We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Monart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monart
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Overpriced”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A fabulous setting , maybe a great get away if you are completely exhausted . A bit over priced for these days and dare I say a bit boring. The spa is just a lot of saunas really , no jaquzzi or hot tub. Rooms nice, breakfast fab, dinner nice but small choice on menu and again overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roziemurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    278
    103
    43
    25
See reviews for
196
817
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was my second time in Monart and the high standards have remained despite recessionary times. I was really wowed the first time I visited to be greeted at the front door by the receptionist but on this occasion it was actually very busy when we arrived so it was the more usual hurried check in you get in hotels as the receptionist was on her own. The package was good value. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The food is good but I would agree with other reviewers that the food in the restaurant is not as amazing as I remembered it being a few years ago. However it is very good none the less. The breakfasts are the best I ever had, marvellous variety, and so relaxing to be able to have it in your bathrobe. The spa is top class and it is nice to have tea in the front rooms in the old house.( Incidently (if Mr Griffin is reading this!) I think they could make more of these rooms, they could do with more comfortable sofas, it is all a bit hard edged, black and grey, like a plush office space, and it would be nice to retreat there after dinner to lounge but we found the decor and lack of comfort a bit off putting). All in all a great getaway and good value of a high standard.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackytabacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Have just returned from a one night stay at Monart and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The staff could not be more attentive yet unobtrusive and the facilities were second to none. The breakfast the following day was fresh and delicious and The manager was warm, friendly and efficient.
I will definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kideez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our second trip to Monart was in Nov 2011 after a first, memorable 2 day visit in 2008 at around the same time of year. The place is still very high quality on most counts - pleasant and warm welcome, friendly staff, lovely spacious, quiet rooms with very comfortable beds, good spa facilities and a v.good breakfast - ideal combination of menu and buffet. It is still an ideal getaway for a couple for a few days. Treatments-wise, I had a massage for the first time here and thought it was wonderful. I'll do that again. We had afternoon tea in the bar one day - excellent - but our evening meal in the restaurant was very unspecial, certainly compared to the wonderful meal we had three years previously. This was the one area in which we thought the quality had declined. That said, the cost for the two nights including treatments was at least 25% cheaper than three years ago.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Have just returned home from a weekend from Monart and am very much looking forward to staying there again.

Arrived at about 5:30pm on Friday and after a short check-in we were shown our room. Tastefully decorated, spacious and very comfortable. We had booked dinner in a different restaurant in Enniscorthy that evening based on the recommendation of a friend and I'm sorry that we did that now as the food in Monart was absolutely delicious and way above the standard of where we went. On Saturday morning we had a beautiful breakfast and then made our way to the spa to spend some time before our treatment. The spa area is so relaxing. All needs are taken care of as there are refreshments, clean towels and a recommendation of how to use each room (i.e. steam room, sauna, hydro pool etc.) to get the most out of the experience. There was also a delightful therapist called Sarah giving foot massages (which were included in the thermal spa experience) and generally chatting to the guests. We chose the mud chamber treatment for 2 and had a laugh smearing mud all over ourselves before relaxing in a steam-filled room with atmospheric lighting. "Tropical rain" then fell so we cleaned up and went for lunch with baby soft skin. Lunch was perfect and hit the spot. Afternoon tea later on was even better with devine cinnamon scones in a quiet & private room in the old house. We had already booked dinner when we booked the weekend. Follow the advice of the person that is taking your initial booking and book your food and treatments straight away. We had already booked our mud chamber treatment but were unable to fit in another massage or hair appointment as they were already fully booked with long cancellation lists. I didn't mind this in the slightest as I was delighted to see somewhere like Monart being busy and full of guests! It means they're not going to be cutting back services or closing down or anything horrible like that!

By the way, everyone just wanders about in the hotel robes. There are more guests walking around in robes than in clothes. The only time this changes is towards the evening when guests are starting to have dinner.

*Sigh* When do I get to go back?!!

Staff were wonderful and so warm & friendly :)
Food was delicious :)
Scenery was spectacular :)
Spa was 1st class :)

Room Tip: Not so much a tip for a good room as it is a tip for a better experience... Book treatments and foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agentkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had 6 massages and 5 were just substandard. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the destination but the €115 to €90 massages are worth about €15 which is probably what the very tired and clearly overworked beauty terapist are paid. If your a 5 star spa charging €100 odd for a massage you need to provide unforgettable treatments. These girls would not be able to run a massage business outside as they would get no return business. This is by no means taking from the kind people they are they are just not able to massage sorry it all becomes a one star experience after that..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ardtrasna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We visited Monart for a one night stay in February. This was our second visit, having last been there on 2010.
The Spa experience is excellent - facilities, service, staff, and creates a real sense of relaxation where one can really chill out and take quality downtime. The setting of the resort is really fabulous, and the grounds, gardens and walks are very well maintained - not 'manicured' as such but as close to a natural state that seems to have evolved organically as opposed to being landscaped by garden designers.
We had lunch in the bar area, which was excellent. Great casual food and wonderful service led by the French waiter, Thierry. He is one of the most professional operators I have ever seen in restaurant anywhere - a consummate professional who is a master of his craft and a credit to Monart!
Dinner in the formal restaurant was not at the standard one expects in such a fine establishment. My starter of Papperdelle with King Prawn and a Parmesan mouse tasted of little but pasta and cream. Main course of excellent halibut was let down by a cassoulet of pearl onions and something else I can't recall, but the cassoulet was again quite bland. Side order of trash market vegetables was withered! While we dined late at 9.15, better is to be expected at the prices charged on the A la Carte menu. Dinner let the place down. We regretted not having dinner in the bar from a quite attractive menu. We would return to chill in the spa and dine in the bar and have a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dromadamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscorthy
2.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
20.3 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
11.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Treacy's Hotel
Treacy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Enniscorthy
687 reviews
18.0 mi away
Marlfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monart

Property: Monart
Address: The Still, Enniscorthy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Enniscorthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monart 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monart Destination Spa 'The Great Escape' is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one's true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Conde Nast Reader's Choice Awards. Irish Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monart Hotel Enniscorthy
Monart Spa Enniscorthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing