We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you visit the area ensure you eat here”

The Railway Tavern & Firebox Grill
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Fahan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Barbecue, Irish, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is located on the shores of Lough Swilly, at Fahan, Co.Donegal, in the premises of The Railway Tavern which was formally the Station House of the Londonderry & Lough Swilly Railway Company (L&LSR)..Our Main course dishes are cooked to perfection on our wood burning Firebox Grill, just like in the old days were the engineers on the locomotives, used their firebox to heat their snacks !The Bar and Restaurant still have the old fires blazing which create a very cosy , snug room to eat or drink in ..
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If you visit the area ensure you eat here”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

One of the best meals we have eaten. Freinds took us here for a meal, ensure you order rib-eye steak it will melt in the mouth all local produce. Starts and desert was the best. Do not miss this GEM

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank away-again-yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    66
    31
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not as good as I'd expected”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ate here today after hearing favourable reviews. Also went knowing that a friend had previously tried to make a booking by telephone and said girl she spoke to was quite rude. However decided to go based on the good food reports. When we arrived we were left standing in the restaurant for almost ten minutes even though we had booked and staff clearly saw us.We finally had to ask when we would be seated. The drinks we ordered never came and once again we had to ask. I could not fault the meal itself , everything was well cooked, although my burger did not come with relish as stated on menu. Desert menu is varied and delicious. Kids menu is good value and worth considering even for older kids as portions are big. The decor is cosy with a lovely real fire which I imagine would be hard to leave on a cold winters day. Bill worked out at around £12 per head which included 5mains and 4 deserts all from early bird menu and one alcoholic drink. All in all not bad but service not great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluebells26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Last night of our holiday was celebrated by going to The Firebox Grill, our party of 10 were booked for 6pm to have the "Early Bird Menu" food & service was very good with the steaks cooked to perfection. Only niggle was, we were asked to vacate our table for another party before our desserts were served the staff did apologise for this, we were shown to a booth table in the "Tavern" which was very cramp for having desserts, although this would not put us off going back if we were visiting the area again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Steak in The North West”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Its a difficult venue to find if you don't know your way but when you find it the food is worth the discovery. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and the steak.... dear lord. I always buy a Fillet steak and ask for it cooked medium. Always cooked to perfection and always leave wanting more.

Helpful?
Thank TenaciousDee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect anniversary meal”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Steak was cook perfectly deserts were devine. Wine was excellent. Service excellent. Went for our 10th wedding anniversary and could not rate this place highly enough! Atmosphere was lovely I imagine even nicer on a cold winters night with the fires lit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becandgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Railway Tavern & Firebox Grill also viewed

Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 

Been to The Railway Tavern & Firebox Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing