be regular visitors during our stay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShortlegWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Why, they have wifi.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We liked the Placa and popped in several times for coffees, beer, wine, tapas a Russian salad and a burger. The staff were always helpful and it was good to be able to connect to the Internet in order to check the Majorcan weather forecast, which was for rain. Cold, biting rain. Waiter! More wine please.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timtee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and good service.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Set on the main square, Cafe Place seems to be overshadowed by it's highly popular neighbour Cafe Espanol; but the food is just as good, if not better. (The chairs and tables for four different bars are laid out next to each other, so make sure you look for the differences in the chairs laid out; we saw many people come and look at Cafe Placa's menu and then sit in another bar's seats, only to be surprised when they were offered that bar's menu.)

The food is lovely and simple; we normally have a couple of tapas dishes with the house white. We like the grilled squid and the salt cod bites, and all dishes are available in small, medium and large portions which we found great to be able to mix and match. Great value and good service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank OrangeDahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoni M, Gerente at Placa Restaurante, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion, and of course for the advice.
Truly, the Plaza Mayor is a very popular place, and because of that there's many restaurants (some of them really good), with tables and chairs in the square. So people have to take care where they sit if they do not want to be served by a not chosen restaurant.
Anyhow, we'll try to identify better our tables, in order fo make it easy for people who want to try our wellknown tapas
Thanks again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Placa Restaurante also viewed

Pollenca, Majorca
Pollenca, Majorca
 

Been to Placa Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing