We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect escape”
Review of Monart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monart
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
Clonmel, Ireland
2 reviews
“perfect escape”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mum and I treated ourselves to a stay here in August this year. I was a little apprehensive about it, as i had heard SO MANY good reviews from various friends, and i thought to myself 'there is no way this place is going to live up to the hype' - but it did!! and was even more amazing that i could have imagined.
The staff, the ambience, the rooms, all perfectly styled, not overly styled, just a fresh classical look that remains timeless. Low key lighting everywhere and an atmosphere of calm relaxation make it a perfect escape from the everyday world.
The spa was lovely, they have an amazing chill out room upstairs, which is really special. the treatments were good, not excellent, i think it depends on what beauty therapist you get. (Mum raved about her treatments, whereas i was a little less impressed) the Provonias products are amazing and worth a trip just for a facial alone!! but i got a full body scrub and let's just say after the beauty therapist took off the scrub, there was lots of it left on me! and i had to hop up on the table with the shower head to try and rinse it off but to no avail!! eventually had to ask for a shower! not ideal. but it still didn't really put me off the place, which says it all really.
the food is amazing, simple and clean, and healthy if you want too. it's not a big drinking place, you can have a glass of wine with you dinner but it's not a place to go tear it up at the bar, which i think makes the place so relaxing.
whatever you do, don't miss breakfast, it's perhaps the best i'ver had!!
don't think about it anymore - JUST GO!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstokes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Mrsstokes2012,

Many thanks for your very kind words, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and very much hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you here again in the future.

__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    275
    100
    43
    24
See reviews for
193
805
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It was a surprise which is always nice. But the whole experience from beginning to end was a surprise which is rare! Arriving to such a leafy secluded retreat is the perfect introduction. Valet parking lifts the weight immediately of the first ordinary worries of the world, like where to find a spot.
We were welcomed by friendly and professional staff and facilities were explained.
The room was really something. The space alone was so enjoyable, the beds, luxuriously dressed and the bathroom big enough for a dance - if dancing in the bathroom is your thing;) The indulgence of space is something not to be underestimated - and is worth paying for. We also had a view of the pond.
Arriving to the spa area in our dressing gowns, seated comfortably in the waiting area was the beginning of the unwinding experience - the circular layout of the facilities could be confusing (but I'm not generally very good with the whole sense of direction side of things) but it adds completely to the harmony of the place. It had been a monastery at one point and that sense of tranquility pervades with some images on the walls referencing that time.
Massage brilliant, quiet dark room to recover in afterwards, brilliant, get picked up by your boyfriend and head to the thermal pool - brilliant. There is even an area to sit quietly, looking out at the roving ducks as someone massages your feet!
We had personalised romantic dinner which was thoroughly explained by our very attentive host on the night. Wine list fantastic and use of local produce - inspired.
We sat listening to the live piano player in the bar until the wee hours, savouring every minute.
Breakfast was beyond belief. A banquet and no other word describes it. I think I had 4 courses, served with beautiful delf and cutlery which just adds to the wow. Again we ate this in robes, served by a lovely local lady who was unhurried and kind in her attention to us. All of the staff will have a genuine conversation with you if you so wish and that makes a place for me. I can't say one bad thing about it - there's even a lovely place to read the paper and little library for more local/national knowledge.
It really does the trick and anyone feeling jaded and tired of life or the weather or whatever will feel renewed by a rest and the real restorative value of this retreat experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sophie L,

Thank you so much for your kind words and high commendation in your review of your time with us here at Monart.

I delight particularly in your praise of our wonderful staff, I truly believe that they are our very best asset. I hope that we have the pleasure of surprising you again in the future.

__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in October to celebrate my scrawny companion's birthday.

There are many features of this retreat which make it worthy of a good rating. These include:
-Large spacious bedroom with very comfortable beds and balcony
-Great spa area with many features which proved very relaxing
-beautifully manicured gardens: there was a lovely fog sweeping along the grass early in the morning - my scrawny companion thought the hotel had a machine that produced this and did not think nature could produce something so beautiful!!
-We he concept of wearing dressing gowns all day appeared strange at first, but it certainly assisted in enjoying Monsrt at its best
- dinner, breakfast and lunch were excellent
- fantastic staff who put us under no pressure to check out on time

Two slight niggles which i did not like:
- it is very difficult to find. We drove around Wexford for ages trying to find it. Better signposting or directions when booking would be helpful!
-when making the booking, I advised that it was a birthday present for my scrawny companion. However, when we checked in, both of us had to sign a registration form which clearly indicated how much I spent on his present. Some discretion would have been nice


Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThomasheenOgRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear ThomasheenOgRua,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of us here at Monart.
We are delighted that you enjoyed everything about your time with us and relaxed into the robed environment.

We very much hope to welcome you again in the future. Should that be the case, just say the word and we will gladly assist in giving co-ordinates for Sat-Nav, exact direction or any other aide in finding us more easily.

Best Regards, All at Monart.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dub in Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is situated in the middle of the country in Enniscorthy. We arrived to be greeted by two hotel staff. One took our baggage to our room while the other parked our car in the car park. Our every need was attended to. The best of food, the best of comfort. Our room was spacious and looking out to beautiful gardens. We could go to breakfast in our dressing gowns and relax in them in any part of the hotel during the day. Our every need was attended to. I have recommended this hotel to our friends knowing that they too will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are prefect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDub4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear CharlieDub4,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your time with us here at Monart.
Your Commendations and indeed recommendations are wholly appreciated.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you for another 'great escape' in the future.

__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the monart for two nights at the end of October and had an amazing break! Staff all v friendly, welcoming and helpful. This is the perfect place to unwind, v quiet location, rooms luxurious and comfortable, food delicious. The spa facilities are second to none-i have been to a few spa resorts and have to say this is the best I have been to! Would love to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cu_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Cu_travels,

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write a review of your time with us here at Monart.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much and ver much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.

__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for a night with my two best friends the week before I got married; the accommodation was amazing, one of the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, I would say. The bathroom was fabulous. The surrounding area is really beautiful, it was relaxing just to sit and watch the scenery! The spa was really good, the service was excellent.

If anything, The restaurant is not quite at the same standard at the accommodation and spa; it's still good food, but not quite as amazing as the rest of the experience. But it's a small point,

I would love to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFLDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear CFLDI,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your time with us, we are delighted that you picked Monart to spend such a special time.

Big Congratulations from all of us here on your recent Nuptials. We hope to see you again in the future.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived in Monart, our every whim was catered for.
The staff could not have been nicer and the food was amazing.
I would like to compliment this business on its attention to detail and 5* service.
The only small quip I'd have is that the road near our room was quite busy at times.
This is a fantastic place for a break from everyday life and everyone should experience life in a dressing gown in Monart.
Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear HGM82,

Many thanks indeed for your glowing review of your time with us. We couldnt be happier that you enjoyed your stay and your commendations of our staff partiularly are very much appreciated.

I do hope that we have the opportunitiy of welcoming you again in the future.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscorthy
2.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
20.3 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
11.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Treacy's Hotel
Treacy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Enniscorthy
683 reviews
18.0 mi away
Marlfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monart

Property: Monart
Address: The Still, Enniscorthy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Enniscorthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monart 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monart Destination Spa 'The Great Escape' is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one's true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Conde Nast Reader's Choice Awards. Irish Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Monart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monart Hotel Enniscorthy
Monart Spa Enniscorthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing