We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hisa Franko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kobarid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hisa Franko
Ranked #1 of 6 Kobarid B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The accommodations here are very good. I was a bit worried about staying in rooms attached to a restaurant, but my anxieties were completely unfounded. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the breakfast is excellent.

The only downside is that the location is probably just beyond walking distance from Kobarid itself, so if you want to visit the town you need to have a car, or to borrow one of Hisa Franko's bikes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    17
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
14
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent three nights at Franko. It is a charming guesthouse up a long driveway from the road. The rooms are nicely furnished, ours opened onto a terrace that was edged by the restaurant's herb garden. The lounge area is bright, the patio a wonderful peaceful place to rest after a days hike. The "outside" dining room has glass walls that can be opened and a tent like ceiling. The inside dining room is elegant. Ask Valter to show you the wine and cheese cellars. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of Slovenian and European wines.

Room Tip: No one in our group had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

i made a present to my girl choosing the "i love you" package: suite and dinner, not cheap, but really really good. the room i had (they have different, with different styles) was really clean , with all the comforts and a really nice and luminous terrace looking to the green.

the restaurant is the real must. food is incredible, and also having a breakfast there is an experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiowa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Everything about this place is lovely - the rooms, the food, the wine, the service from all of the delightful staff. I can't fault any of it.
The scenery is beautiful, and the staff arranged rafting and canyoning for us in the nearby river.
There is even a jewellery shop in the grounds!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hisa Franko - the inn and the food -- cannot be described in words or pictures. Valter and Anna deliver a combination of aesthetic, design, and performance that just has to be experienced. It may stretch you: do not expect the incredible local sparkling wine or anything else to be the usual or the expected. If you are fortunate enough ever to find yourself in suburban Kobarid (Italian: Caparetto) Slovenia, just relax and enjoy Hisa Franko on its own terms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basingstoke60654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIlwaukee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We really enjoyed Hisa Franco. I was surprised by the rustic appearance from the outside, given the posh menu I had seen online for their restaurant and the higher price relative to other places in Slovenia. However, the hotel was very modern and clean on the inside. The restaurant was great both for breakfast and for a gourmet dinner one of the nights of our stay. We had a little trouble getting someone to check us out when we had to leave early in the morning, but no big deal really. All in all, a very lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahinbudpst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruenwald, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

WE loved this property and found the area and the house very relaxing: perfect hideaway for tired city people. The rooms are personalised and beautiful but absolutly best of this house is the restaurant. Very special food and interesting wine selection. We did not understand this house as classical hotel but more as a restaurant with rooms: after a delicious food, just a few steps to reach your confortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susane37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kobarid
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
6.4 mi away
Hotel Dobra Vila Bovec
6.4 mi away
Hotel Mangart
Hotel Mangart
#2 of 4 in Bovec
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gostisce Jazbec
Gostisce Jazbec
#2 of 6 in Kobarid
28 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rooms Pri Lovrizu
Rooms Pri Lovrizu
#3 of 6 in Kobarid
12 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nebesa
Nebesa
#2 of 19 in Kobarid
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hisa Franko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hisa Franko

Property: Hisa Franko
Address: Staro selo 1, Kobarid 5222, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Kobarid
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kobarid
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hisa Franko Hotel Kobarid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing