We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay though slightly over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“relaxing stay though slightly over priced”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. its was very relaxing and staff were most helpful. Rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. The spa was divine and the staff there were fab. Just had 2 small problems -
1. the food was very over priced (€18.50 for a mixed grill without bread or tea /coffee, €18.50 for a green curry with rice - not even a huge amount, and €18.00 for cod, peas and chips) in the bar. This was just the bar food prices which in my estimation was over priced for what we got.
2. they tried to charge us twice in the bar for our drinks - the bill came to €67.00 which we paid with laser but the hotel then tried to charge us again upon check out. Also saw another couple in the bar settling their tab and they were charge for wine that they never had.

Other than having to check what your charged for this hotel was definately 4 star in my estimation.

Couples will love this hideaway

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are reviewing the food prices you mentioned as we pride ourselves in giving value for money.Sorry about the mix- up in the bill.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    190
    69
    49
    28
See reviews for
147
202
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed in the Horse & Jockey last night 14th of February as we had to be In that area anyway. From the moment I made the booking the lady who took the call was so friendly and actually remembered me when I went to check out I am sorry I didn't catch her name but she is a credit to this fine hotel. As are all the staff. This is mid feb when most hotels are quiet and lacking staff. This hotel although not overrun with staff was like a well oiled machine efficient warm and could not help enough...... The room we stayed in was of the highest quality it was clean warm equipped with every thing you would ever need including a shower which could clean glue off a heffer.........The restaurant was superb both food and service our waiter Liam was knowledgeable and amazing at his trade............I wish I could have stayed another night but work got in the way......We will be back soon and will try out all the other facilities we didn't have time to do...........

Room Tip: Room 339 awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Wow! this review is breathtaking and I have passed it on to all the staff which has indeed giving them a great boost.
Thanks indeed for writing such positive things.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

we spent one night in this hotel with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is very modern but yet has a homely feel and all the staff were very welcoming. Both rooms were large and airy and the beds extremly comfortable. We had a evening meal in the bar area which was well priced and the menu had a good selection and what we had was excellant. The bar had a great atmosphere and was more like a 'local pub' than a hotel bar. The hotel itself is a few miles from both Thurles and Cashel but both can be easily reached by taxi. We had breakast which was also good, however the room it was served it was quite small and as this was a busy sunday morning it was quite difficult to make your way around the different foods while watching what other people were doing. We made use of the leisure centre which had a huge pool, hydro therapy areas as well as jacuzzi and sauna... overall great hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank You for your kind review. We were delighted you enjoyed the service, facilities and atmosphere of our hotel hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahir, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really comfortable atmosphere and friendly helpful staff. Open fire
Food excellent and prompt service.
Great selection and nicely presented
Well worth a visit, very busy place.
Easy to access from the M8 motorway at junction 6
Will be back for sure

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank You for going to the trouble to write such a nice review it is really appreciated.Looking forward to seeing you again.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great Sunday Lunch

We booked Sunday lunch for a recent family occasion and had a great time. The restaurant had just been decorated; it was really cosy with the fire lighting created a lovely atmosphere. We all chose different items from a great menu and the food was fantastic. The relaxed atmosphere and friendly service added to our enjoyment. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a great Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deadlydudleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank You for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed lunch and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stopped off on our way back from Cork. Nice cosy setting. Waiter o.k. but took our drinks order abruptly. Kids coke and orange were dead with no fizz whatsoever and I had to go to bar myself to get beer mats.
Not a great bar menu option for a vegetarian so I ordered an omelette without ham.
Husband ordered chicken and two lads steak sandwiches. Food o.k. but felt an omelette with chips was well overpriced at 14.95.
Coffee dock and hotel itself seemed nice.
Not the place for 'the gathering' and deffo not an Irish welcome.
On way down to Cork stopped off at Corbet Court outside Mitchelstown and you couldn't compare the two.
Staff at Corbett Court welcome guests and make them feel at home and food is delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre8492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review
It is possible that some minerals arrive flat from the manufacturers but unlikely that both the orange and coke were defective, however it would have been no trouble to change them if we were notified.
We are sorry that in general you were unhappy with your visit, we have taken your points on board and will endeavour to improve the service in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We visit here a lot (twice a month) as it is central for three of us to meet to have a business meeting.
It has a great central location which is why we choose it.
Parking is great,facilities are perfect for what we need.
We normally have dinner in the bar and then adjourn to one of the plentiful seating areas near reception to talk . This area can be cold at night time but it suits us as it is quite .
Not many reasons to fault really but the toilets between reception and the bar are not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel by a long way. Freezing cold ,tiny and dirty .
The food is great but as we visit so often it is getting boring . Most other restaurants offer daily specials and this would be a good idea for here. Specials are available in the restaurant which are great ( fish cakes a few weeks ago were fab) . Waiter said the menu has been the same for years so maybe freshen it up ?
Overall we will continue to visit but the food issue needs to be tweaked a little we feel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank douggym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank You very much for your kind review and for giving us a 5 star rating.
I don't know where the waiter was coming from regarding the choice on the menues as our Lunch menu is changed daily and our A la Carte is changed every 2 months.We always have a fresh fish of the day on every night but in future we will endeavour to couple this with a Special of the Day which will give our customers a choice of 17 Main Courses.
Wishing You and Yours a Happy and Prosperous New Year and we look forward to your continued support in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
18.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Jockey Hotel

Property: The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Address: Thurles, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heartland of Co Tipperary just off the M8 Motorway at Junction 6, half way between Cork & Dublin & approximately 1 1/2 hours from all main cities. Trading continuously for over 250 years the hotel has recently been extended & our facilities now include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, two coffee bar & in-house bakery, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates.Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. Spa includes 10 treatments rooms & in-house hair-dressers Q Salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing