We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is included, kind of.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Van Buren
Certificate of Excellence
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast is included, kind of.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here just one night, my family of 4, me, wife and two kids (14 and 12). It's a nice property, relatively new, and well kept. We liked that they have a pretty good snack selection near the front desk for purchase. They also had free, fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea out the evening we arrived. The kids swam in the pool that night, it is small, but well kept. No hot tub. I didn't have any complaints regarding the property. However, the service left a bit to be desired. Breakfast is included (buffet style like most properties). Breakfast hours were clearly advertised until 10AM. My family and I, since we were on vacation, did not come down to breakfast until 9:30AM. Although we arrived a full 30 minutes before the buffet was scheduled to close, there was no breakfast meat in the chafing dish. I asked at the front desk if we could get some bacon for breakfast, and was met with a quick "NO" from the front desk staff. She informed me that it was customary for them to pull up the buffet and not replenish it after 9:30AM. After she told me no, I was able to locate the breakfast area attendant, and she did indeed bring out some more bacon so my family could eat, but the poor customer service experience had already occurred. Customer service is #1, and it doesn't matter how nice your product is, if you can't handle being polite and providing to a customer the items for which they have paid. After all, I did not show up at 9:55AM, it was a full 30 minutes prior to the advertised closing breakfast time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ziplineboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBNES, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi, ziplineboss!

Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Van Buren for your lodging needs while traveling through the Van Buren area! We appreciate your business. I sincerely apologize for any confusion regarding our breakfast hours. I was present the morning of your departure and do remembering you approaching the front desk just after 9:30am to inquire about breakfast and our front desk agent did inform you that breakfast had already ended. I am glad that our breakfast attendant was able to prepare additional food for you and your family. Our breakfast hours are clearly posted throughout our hotel and website being 6:00am to 9:30am daily. If you have a moment to contact our property regarding the location of the time discrepancy, it will allow us an opportunity to correct any mispostings. Again, we appreicate your business and hope all your future stays are pleasant. Have a wonderful day!

Most Sincerely,
Carly Trammell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    49
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
66
53
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otoa
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Express and it was The Best! We were there for several days and had several rooms! The front desk girl that worked evenings help us set up everything from meals to getting us to the local drug store for medicine for a sick and grouchy older family member! She met us with a smile and recognized us by name and knew which of our rambunctious children belonged to which room! We were so very impressed with the entire staff! Resteraunts near by are great and more delivery than just pizza! We will be back in a few months!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFamilyTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBNES, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi, WFamilyTime!!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. We are always striving for excellence and appreciate your feedback. Have a wonderful year in 2014 and hope to see you again soon!

Most Sincerely,
Carly Trammell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Mississippi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Right off Interstate 40, which is convenient. Very clean, nice, up-to-date Holiday Inn Express. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Friendly check in/ check out. Great place to stay and affordable. Landscape and exterior of building was nice.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Msciple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBNES, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us! I am so happy that you enjoyed your time. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back through the area. Have a wonderful day!

Most Sincerely,
Carly Trammell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
534 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Checking in, we were greeted with personable staff, and fast service. Our room was wonderful, and clean, as was the entire complex. As with all Holiday Inn Express, breakfast is included with your stay (nice perk). The staff provided us with a list of all the surrounding restaurants for dinner, and directions to get there. Book online for your best rate. This hotel is a good, safe place to stay, and close to historic Van Buren, AK downtown area. Enjoy your visit!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FLworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBNES, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
FLWorldWanderer; thank you so much for posting a review about your stay with us. With reviews in over 50 cities, we value your insight as a frequent traveler. We are always striving for excellence and appreciate your business and feedback. Hope your new year is off to a great start! Have a fabulous day!

Most Sincerely,
Carly Trammell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel seemed new. It was very clean, and the staff was friendly and personable. The rooms were quiet, and our handicap-accessible room was nice and spacious.

However, the following issues kept it from being a great place to stay.
1. The bars in the tub were not at a level that a disabled/handicapped person could use while taking a shower. Instead, they were about 10 inches above the tub--at level that gets in the way of a person who is taking a bath. I realize the bars would be helpful to a disabled person who is taking a bath; but it has been my experience that most disabled/handicapped people take showers, and these bars are of no help at all to those people (including the person who was with me).
2. I do take baths instead of showers, and I found that the drain stopper did nothing to stop the water from draining out of the tub. I had to run my bath water during my bath just so I would have water in the tub.
3. There was no soap dish in the bathroom; as a result, the counter became slimy where we placed our soap.
4. The lighting in the bathroom was very dim, even with the vanity lights on.
5. The lighting in the room was also very dim--almost too dim for us to read while in the room.
6. There was no microwave or refrigerator in our room. I know I should have checked on this before reserving the room, but I have come to expect Holiday Inn Express to provide a microwave and refrigerator. The room was certainly large enough for these items.
7. The only chair in the room was the chair at the desk/computer table. Instead, there was an end table that served no purpose. A chair instead of this table next to the floor lamp would have been nice. As it was, if one of us was at the computer, the other one had no place to sit except the bed.
8. While the desk clerk was very nice and friendly, I had trouble understanding him because of his accent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBNES, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear RoadTripTraveler;

I can see by your tripadvisor profile that you are a frequent traveler and reviewer. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We value your opinion and take your feedback seriously and hope that we can make improvements in the areas you mentioned. We are always striving to offer an excellent stay to each and every guest and your comments and suggestions will help us continue to improve our services and amenities. May your travels be enjoyable and thank you again! Have a great weekend!

Most Sincerely,
Carly Trammell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

straight A's. Everything was just right. Price, clean, and comfort. No noise from the road. Saved money by having the breakfast for two which would have been at least $10 some place else. Has the latest stuff like dish HD tv and WiFi. at no cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swantonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBNES, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Good afternoon, swantonla!

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your experience. May all your stays be great and we hope to see you again soon!

Most Sincerely,
Carly Trammell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmer, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for only one night. This is a new HI-Express so its clean and nice. From what I can tell its well managed. The one thing that stood out was they have better coffee than any other HI-Express that I've stayed at. So if I'm doing work in the area anytime in the future, ill be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBNES, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi, jeremy g!

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Have a great day!

Most Sincerely,
Carly Trammell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Van Buren
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Buren
Hampton Inn Van Buren
#1 of 7 in Van Buren
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Van Buren
7.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fort Smith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Van Buren
86 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
#3 of 22 in Fort Smith
540 reviews
7.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
#4 of 22 in Fort Smith
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area
Address: 1637 N 12th Ct, GPS: 2001 East Pointer Trail, Van Buren, AR 72956-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Van Buren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Van Buren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites-Van Buren-Ft. Smith Area, AR. We are excited to be your premier hotel while staying in Van Buren and the Fort Smith Area. You will find all the comforts of home and the Stay Smart programs you are use to having. That means Staying Smart and enjoying the free hot breakfast as well as free high-speed wired and wireless Internet. Our hotel was built with you in mind, that means convenience items such as guest laundry, free local phone calls, and not to mention spacious rooms with extra outlets to hold all those special items such as phone chargers and those MP3 players! We are also convenient to local shopping and downtown. We are just a few miles from the Crawford County Speedway and Lake Lou Emma. Just a few more miles down the road and you will be at White Rock Mountain. Who says you can t mix business with pleasure or just stay for the wonderful service! Our Business guests will be happy with the extra space and traveler conveniences as well as being convenient to local business such as Summit Medical Hospital, Innovation Utility Products, Magna Form Corp, and Garner Abattoir & Meat Processing. All are located within 3 miles of the hotel. Might as well walk and get your exercise and save on gas! So Stay Smart and enjoy all the conveniences you trust and know from the Holiday Inn Express & Suites-Van Buren-Ft. Smith Area. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Van Buren-Ft Smith Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing