We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great paella”
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
Ranked #16 of 93 Restaurants in Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great paella”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

One of the best mixed paellas we have eaten.
First time we have tried this restaurant. We usually eat at Bar Nou just a few yards away but we were delighted we visited this well run place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    107
    31
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good find”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We visited La Fonda in August and although the inside could do with some sort of improvement especially with the lighting it was cool and comfortable. The wine was excellent and my starter of goats cheese with a brûlée topping and a wonderful salad with nuts, dried fruit nd seeds was beautiful and a very decent size (if anything a little too big! but yummy!). I had to go for the John Dory mainly because I was so intrigued as to what 'creaking onions' were that came with it??!! I won't reveal what they were or it may spoil the big reveal for future visitors but they were very nice and the fish was flavoursome and moist .

We returned again during our stay and this was good but the fish on this occasion was slightly over cooked. Nice enough staff and lady owner ( at least we think she was). Would recommend.

PS - toilets were spotless which to me is a big indicator of general hygiene

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcudia
1 review
“Definitely in a good taste”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I wish I could have a lunch here every day.... Whenever I eat here, to my suprise the food is delicious. What atrracts my attention the most is they way how the food is served . Everything is pure and clean , many times checked before the serve , the food looks very good and definitely deserved to your attention. What is more, the atmosphere in the restaurant is very friendly , the staff have a good manners and rules of etiquiette . I truly recommend to drop in and try !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but expected better”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I'd checked out La Fonda before going and also asked the owner of the apartment where we were staying for recommendations and he rated it highly so perhaps I was expecting too much. The food was fresh and decent enough but not excellent. The tapas dishes were our favourite. The baby goat was the most disappointing as it was fairly bland. The waiters were prompt and efficient but could have been a little friendlier. The atmosphere was good even though this is a busy little street just off the main square so there are a lot of people passing. Be sure to book if you want to sit outside as numerous people were turned away while we were eating. I don't want to sound to harsh as overall we had a good night here but after all the positive reviews we'd expected something a bit more special.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Laws_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Resturant”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We sat outside for lunch. Our paella was delicious and the children's food was very good too. My husband & I tried to return for dinner one evening but hadn't booked. We arrived at 7:20 & were told all outside tables were booked (there are only about 5 tables) so its best to book in advance if you can. The staff did offer us a table that was needed by 8:30 but we decided to find somewhere else to eat as we didn't want to rush. However our lunch meal with the children was really lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MommaMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing