We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Finding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on 30th and 31st July 2013 and it was a truly great experience. Room was really big for a standard double, very modern and clean. Usual facilities in the room but an added little touch of 2 bottled of water, one still one sparkling. Food in the hotel was excellent and we ate in the hotel both nights. We both availed of the leisure facilities which was of a high standard. I did make use of the Spa which again couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineAnnCrossgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 643 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in this great hotel for a night after a party in the hotel. The staff were very attentive from checking in to checking out and wentout of ttheir way to ensure everything was in order during our stay.

It was also a great venue for the large party we attended. The food provided by the hotel was excellent and there was the use of an outdoor area to make the best of the good weather.

We had a few drinks in the hotel bar where again the staff were very accommodating.

The rooms were very clean and spacious (with a good selection of tv channels )

We would highly recommend this hotel for a short break or longer stay or for any celebration.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from 2 nights in the horse and jockey hotel. Splendid is what I'd say! It has a certain o!de worlde charm but yet bang up to date with their spa and leisure centre and scrumptious food! We had a standard double room, but was larger than normal standards. We had large double bed and a single, and tea/coffee facilities, iron, hairdryer, and two bottles of water. One still, one sparkling. Very nice touch! we ate in the bar,as the food was scrumptious, and you could order off the a la carte menu anyway! Very reasonably priced and excellent service! I availed of the spa on the sunday, and cannot praise catriona enough! Very efficient and wonderful masseuse. My spa treatment included Afternoon Tea. Boy, what an eye opener! Cake stand with wonderful pastries (all made in the hotel) and finger sandwiches. This would normally cost €12, but is so worth it!! As I said, olde worlde!! We went to visit the rock of cashel, just up the road, and this was a great trip. We chilled out completely at the hotel and sat in their lovely foyer reading the papers! A lovely atmosphere to this place, it's family run and you can tell! Nothing is too much bother. They even have a lovely gift shop in the hotel, and bakery to buy the bread and cakes made that day. The smell of fresh bread, heaven! The breakfast also served Kippers!!! What a treat! We'll definetly go back, in fact, can't wait!!

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms available if you smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We usually stop here for a Coffee/PitStop on the Cork-Dublin Trips. I have been meaning to comment many times about what they charge here for their cakes to buy & take away. Last Wed we stopped there as usual & I decided to buy a Tea Brack. It was €9 Yes NINE Euro. It was very nice but nothing realy special & Certainly not worth €9!!!! This is a RIP Off. Otherwise we love to stop here for the breal but wont be buying their cakes again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MsCork2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

After travelling home from Dublin we decided to stop at the horse and jockey for a bite to eat. What a mistake!!!!
It was about 3.30pm on a Sunday afternoon. Firstly when we were seated we were told there were no high chairs available for our one year old but we would get the next one available, which arrived nearly half an hour after our food. I ordered a club sandwich which looked like it was thrown together from 40 paces with burned bread. My wife's wrap was dry and tasteless. Neither came with a garnish salad as advertised unless a leaf of lettuce accounts for one!!
The portion of fries looked and tasted like they had been sitting under a hot lamp for hours.
We were also overcharged by a euro for our child's portion. Didn't even argue as we just wanted to get out of there.
Will be interested to see if this review will even merit a response from the management. I guess not!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ardnassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend spent two nights in the horse and jockey hotel last weekend, we had a received a voucher as a gift and didn't know what to expect but our stay was really wonderful. We had a standard double room, which almost felt like a really stylish and large homely guest bedroom rather than another bland 4* hotel room.

The staff at the reception, breakfast and the leisure centre were so helpful and really went out of their way to make our stay perfect.

I also has some spa treatments while there and it was a lovely way to spend my Saturday afternoon. The Rock of Cashel is about 20 minutes drive away and is a good attraction if you fancy getting out and about. Other than thsat we made full use of the gym , pool steam room and jacuzzi. All and all a great hotel, and would highly recommend it for a relaxing break away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asmccart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just back from a 2 daybreak from the horse and Jockey. After a bit of musical rooms we got a lovely room over looking the spa. Previous rooms problem was one near main entrance and cars parking outside the window, other was a superior twin but defeated the object of a romantic getaway!! ...Receptionist very nice and gave me a hand moving. Staff were very pleasant. Pool was lovely and warm, nice size with a great jacuzzi. Received a great spa package that came with high tea ( pity the girl's hands giving the massage seem to be very rough )...loads of slices of cake and scones with jam and cream. Breakfast was all you can eat with plenty of variety, (the cups and plates could do with a rinse before hitting the dishwasher.) Plenty of areas to chill out in the place... So you ask what was the food problem? In the bar and Resturant the menu was very short on salads and in short supply of vegetables. Ordered a steak sandwich and it was as dry as the Sahara, no side salad ....( outside of half a leaf of lettuce and a thin slice of tomato with a mustard dressing) and only option that came with it was a bowl of chips. Same for all main meals.. Half a chicken €17.50 with a bowl of chips . Steak €25.00 with a sauce and bowl of chips...definitely lacking in imagination...recommend a trip into Castle town and had a lovely meal at the Cashel Palace Hotel.....great food and very well presented.....

Room Tip: Request a room away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lor2ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
398 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Thurles
81 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
18.0 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
18.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Jockey Hotel

Address: Thurles, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range: $120 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heartland of Co Tipperary just off the M8 Motorway at Junction 6, half way between Cork & Dublin & approximately 1 1/2 hours from all main cities. Trading continuously for over 250 years the hotel has recently been extended & our facilities now include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, two coffee bar & in-house bakery, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates.Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. Spa includes 10 treatments rooms & in-house hair-dressers Q Salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing