We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST B&B IN DONEGAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Sea Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Vista
Ranked #1 of 3 Fahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“THE BEST B&B IN DONEGAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The website does not do this B&B justice! The views are absolutely amazing, definitely the best in Donegal!! We stayed in The Superior double room, which is something you would expect to see on MTV Cribs. And then there are the owners John and Lynda whose hospitality and kindness is over whelming, they couldn’t do enough for us and treated us like their very own family. John and Lynda even helped me organise my marriage proposal at the last minute due to a local restaurant letting me down and the place they arranged for me was even better!! Whoever reads this needs to stay here, as any other B&B in Donegal will be second best as long as this one is around!
Thanks for everything John and Lynda, all our love James and Sam x

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had a 1 night stay with my wife, as with previous reviewers we found it excellent. However when I went to pay for our stay on checkout by cash as was agreed at the booking I was told that it was already paid as they had withdrawn it from my card 5 days before my arrival. As my card is sterling & the bill in Euro this will incur me with a foreign currency transaction charge. In all my time in making bookings I have never had this done before, it spoiled what was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salmonsteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a place so jealous of John and Lynda home... Simply breathtaking.
It is too bad the rating s only go up to 5 because this one is a 6+

It is good to find a place that has that maintains a proper Irish style hospitality that sadly has disappeared over recent years. John and Lynda have a genuine warmth that is apparent from arrival to departure.

John gave us a lift into town foc saving us a taxi fare and Jenny loved the gift we got on departure.

Thanks for everything
John and Jenny McCracken

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMccracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the superior room which was the size of a hotel suite. Bed was huge and comfy, room was spotless but the main selling point is the fabulous view over lough Swilly. Windows cover 2 sides of the room giving a full panorama of the surrounding countryside.

John and Lynda were more than helpful and friendly, bringing teas to our room and John drove us down to a local restaurant on our first night.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here recently while attending a wedding. As other reviewers have noted, the views from the house are simply amazing - Lough Swilly, Inch island, Grianan of Aileach, Rathmullan and the lights of Derry city can be seen at night. It's at the top of a hill which is a long steep walk up from the main road and very dark - much better to drive! It's a very stylish house with luxurious bedrooms and bathrooms - the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The hosts John and Linda are very welcoming and helpful and dropped us down to the Red Door for the wedding reception. Homemade cake on arrival and an excellent breakfast in the morning set up us nicely. We can highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljasmine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We decided to take a last minute weekend away and booked a weekend break at Sea Vista. What a weekend from the hospitality to the views this is the most perfect place for a holiday. I will totally recommend anyone to stay here an amazing couple with an amazing B&b and views to die for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahV8069AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I recently escaped from the kids for a relaxing break, and booked in with Lynda and John at Sea Vista for the night. On arrival we were offered tea on the patio with homemade cupcakes, overlooking the marina in Fahan. Our room can only be described as stunning with superb views of Inch Island and Rathmullan. The superior room has a private patio area and we found it very relaxing on the sun loungers in the beautiful weather.
Our room was immaculately clean, and very tastefully decorated (better than most hotel rooms).
The freshly cooked breakfast the next morning was to die for! My wife opted for the egg crumpets with bacon and maple syrup, and they were superb.
Both John and Lynda were fantastic hosts, and gave us plenty of ideas for things to do in the area before we had to return to normality.
All in all Sea Vista is excellent in all areas - a most definite 10/10!
We hope to return soon to once again enjoy John and Lynda's fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: The Superior room is well worth that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fahan
2.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
888 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
294 reviews
14.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
452 reviews
4.0 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
656 reviews
10.1 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Vista

Property: Sea Vista
Address: Harbour View, Fahan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Fahan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Vista is a boutique style b&b with breath taking views overlooking Lough Swilly. We are located at the gateway to the Inishowen peninsula with its many historical sites and amazing scenery. Local to Sea Vista are award-winning restaurants, blue flag beaches, angling, golf and many more outdoor activities. We have 3 double rooms - two en-suite and one with external bathroom. All our rooms have flat screen TVs, Egyptian cotton sheets, digital safe and bathrobes are supplied along with complimentary toiletries. A warm welcome awaits you for that well deserved leisurely break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing