We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Others may try to copy, but will struggle to match the Red Door.”

The Red Door Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Fahan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Renowned for relaxed dining, luxury accommodation and breathtaking views, The Red Door Country House is nestled on a 4 acre site overlooking Lough Swilly in Inishowen, Co. Donegal in the North West of Ireland.Built in 1789, the tradition of a country house is today cleverly combined with contemporary luxury and style.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Others may try to copy, but will struggle to match the Red Door.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I ate in the Red Door earlier this week accompanied by my Wife and two kids aged 5 and 7.
I made my reservation the evening before by e-mail and I promptly received a confirmation e-mail.
We had heard good things about the Red Door from friends, but as we found out when we walked through the "Red Door", you simply have to go and see for yourself.
We were very warmly greeted by one staff member and she invited us to take a seat at the fire, but as you will see, there are TWO raging fires in two different rooms. Both fires are equally inviting but we opted for the room on the right with the soft furnishings.
As we sat, we were asked if we would like a drink, and we were then shown the menu.
After we had perused the menu and placed our order, we had some time to take in the lovely decor and surroundings. Each and every piece of furniture and accessory was chosen with impeccable taste and nothing seemed to be out of place. This was just the waiting room, and we were already really impressed.
After a short while we were invited into the dining room.
In the dining room we were completely taken away by the VERY tasteful decor once again, and there are many different aspects to the decor that come together to make a fantastic overall package. One thing that comes across very strongly is that the form / function balance is perfect, and the beautiful furnishings don't only look good, but they are also very good quality, and aren't suffering from being in daily use. I couldn't help but think that there is a certain alleged 5 star hotel in Galway with a single letter name, that wishes that it had half of the style / substance of the Red Door.
Anyway, back to the review.......
We ordered from the early bird menu, and as a starter I had the Caesar Salad and it was very good. I went on to have a main of Pork which I found to be absolutely delicious.
All four of us had the chocolate brownie for desert and it was fabulous.
The staff were impeccebly presented and very attentive and professional, and were understanding to the needs of our kids as they were taking a little longer to finish their food, but the girl waiting on us insisted that there was no need to rush and so all stomachs were full at the end.
To conclude, I would highly recommend that you pay a visit to the Red Door IMMEDIATELY, as you will not be dissappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Fireballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear fireballs,

We are absolutely delighted to read this glowing review of your experience at The Red Door! From your initial enquiry right through to the end of your visit, we are so glad that you appreciated our attention to detail.

Thank you for spreading the word about The Red Door and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Best wishes,
The Red Door team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    70
    23
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You must eat at the Red Door.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of four . On arrival we were greated by a lady who was so friendly and made us feel welcome and got us drinks !!!! Most important ! I think she was the manager ... We had a real nice evening . We could not fault any part of our evening and will be back soon ...,..,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Letterkenny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear letterkenny0,

What a lovely title on your review - thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

- The Red Door team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Cunningham, Donegal, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't expect good customer service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I had a table booked for 9pm on Saturday March 16th and arrived at the Red door shortly before 9pm. The bar man checked our booking and told us to take a seat and that he would take a drinks order shortly. We had our drinks and at 9.20 the same bar man took us to our table in the restaurant and left. We thought that he was gone to get us some menus and when he didnt re appear, we asked a waitress for menus and water for the table. She took our order and so the wait began. We waited and waited and waited . At no time were we approached to say that the kitchen is very busy and your order will be delayed. At 10.15 we enquired if we had been forgotten about ( bearing in mind that our table was booked for 9pm) and we were told that the delay was caused by 1. a big group was in and 2. it was because my husband had ordered his steak well done! We were flabbergasted at this remark and the attitude displayed by the waitress. At 10.30 our main courses were plonked on the table without so much as an apology for the delay. It was obvious to us that the restaurant had booked in more customers that it could reasonably deal with and this was reflected in the attitude of staff that we encountered. We raised our dissapointment at the experience when we were settlling our bill, we got a mumbled sorry from a girl who didn't make eye contact with us. The food we had was lovely but the manner in which we were dealt with by staff was disappointing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Susan,

As you may be aware, your husband contacted us by email with feedback from your visit and we have had a discussion with him. The waiting times that you state are more exaggerated than what your husband stated in his email but nevertheless, we regret that you experienced any longer wait than expected.

As explained, some of Saturday night’s diners were affected by a very large party arriving one hour late causing slight delays in the kitchen. Unfortunately, well done steaks do take quite a while to cook and even if there are no other delays, when you are not having starters, which you weren’t, it feels even longer. Our server was just explaining that this, coupled with the effect of the late party, was the reason for the delay. We hope that you enjoyed your complementary appetisers while you waited.

While we appreciate many of your comments, we feel it is unfair to claim that you weren’t offered an apology. You received complementary coffees and as your husband stated in his email to us, you were also offered a complementary drink or dessert which you declined.

We have since enforced stronger policies to deal with late arrivals to ensure that there is no adverse effect on any other diners.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,

The Red Door team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Red door - red carpet!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Five of us ate here on a Friday evening - the location and layout of the restaurant is compelling. The welcoming fires in both the bar and small sitting room just behind the bar create a wonderful warm welcome, that extends to service as well. Our group were initially sat beside a rather rumbustious 50th birthday celebration, but we were quickly reseated when we asked and ended up at one of the best tables in the large, yet comfortable restaurant. Food was excellent - a good choice available and the wine list was varied and reasonably priced. The Chablis, which we enjoyed, was particularly good!

Donegal fillet steak, Turbot and home made fish cakes were top of the range and though I would agree with other reviewers that the price tends to the more expensive end of the market, it is worth it for a special evening out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurence_kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear laurence_kevin,

Thank you for the lovely feedback - it is much appreciated from a fair reviewer like yourself. We remember you and are delighted that you liked the menu items (and the homemade breads!)

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Red Door team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, great food and lovely staff.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had our parent's 40th anniversary dinner here. Leanne and Frances were so helpful in the weeks leading up to the event and the rest of the staff were great on the night. We had almost 60 people for the dinner and everyone really enjoyed the food and service. We were able to use the lovely sitting rooms to enjoy a great evening with our family and friends. Is a great location with a lovely atmosphere and we will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGall13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thereddoorfahan, Director of Sales at The Red Door Country House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear MaisyMoo13,

It was our pleasure looking after you and all your guests. We're delighted that you chose The Red Door to celebrate your special occasion in.

We hope to see you again soon.

- Leanne, Frances and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Door Country House also viewed

 
Buncrana, County Donegal
Ballyliffin, County Donegal
 

Been to The Red Door Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing