We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't reccomend this house enough”
other travelers have booked this property
The View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The View
View at Sunset towards Rathmullen View at Sunset towards Fanad Head
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The View
View at Sunset towards Rathmullen
View at Sunset towards Fanad Head
Kitchen from Lounge section
Opening into Kitchen
Playroom
Upstairs bath
Upstairs Bathroom
Upstairs bathroom shower
Master looking into ensuite
Master ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Fahan, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
syb09123
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't reccomend this house enough”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed in this holiday home with my friends when visiting Ireland for a wedding. The house is beautiful and the views are outstanding. This newly built house was ideal for our stay and accommodated for everyone.

The house contains everything you could imagine and would be ideal for kids too, due got the well stocked playroom and lovely garden.

I would recommend that you have a car while staying here in order to get into the nearest town. Is also a good idea to have good directions where the house is as the road is not marked and we drove past the entrance a few times when we arrived.

Clare was great at keeping in touch and I would highly recommend this holiday home, as would the rest of the group I was travelling with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Siobhan thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at our house. We would love to welcome you back again. Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbinbarba...
Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful house, spectacular view, great location”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We live in Toronto and planned an extended holiday in Ireland, with our family which consisted of my wife and myself, our two daughters, their husbands and our four grandchildren (aged 6 months to 5 years).

We had the good fortune to be the first people to rent this newly built house for 4 weeks in May 2015. This proved to be the perfect house for a large family, with enough space to accommodate all of us and friends and family who came to visit throughout our stay.

The view over Lough Swilly was truly spectacular. The floor to ceiling windows in the ground floor rooms at the front of the house enabled us to enjoy the vista all day, every day. The sunsets were breathtaking and you should bring binoculars to get close up views of the activity on the water.

The large kitchen was the central point with everyone gravitating here for meals and to chat and enjoy the view. The kitchen itself was fully equipped with everything we needed and more.

The playroom next door to the kitchen was ideal – fully equipped with games, toys and books and the opening through the wall from kitchen allowed us to monitor the kids playing while they could enjoy their own space.

The living room proved very useful when we had visitors and needed a quieter area to relax, chat and enjoy the marvelous view.

The large gravel yard at the back of the house was a great place for the kids to let off steam running around and kicking a ball etc.

We found the situation of the house ideal for our needs. The views of the lough and the hills beyond were amazing, even impressing our Irish relatives who came to visit. Our grandchildren enjoyed the daily walks down the hill to see the neighbours chickens and visit the field of sheep. Unfortunately May 2015 turned out to be a very cool and wet month, so we didn’t spend as much time on the beach as we had planned but we were close to Buncrana (enjoyable walks, great outdoor play park and an indoor one, “Wains World” , restaurants, pubs, supermarket and small shops etc). It was a 15 minute drive to historic Derry / Londonderry where there is lots to see, larger shops and a great indoor play experience called Bananas for the really wet days.
Least liked – coming from North America, it took us a while to figure out the heating system and the laundry room appliances but the owner’s family, who live near by, was very accommodating in coming to help us any time we needed it.

Overall we feel very fortunate to have found this location and everyone in our family has happy memories of “The Swilly House”. We highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic living space and view
Liked least: Minor issues learning the plumbing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to make a detailed review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time and would love to welcome you back. Kindest regards, Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
477maire
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house with views to die for!”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked this house at the last minute for a short break. We had a baby, a great grand parent and a teenager among our group. The house suited everyone. The house is spacious and beautifully furnished. Everything is there for the little ones. We spent most of our time in the kitchen/ dining area as the views are so good. I would recommend this house for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the style of the house.
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacation6...
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you for taking time to leave your review and for choosing sunset view. We are so pleased you enjoyed it. Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing