We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous :)”

The Red Door Country House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Door Country House
Ranked #3 of 3 Fahan B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My boyfriend booked here as a surprise for my birthday, and I couldn't have asked for more. The room was beautiful and the setting is stunning. We ate from the early bird menu in the evening which was fantastic and the staff were really helpful. Looking forward to visiting here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for The Red Door Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Myself and mu husband found the Red Door by accident whilst looking for a getaway for our 1st anniversary , and what a find it was we booked for 2 days and were not disappointed at all , rooms were gorgeous attention to detail was brilliant , clean , staff were friendly and attentive at all times. The food was out of this world and a great price also, Credit to the Chef. The views and gardens were breathtaking so relaxing.

So overall a perfect place to go to switch off , relax You have got to try The Red Door

Thankyou to the management and all the staff for our great weekend

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstyThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Decided to go here as had a voucher as a Xmas present and was looking forward to eating in the red door as last time maybe a year ago it was excellent not so this time.Seated promptly given menus although had to ask for wine list .Nice dining room and tables etc but service was just a bit off not bad but just off hard to explain.Starter I had was the chowder and it was a bit like the service gf had scallops and she said they were too salty for main she ate about half of her hake I chose steak and it was ok but not worth the 25euro.Didnt fancy desert so got bill but why do you have to stand in a queue to pay in hallway?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Attended a wedding in The Red Door yesterday. All I can say it was perfect! Stunning setting, beautiful venue, amazing food & unbelieveable service. A special mention to the manager, the perfect hostess! She was so attentive to every guests needs, she spent the entire day ensuring every single guest was happy! This venue just ensured my friends had the most perfect wedding day

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CormDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

There is very little to say, but if you haven't visited then you really need to, set in a splendid location, with stunning views. Service exemplary, food astonishing, room fantastic. I haven't mentioned anything about cost, because really the whole experience was worth every penny. It has been added to our list of favourite places, and it really should be on your list too!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvtravel2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

12 of us had a table booked for 8 but it was 10 before we were seated. 2 of the people in our group ordered the fish dish. The rest of us had finished our main courses before they got served. Beautiful food let down by the poor service

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmac1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

What can I say !! My sister had her wedding here on the 17th Nov 2012 and everything from start to finish was done to perfection. My family and I would like to thank , Frances, Ann and many other members of staff,not forgetting the "Chef" food was out of this world. We had people from all parts and they had a fantastic time.
The rooms were amazing, all four of them completely different. The Honeymoon suite was spectacular.My Sister and her new Husband thoroughly enjoyed their wedding day and the beautiful surroundings of the Red Door.

Once again, Frances and staff, thank you for all you help and kindness. A "Magical Experience "

Room Tip: The location is out of this world.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace82-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fahan
2.2 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
917 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
470 reviews
14.5 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Vista
Sea Vista
#1 of 3 in Fahan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Door Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Door Country House

Address: Carrowmullin, Fahan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Fahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fahan
Price Range: $181 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Door Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red Door Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing