We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and Service and all at a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Asiatica

Casa Asiatica
Ranked #37 of 86 Restaurants in Pollenca
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service and all at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This small restaurant located in a narrow street between the main square and the 365 steps is well worth a visit. It only has 3 outside tables but it's main selling point has to be the food. Generous portions of superbly cooked food. Our party of 4 had greedy teenagers who were determined not to share each ordered duck, one shredded duck the other crispy Beijing duck both with lots of pancakes, cucumber, spring onion and hoisin sauce. When the dishes arrived each looked as if they would have fed 2 , although both managed to demolish the lot as it was so good. My husband had a Thai curry with boiled rice which he said was excellent and I had Thai style crispy beef which I greedily teamed up with Singapore noodles each dish being large I needed help to finish. The beef steak strips nicely thick that once crispy you didn't lose the fact that it was still steak. With Chinese beers and soft drinks on top the total bill was under 60 euros excellent value and the walk home needed as everyone was so full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best value in Pollensa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have visited this restaurant three times in the past year and it has always been excellent. It offers excellent value for money particularly for Pollensa. For our latest visit there were six of us including two older children. We ordered a set meal for 5 which was 71 euros. Plenty enough food for all of us, the hi-lights being the crispy duck, crispy beef and the prawns in garlic. The owner (John) is exceptionally friendly and looked after us very well. It's not haute cuisine but for value it can't be beaten. The total bill (including three bottles of wine) was 101 euros. Much better than any of the Chinese restaurants in the port. Give it a go and you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deb590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto pollenca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Pollenca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Had the set menu for 5 for 74euros which was outstanding value for the money.The standard of the food was very very good and this was not our first visit and we have never been disappointed.The standard of service off John the boss was very good and he couldn't have been more helpful.We will return again very soon

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peterlaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We can't agree with any of the previous reviewer's comments. In fact this is some of the best Asian food we have ever eaten, including in Chinatown in London. We have been here several times and I would say the food is genuinely outstanding. True, it isn't a run of the mill Chinese so the starter plate has whole langoustines in pastry parcels rather than minced prawn toasts. The hot chilli sauce is homemade from purred chilli and is just a taste sensation. The crispy beef is coated in a sweet yet salty mixture and melts in the mouth, the mango salad is a really stunning mixture of flavours. We had a meal for 2 adults and 2 children with 2 glasses of wine for under 45 euros. The owner is also really friendly and helpful. We have visited most of the restaurants in the old town and Port over the years and have lots of personal favourites. This is one of them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kategod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food bad but staff worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Been visiting Pollensa now for over 16 years and had some excellent meals - unfortunately this wasn't one of them! There were 6 of us so we ordered quite a few dishes. The starter dish was a salad with fruit. It was literally swimming in a strong vinaigrette dressing which just overpowered everything. It would have been more suited to fish and chips than salad. The main courses (5 in total) for some reason came around 10 minutes apart but this was ok as we were out for the whole evening. Only 1 of the dishes, however, was edible and that was the thai green curry. We left the other 4. The crispy beef dish was dry as sticks and very very salty. The prawns in garlic (usually a favourite of ours) had an overpoweringly strong fishy taste and smell as if they'd been left in the sun all day. The stir fried lamb had loads of cumin mixed in with it but tasted like it had been mixed into the dish after it had been cooked. The sweet and sour pork were tough and came with very little sauce. This, however, wasn't the worst part of the meal, that came after we'd asked for the bill. It must be the English in us because we hadn't complained while in the restaurant and were just going to pay the bill and leave but while waiting a man came out of a side room and started eating the food off our table!! After tasting the various dishes (with us sitting in disbelief) he asked if the food was ok. We said that a couple of the dishes were a bit salty and he then picked up the food and started waving it in front of us telling us to try it again and saying it was very tasty and not salty at all. He became very agitated when we wouldn't try it and argued with us for the next few minutes - while still eating the food in front of us! All in all the worst experience we've ever had in a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Laws_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Asiatica also viewed

Pollenca, Majorca
Pollenca, Majorca
 
Pollenca, Majorca
Pollenca, Majorca
 

Been to Casa Asiatica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing