We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best traditional hotel in Nafplio...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atheaton Traditional Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best traditional hotel in Nafplio...”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We loved the location (not that difficult to find, if you follow directions), the room was very comfortable and cute with a lot of character, and the balcony which tea/coffee was served, but most of all we loved the owners. She was the most gracious host even carrying our bags up the staircase by herself. I think the service is what makes this hotel the best! Oh and the breakfast is amazing! Best breakfast ever, and the owner bakes the most amazing pastries!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank panagiota_theo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
37
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

A little bit expensive but clean. The room had a very cute balcony to a small garden but the cats living outside in a garden there smell a lot. The hotel´s wi-fi didn´t function but one of the stuff´s house that is nearby it did! Really centric but in a quiet road. The room had a refrigerator,also was equipped with a small ¨kitchen¨, ideal to make your morning coffee. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the room a little bit small, although the bathroom was spacious. Cutelittle pension but I really didn´t like the relashionship between the price and the quality actually.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mariafiord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydra/Tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Just returned this November. The rooms, though a bit small, are beautifully decorated. The management very helpful - they put an extra antique reading lamp in our room as soon as we asked. The location couldn't be better - close to the main platia, restaurants and shops. There's ample public parking three short blocks away. There was free coffee, tea, etc. in the room if you need an early breakfast. We will stay here whenever we're in Nafplion.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank PetrosTrapeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Excellent location for both the main location and the annex where we stayed -- only a few minutes to central square and waterfront. A great deal of attention and imagination was given for creating a turn of last century feeling. Has private bath which is closet-size but has all the necessities. Area of hotel is quiet and there is a restaurant and coffee shop around the corner. Note comments apply to two rooms seen in the annex which is a few steps away from main building. The family management is very friendly and the daughter, Lena, is charming. "Pension" might imply food service but there is none. We were delighted with our stay.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank dick930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komotini, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I stayed here with my fiance and my mother in December. We didn't have a reservation so we just walked in off the street and asked if they had a room. It was Christmas so we were happy that they could accommodate us, although we weren't able to stay in the same two rooms the whole time. We ended up staying in four rooms between us over the course of four nights. So I've seen pretty much everything the hotel has to offer!

The good:

The location is great. It's well located on a quiet back street, very close to shops, a short walk to Syntagma Square and very near lots of restaurants and cafes. The staff is very friendly (family run) and helpful. It turned out that the family used to live on the same city block as my husband when he was a teenager, so that established a bond. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable enough.

The bad:

There was no breakfast offered, so we ate breakfast out. Even though there was supposed to be breakfast, it didn't materialize. The one time it did, it was not good. Luckily there are lots of great breakfast options in Nafplio. The reception area was always smoke-filled which was very uncomfortable for us (all non-smokers). I'm not sure about their English ability as my husband and I speak Greek, but my mom (who doesn't) reported that she struggled with communicating with them. The bathrooms / rooms were not renovated so they had a very dated feel. We felt that the price for the rooms was higher than it should have been, even considering that we were there over Christmas.

I would stay here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice, as I've stayed in at least 3 or 4 better hotels in Nafplio.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xaroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Maybe you don't need to find this place.

We got lured into this place because the little balcony was beautifully surrounded by bougainvilleas and the proprietor came off as charming. She promised a great deal, but never delivered. In this case it was the breakfast items that should have been included to defray what was otherwise a higher than necessary price for the room with the view of the courtyard.

While clean, there were many little things that were broken in the tiny room, like the chairs on the balcony, the shower curtain rod, and other little things that weren't enough to complain about but were annoying. Ultimately, the place needed maintenance. Since there are so many places to choose from in Nafplio, you wouldn't have to settle for this one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucidlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I beg to differ with another review written on this hotel.
Nauplion is a tiny town, so finding the location of the hotel isn't exactly difficult, especially as its about 150 metres away from the main bus stop. The rooms are clean and the hotel very kept. It is family owned and everybody was very helpful indeed, the language being no barrier. I was advised on the sights, means of transports, restaurants and given all sorts of helpful recommendations. Breakfast is continental and I daresay slightly gargantuan.
Wifi is available, and, as the signal is sometimes weak, I was supplied with three possible sources. All in all, I found it great value for money and had a very pleasant stay. I would strongly recommend it. At the same time, as a family hotel, its not going to have lifts or swimming pools, but the hotel Grande-Bretagne is there for that, although one would have to cart his luggage much further away than the main bus stop!
Five stars from me. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rfbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#17 of 38 in Nafplio
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 38 in Nafplio
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilion Hotel Suites
Ilion Hotel Suites
#27 of 38 in Nafplio
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Latini Family Hotel
Latini Family Hotel
#18 of 38 in Nafplio
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#12 of 38 in Nafplio
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Isabo
Pension Isabo
#20 of 38 in Nafplio
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atheaton Traditional Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atheaton Traditional Guesthouse

Property: Atheaton Traditional Guesthouse
Address: 31, Terzaki Aggelou., Center Old Town, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atheaton Traditional Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of Nafplio, the historic Square St. Spyridon is for ten years, traditional pension Atheaton. Atheaton is a traditional build from 1910 and renovated with careful attention to every detail. In a traditional style with modern elements can provide a relaxing stay to all visitors of the city. The hospitality and kindness of the family will make you feel like your home, from the first moment. Enjoy your stay in romantic Nafplio in our traditional guesthouse Atheaton choosing one of our unique rooms in the center of the historic old town of Nafplion and close to the beautiful archaeological sites of the Peloponnese and the beautiful sea. Overlooking the old town, narrow streets, old houses and the castle Akronafplia and travel somewhere back in time .. Accommodation - Facilities The family run pension Atheaton can provide you double, triple and single rooms with traditional decorated and coloured following the neoclassical style of the old town. All rooms have access at the beautiful veranda where you can enjoy your coffee or light breakfast in a quiet environment . Some of the rooms have spacious balconies with spectacular view to the old town of Nafplion and Acronafplia. In our rooms you will enjoy your holidays in a quiet, clean and mostly friendly environment. Free of charge mini fridge is available for light breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Atheaton Traditional Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing