We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent family rental”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of twelve beacon hill

twelve beacon hill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
twelve beacon hill
dining room /conservatory view from front door over lough swilly and marina
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
twelve beacon hill
dining room /conservatory
view from front door over lough swilly and marina
library
view from front of house as sun sets
view from front door
bedroom 2
bathroom
kitchen
kitchen leading to conservatory/library
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fahan, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
coco40
N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Excellent family rental”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed over Easter. We had 9 people in our party ranging from age 6 to 70. The house is fantastic for extended families with 4 bedrooms (1ensuite) 2 sitting rooms, a toy room & sun room. There is a downstairs toilet and another bathroom upstairs. The kitchen is fabulous - a real hub of of house. This house has the 'wow' factor. We had a very comfortable stay with all bedding and towels clean and abundant.
Within walking distance (quite a steep hill) there are 2 great restaurants - 'The Red Door' & 'The firebox grill'. The latter being our preference.
Carmel the owner is very informative and provides excellent information regarding arrival and tourist information.
This was a great base for our Easter break and we are hoping to return with our family again.

Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2016
Thankyou for such a detailed review -i am delighted the house suited all of your partys needs -we always try hard to make sure guests leave happy and have value for money. Thankyou for taking the time and we would be delighted to welcome you all back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinmac02
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wedding Stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A group of us rented the house for a wedding at the Red Door. The house met our needs perfectly with plenty of bathrooms, sleeping and living space for us all. We enjoyed a few nights in in front of the fire. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2016
Thanks for taking time to leave such positive feedback -we always aim to meet our guests needs and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan7757
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location….Worked well for the family meeting place.”
Reviewed December 27, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just returned from my daughters wedding which was held at The Red Door at Fahan. We rented number twelve for the week and had some memorable evenings with family and friends dropping in for food and drink on the run up to the big day. Wonderful spacious kitchen / breakfast room which accomodated everyone and enought bedrooms and bathrooms for those who wanted to sleep in late and catch up.
Location was superb and a must to visit. We will be back!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2015
Thankyou for the lovely comments -we are delighted the wedding went so well and you all enjoyed the house so much. Hope to welcome you back anytime.
Carmel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor L
1 review
“Lovely spacious house with stunning views”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My family & I travelled to Fahan for a family get together for a weekend.

There are 4 bedrooms: 2 double rooms, 1 room with a double & a single & 1 kids room with 3 single beds. Two of the bedrooms had en suites, there was an upstairs bathroom & a downstairs toilet.

There was plenty of room in the house, with great kitchen facilities. We even used the two available barbecues (in October).

The house is up on a fairly steep hill in a quiet area. This allows for stunning views over Lough Swilly but if you're not great walking up hills this may present a challenge.

Donegal has some amazing spots to soak up. We visited the stunning Glenveagh National Park which is about an hour away.

The owner Carmel & her sister were very attentive.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Thankyou for taking time to leave us a review and i am glad you enjoyed your stay at Twelve Beacon Hill. Hope to welcome you and your family back again. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinamV...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab holiday ”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great family holiday spent at Twelve Beacon Hill. The house is gorgeous and spacious with amazing views. Good location for travelling to see the sights and fabulous scenery of Donegal, Derry and the Antrim Coast. Firebox Grill has great food and nice for a drink. We all enjoyed Oscars in Buncrana too. I'm sure we'll be back!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Thankyou for your lovely review-delighted you enjoyed your break and we hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house on Inishowen Peninsula”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Plenty of room for our family of 6 with easy access to beautiful Inishowen Peninsula. Easy day trip to Derry with great city tours. Also day tripped to Downhill Demense on Causeway Coastal drive. Comfortable beds, up to date appliances with comfortable sitting areas- great place to base a trip to the north of Donegal. Nice local restaurants. Would recommend highly, great communication from owner throughout trip planning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2015
Thanks so much for your review - we work hard to try and make sure our guests love the house so i am grateful for your review. I hope to welcome you back any time and offer discount for repeat bookings.
Thanks Carmel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d92hayes
1 review
“This is an amazing place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I would recommend this house yo anybody it is just incredible and will will stay again it is in a breath taking location the people that own the house were very helfull and made our stay easy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
Thanks so much for your review - we work hard to try and make sure our guests love the house so i am grateful for your review. I hope to welcome you back any time and offer discount for repeat bookings.
Thanks Carmel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing