We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super place and very nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mar i Vent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mar i Vent
Ranked #2 of 5 Banyalbufar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super place and very nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a super hotel. The breakfast terrace has an excellent view of the sea. The breakfast buffet is lovely, although you may need to be down early sometimes to get the very popular stuff like figs. The pool was a welcome break from the heat of August when we were there. Again the pool terrace has great views of the sea. The owner is a very friendly guy who was really helpful to us and showed us a selection of rooms to choose from . Without us asking he gave us a 'Superior room' for the price of a standard. This had a balcony with great views of the sea and mountains. The cove is about 10 - 15 minutes from this hotel. The staff were very professional and acommodating. We can easily recommend this place and would love to return to it sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is mentioned in a number of guides on Mallorca. It is great value if you want to stay in a bed and breakfast hotel. Make sure you ask for a room with a sea view as the view is wonderful. We booked a double room with sea view (double apparently seems to mean twin beds). There was an en suite bathroom - shower over - with twin wash basins. The bedroom was really spacious with plenty of hanging and drawer space, a double sofa, air conditioning unit, a safe and a large balcony with chairs. There is an excellent and well cared-for swimming pool with sun loungers and umbrellas - all enjoying that view again - and a tennis court. Many guests clearly found the evening meal very convenient and with the view, why not? However, the cooking is not imaginative and there is better eating in the village. Overall this is a great place to stay and be based at for the north and west of the island.
Some guests brought their own tea bags for breakfast - a great idea for next time!
For the more energetic (steep hills - getting back to the hotel is challenging!) the sea is accessible for swimming and snorkelling nearby and the sea is beautifully clear.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. However, be careful if you find access difficult as some sea- view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Super family driven hotel
Excellent service
All rooms with fantastic sea view !!!
Daily 4 course dinner for only €25/person including wine.
Nice breakfast included in the rate (from €98 to €150 for 2 persons in double room)
We tried spontainously stopping by and was positive surprised. Will for sure be back soon !!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danreichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Wonderful, little hotel in a pitoresque village with a stunning view: steep, green mountains in the back with this beautiful hotel with its flowering gardens, terraced pool and tenniscourt clinging to the hillside above a crystal clear sea. We had rooms 4 and 5 - no 4 a spacious three bedder with a farver large veranda with panoramic seaview, no 5 a normal sized double with the same great view. Nice little pool on a big sunterrace with service, and tasty breakfast on the main terrace in the morning. Hotel all well kept and extremly clean. All staff friendly and helpful. Perfect for a romantic getaway, but also for our family with three children aged 4 - 11. Village is really beautiful, but steep. Several nice places for a good meal or to taste the local wine. No beach, but a rocky harbour used by the locals for swimming with some good snorkelling as well. Water vert clean and clear. With a car the stunning mountains and other nice villages are easy to reach, like Valdemossa, Soller and Deia. Lots of trekking possibilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife's sister and husband have been staying here for 0ver 10 years, abnd having now stayed there I am sure we will be doing the same! We had a Superior Room which was large and well furnished with a fanrtastic view from our terrace which wrapped around the room. This hotel has so much individual character that photos would not do it credit. The staff and management provide wonderful service and nothing is too much trouble. We started each night with a drink on the terrrace which is a really nice way to start the evening. The village itself has circa 10-11 restaurants/tapas bars to choose from, and they are all worth visiting. The location is also good for visiting places like Valdamossa, Deia, gardens, historic houses and ia approx a 45 minute drive from Palma airport. We only stayed for 7 days - but wish it was 7 weeks! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good with views, but if you can afford it, book a Superior room. We stayed in their an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshuaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Now this is the REAL Mallorca, the way it used to be, the way it should be. If you want to experience the tranquility and stunning vistas of a small, family-run inn clinging to a mountainside above the deep blue sea, this is the place. I hope, however, that this hotel and the village of Banyalbufar never get "discoveed." Forget over-developed beach towns. To soothe your soul, this is what the doctor ordered. The hotel is rated 3 stars, and some aspects are old and quant (the 1928 inn is the oldest in the village), but this just adds to the charm. The rooms are cheaply furnished and a little faded, perhaps 2.5 stars, but the location and ambiance are five stars. Coming from two weeks touring mainland Spain, I was simply blown away by this wonderful spot. We were a group of 6 Canadians hiking for a week across the Sierra Tramuntana from inn to inn, and this was the starting point.
To get to your room is an adventure, going down the elevator, outside, into another building, up stairs and through winding corridors. The view from the room is beautiful and pristine. I would put it in the top 3 scenic hotel locations of my life experience, the others being the Uno Lodge in Mexico's Copper Canyon and the Chateau Lake Louise in the Canadian Rockies. There were no other dwellings or buildings in view, just gardens and sea. The lounge and lobby areas are quint and charming. The pool deck is outstanding. I felt like I should run into James Bond any minute. The orchards and vinyards on terraced hillsides are a landscape painter's heaven. Breakfast was great. We walked next day to our next village, Esporles.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Cornwall uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

A quiet tranquil place to stay. Spotlessly clean with friendly helpful staff. A family owned and run hotel - three generations with a fourth in the wings. My wife and our children (and grandchild) will be coming here again in 2012 for the 29th time. I can highly recommend a holiday here away from the crowded beach resorts. I would suggest a car if you wish to find the true Majorca which is often hidden away from the tourist areas. Incidentally the photo above is NOT the Mar I vent hotel!

Room Tip: The annex rooms tend to be larger than those in the house but wi-fi is not available in them. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banyalbufar
0.2 mi away
Sa Coma Hotel
Sa Coma Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banyalbufar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel
3.1 mi away
Maristel Hotel
Maristel Hotel
#1 of 2 in Estellencs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
12.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Son Borguny
Son Borguny
#1 of 5 in Banyalbufar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar i Vent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar i Vent

Property: Hotel Mar i Vent
Address: Calle Major 49, 07191 Banyalbufar, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Banyalbufar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Banyalbufar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar i Vent 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mar i Vent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar i Vent Banyalbufar, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing