We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced food !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced food !”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stopped off on our way back from Cork. Nice cosy setting. Waiter o.k. but took our drinks order abruptly. Kids coke and orange were dead with no fizz whatsoever and I had to go to bar myself to get beer mats.
Not a great bar menu option for a vegetarian so I ordered an omelette without ham.
Husband ordered chicken and two lads steak sandwiches. Food o.k. but felt an omelette with chips was well overpriced at 14.95.
Coffee dock and hotel itself seemed nice.
Not the place for 'the gathering' and deffo not an Irish welcome.
On way down to Cork stopped off at Corbet Court outside Mitchelstown and you couldn't compare the two.
Staff at Corbett Court welcome guests and make them feel at home and food is delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre8492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review
It is possible that some minerals arrive flat from the manufacturers but unlikely that both the orange and coke were defective, however it would have been no trouble to change them if we were notified.
We are sorry that in general you were unhappy with your visit, we have taken your points on board and will endeavour to improve the service in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    191
    71
    50
    27
See reviews for
152
205
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We visit here a lot (twice a month) as it is central for three of us to meet to have a business meeting.
It has a great central location which is why we choose it.
Parking is great,facilities are perfect for what we need.
We normally have dinner in the bar and then adjourn to one of the plentiful seating areas near reception to talk . This area can be cold at night time but it suits us as it is quite .
Not many reasons to fault really but the toilets between reception and the bar are not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel by a long way. Freezing cold ,tiny and dirty .
The food is great but as we visit so often it is getting boring . Most other restaurants offer daily specials and this would be a good idea for here. Specials are available in the restaurant which are great ( fish cakes a few weeks ago were fab) . Waiter said the menu has been the same for years so maybe freshen it up ?
Overall we will continue to visit but the food issue needs to be tweaked a little we feel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank douggym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank You very much for your kind review and for giving us a 5 star rating.
I don't know where the waiter was coming from regarding the choice on the menues as our Lunch menu is changed daily and our A la Carte is changed every 2 months.We always have a fresh fish of the day on every night but in future we will endeavour to couple this with a Special of the Day which will give our customers a choice of 17 Main Courses.
Wishing You and Yours a Happy and Prosperous New Year and we look forward to your continued support in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went into the bar and had no choice but to sit at a tiny round table for two, there were four of us. Everything just felt a bit dirty, like it needed a good clean.The staff just left the knifes and forks at the side of the table and did not even bother to lay them out like they should do. The food was very disappointing, and I will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philippa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I was disappointed to read your review.It was obviously very busy in the bar area that day as you had "no choice" but to sit at the round tables in the back bar which are indeed quite small. If you were prepared to wait we would have accommodated you at a larger table or alternatively you could have gone to our restaurant which is formally set up. We do not lay out the cutlery in the bar area as it is a "pub grub" type of menu.I cannot comment about the food as you did not specify what you had and what was disappointing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went here with my wife and there were lots of pros and cons. On the plus side, it is easy to get to, has excellent parking, a pleasant bar, and our room was well appointed. The choice and quality of the self-service breakfast was excellent. But, we were so disappointed with the menu, and the prices, we left and drove instead to nearby Thurles. My wife's visit to the spa was disappointing. She was left waiting for a long time in a freezing room, and thought the masseuse was inexperienced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a modern hotel with lots of charm and no bling. I like that they have cleaned up the old bar but kept the features without going twee.
i went with a couple of friends on a one night break which included dinner, breakfast and a spa treatment for 99euro pp. All of our treatments were excellent. The room was comfortable and the bathroom had Elemis toiletries. The dinner was nice although the restaurant is an internal room. On this plus side it has an open fire.

Near the reception area they have sofas which are in high demand to sit by the fire. Their cakes are truly delicious (within 24 hours I tried blueberry and creme fraiche and the chocolate pecan pie). I would definitely recommend to tourists who want to stop for a break on the way from Dublin to Cork or Limerick to even have a break for a cake and coffee if not to stay overnight. The rock of cashel is nearby and well worth an hour or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2agpleanail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed recently . The room was comfortable but the pool area need to be updated as some of the tile have fallen off in the sauna area. The water was cold in the pool for a number of days.
Great location being so close to M* motorway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodgerCashel_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've stayed here about a dozen or more times over the last year, always as part of a monthly business trip; the staff are always welcoming and friendly and ready to help with any concerns. The rooms are always clean and the beds of a good size, the bathrooms well stocked with Elemis shampoos and gels. The restaurant serves a good selection of traditional items and for the price is great value.

The pool is big enough and is less crowded after 7pm, the sauna and treatment rooms are again, clean and well maintained, I can't report on the beauty treatments though as I haven't had any.

The only downside I can report on is the very slow wi-fi connection that isn't available in all rooms, a couple more routers scattered about the place wouldn't go amiss.

The meeting rooms are all well equipped and vary in size.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyThePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
364 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
18.0 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
17.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
413 reviews
19.8 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Jockey Hotel

Property: The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Address: Thurles, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heartland of Co Tipperary just off the M8 Motorway at Junction 6, half way between Cork & Dublin & approximately 1 1/2 hours from all main cities. Trading continuously for over 250 years the hotel has recently been extended & our facilities now include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, two coffee bar & in-house bakery, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates.Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. Spa includes 10 treatments rooms & in-house hair-dressers Q Salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing